We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar's Cafe

Oscar's Cafe
948 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767
+1 435-772-3232
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Springdale
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Mequon, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Great place for dinner after a day in Zion NP. We had a great dinner there on a busy 4th of July weekend night. I had the house special fish tacos and was very pleased. Oscar's take is a bit different from other fish tacos - lettuce instead of cabbage and flour instead of corn tortillas - but the mahi mahi was delicious and well complimented with their sauce. We sat out on the patio and watched the stars come out to compete with the white twinkle light strung around the seating area. I highly recommend and will go there again when I am in Springdale.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,009
    647
    158
    55
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great portions- fair prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We ate at this restaurant because we were quite hungry after our day at Zion and the portions did not fail to satisfy us! My husband ordered the big a$$ burger and ended up taking part of it home and I ordered the Bacon and Blue burger. Both were delicious and had probably the best bacon that either of us have ever had on them. Service was slow at times but to be fair the restaurant was busy and we didn't have any place to hurry off to anyways! The fries were good and generous and the prices were fair considering we were right by the National Park. I would recommend this restaurant as good filling food albeit a bit slow.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A lot of food for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Nothing fancy but the food was good and there was more than we could eat. Staff was friendly and service was fast.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles,ca
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Oscars used to be not only good, but inventive.Not any more. The food is O.K. Mexican specialties are the best. Salads are good as well. Its just O.K.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I don't know if some of these reviews come from people who may have hiked all day and then anything will taste wonderful to a hungry person. The reality is there are no great restaurants in Springdale. Oscars is probably a little better than others for ambience and quality. However, to the people who posted they had the greatest hamburger ever here either lead limited lives or, like I said, were really hungy after a long hike in Zion. But, maybe taste is also in the eye of the beholder. For whatever reason, a number of restaurants in Springdale like to heavily use Garlic. Oscars is one. If I remember correctly, it actually says Garlic Hamburger as your only choice. Does that enhance the flavor of a hamburger? Not to me. Plus, it wasn't charbroiled which, again from my bias, typically improves the flavor for a hamburger.

I read a number of reviews and I will agree that if you go to Oscars Cafe, your best decision will be to go with their Mexican entrees. Some of them appeared quite good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Oscar's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.