We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Well-Run, Tranquil Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Under The Eaves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Under The Eaves
Save
You added Under The Eaves to your Saves list
980 Zion Park Boulevard, Box 29, Springdale, UT 84767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Springdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A Well-Run, Tranquil Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Under the Eaves is a 7 room inn located on the only main road in Springdale (980 Zion Park Blvd.) which was quiet – even at night, as the passing cars did not compete with this tranquil setting. It was located only about 10 minutes from the entrance of Zion National Park. My room (#5) was behind the main house in a cottage. It was spacious, comfortably furnished, private, and overlooked the rear patio and lawn with its gently gurgling fountain and chaise lounges available for its guests. Its furnishings were all vintage which only enhanced the charm of this venue. The entire inn was outfitted with a plethora of cherubic ornaments--lots of angelic cherubs! The queen size brass bed had a convenient dimmer switch within reach for its bedside lamps while the rest of the room was illuminated by antique lamps. The net sum is that the inn was warm, inviting, and with all its furnishings thoughtfully arranged and placed. While there was a generous amount of furnishings, there was never a cluttered or cramped feeling. My only suggestion would be to provide hangers for slacks.

Guests could congregate in the comfortable living room where coffee was available 24/7. The Inn farmed out breakfast to Oscar’s Café – a five minute walk. This obviated the (sometimes) awkward communal table which is so characteristic of many B&B’s. The breakfast voucher was more than generous, and the restaurant churns out substantial breakfasts of one’s choosing.

The hosts, Mark and Joe, were knowledgeable and welcoming, and respected their guest’s privacy and independence, as they did not encroach on “personal space.” They own a well-run, lovely inn.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the cottage are quieter than the ones in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    37
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
154
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

this is a really cute bed and breakfast. Mark and joe, the owners, are super nice and laid back. The house is cute and cozy and they have tons of information about Zion and what to do in Springdale. They have a really nice outdoor area in the back with tables and a hammock, but unfortunately it was raining during our stay so we didn’t get to take advantage. Overall, the place has a really nice feel, however we stayed in room 2, which is right off of the main area so it was a bit noisy and not a ton of privacy. Also, the bathroom for this room is a shower stall that has a toilet in it. This isn’t the worst thing for everyone but does not afford much privacy, I would have preferred to have a full shared bath. I also would have stayed in the cabin, that seemed a lot more private as well.

The breakfast is a voucher to Oscar’s Café which is about 50 feet away. This was really great, as each person can get what they want. It also includes a coffee or tea per person. They have huevos rancheros as their special one day, which was delicious. Breakfast burrito was good too. very large portions. Awesome mugs.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the cabin if you want more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in the Cabin for our Honeymoon in Springdale. Under the Eaves was wonderful! Beautiful scenery. Our cabin was cozy. No problems at all. Soooo much better than staying at a hotel. Thanks to the guys at Under the Eaves :D

Room Tip: The Cabin is probably the quietest room since you don't share any walls with any other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our time spent there was extremely relaxing and anything we needed was within walking distance. The house is lovely and our room was cozy. Joe directed us to the best (and very beautiful) sunset view from the back yard swing. Under The Eaves is on the main street but you wouldn't know it...the water features provided the perfect white noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Small cozy rooms. Beautiful common use areas. Close to shuttle stop, resturants and shops. Definetly will stay again and recommend to friends, family. Very friendly owners. Breakfast provided at oscars with great food and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Under the Eaves was a bit of a disappointment after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. The facility is very quaint and has quite a bit of charm about it. We stayed in the room closest to the road in the first cottage. Very clean room with nice appointments. It was on the small side and the bed was very uncomfortable (mattress definitely had us sagging towards the middle). Breakfast is provided by a neighbouring restaurant and was quite good in terms of quality and selection (Oscar's). The B&B is very close to the front entrance of Zion and is very convenient from that standpoint. Area restaurants and some shopping is within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

such a fantastic place to stay. the rooms are absolutely lovely and very tastefully decorated. Joe was great at giving us avice on what to do and we really appreciated all the care and thought that went into the place. our one problem (and this was our own fault) was not sorting the aircon so we had a very noisy night and it was quite restless because of it so not much sleep. thankyou so much for such a great time though.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Under The Eaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under The Eaves

Address: 980 Zion Park Boulevard, Box 29, Springdale, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springdale’s oldest Inn: Relaxing gardens, Spectacular views. Seven rooms; private baths, eclectic mix of art/antiques. Centrally located to restaurants, shops and Zion Canyon. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Under The Eaves Hotel Springdale
Under The Eaves Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under The Eaves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.