We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfasts!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Pioneer Restaurant

The Historic Pioneer Restaurant
828 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767
435-772-3009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 34 Restaurants in Springdale
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Breakfasts here are delicious and large - exactly what you need to start a long day of hiking in Zion or riding in the surrounding area. (Or to finish off a long night of hiking if you wake up at 2:30am because it's too cold to sleep on the trail!) 50% discount if staying at the Pioneer Lodge makes this an excellent value.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    130
    65
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Waiter was Fabulous! Special was a Fish Sandwich & the fish was perfect with a bun that tasted like the bread was just baked! They're Clam Chowder is Excellent! Will go back for sure! :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value/service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

50% discount makes it an easy choice for every meal if you are staying at the lodge. Good food (lots) friendly staff

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Zion is such a beautiful place to stay but one thing we didn't absolutely love about Springdale was how early everything closed. A spontaneous decision to wander around town turned sour when we realized that at nearly 9:00pm absolutely nowhere was open- or so we thought.

We got to the Pioneer Lodge just as it closed, but the wonderful manager/owner/staff member (we never got his title) let us in for dessert and wine. Not only was their four-berry pie absolutely AMAZING, the restaurant itself had a friendly homey atmosphere. Even when we left at 10pm, there were still patrons- who had been there before closing time- staying to chat and hang out.

The Pioneer Lodge was the perfect ending to our lovely trip. Definitely would recommend this place to any travelers in Springdale.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipling. SK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not a Memorable Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

As we were staying at the Pioneer lodge anyways, we decided to try this restaurant for dinner because of the convenient location. Three of the negatives of the evening were as follows We were seated in a booth with rather hard benches, which may need some updating in the future. First drink I received was a rather 'skunky' draft beer. After drinking maybe a few too many beers(different brand naturally), I still managed to notice a mandatory 18% gratuity added to the bill, with the standard spot on the charge slip for adding your voluntary tip. I have to admit I have been to a good portion of the restaurants in Springdale over the years, and this is the first time I have encountered this situation. However I did not feel too insulted with the generous %50 percent meal credit from being guests in the lodge. Service was great, servers were all friendly and accomodating. The steaks were actually cooked to order, and dessert was excellent. This establishment had that small town type mom and pop type of vibe to it. A good place for a satisfying meal, but nothing more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Historic Pioneer Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Historic Pioneer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Pioneer Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.