We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice steak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SWITCHBACK GRILLE & TRADING COMPANY

SWITCHBACK GRILLE & TRADING COMPANY
1149 Zion Park Blvd. B, Springdale, UT 84767
+1 435-772-3700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
SWITCHBACK GRILLE & TRADING COMPANY is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Springdale
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Switchback stop
Description: Nestled at the foot of the Watchman rock formation in Zion Canyon, Switchback Grille Steak & Fish House features hand-selected USDA Prime beef, Certified Angus Beef and a daily fresh fish menu that follows the seasons. Artfully prepared dishes, warm superior service, stunning views of the West Temple and a sophisticated southwest dining room come together for a truly unique dining experience. Additionally, Switchback offers full bar service with the area’s most extensive wine list. Banquet and catering services are available year round as well as a cozy sports grill with all of your pub favorites.
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very nice steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

It was so nice we went 2 nights in a row! Delicious steak and salads

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    170
    96
    49
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011 via mobile

The service here was horrible. Our order was taken and we did not see our waitress again. She never refilled our glasses or asked us how we were. She was not overly busy either. The food was good and the atmosphere was nice. You should receive much better service when you pay higher prices.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food - Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just returned from Springdale, Utah. We wanted to try new restaurants in the area - we went to the Switchback Grille . The Switchback Grille proved to be a great restaurant - not your usual vacation stop but a nice restaurant with great food, good service and very fair prices. We were very pleasantly surprised to fine a nice quality restaurant in a small town such as Springdale, A couple of days we ventured to Jacks Sports Grille next door. The hamburgers are wonderful with servings fit for the most hungry customer. Like the Switchback, their service was also perfect. We did try a couple of the other restaurants in town - Oscars, Pizza Noodle - these did not compare with Switchback or Jacks so we returned and during our week long stay ate only at the Switchback and Jacks. I would truly recommend both of these if you really want a good dining experience.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Must to Try if you want excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Wow what a place! We came into town with family to go hiking for the week. After being on the trails all day, at first we were a little hesitant in coming in because it was a nice place. But there were people in the restaurant with casual attire. So we felt right at home. The hostess assured us it was not a problem and we received the same treatment as if we were in our sunday best. The food was excellent and the selection was quite nice to choose from. The setting was beautiful and our server was great. She knew the specials and how to take care of us. The banana spilt I had was so big it could of served 4 people. The presentations of all of the food we ordered were nice. My husband ordered the trout and I have never seen such an amazing presentation for trout. It was very good (he let me try it) and we ended up splitting our entrees with each other. I had the top sirloin and it was cooked to perfection. I am telling everyone I know if they ever go to Springdale, this is a great place to go and I am telling you too.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stick with the burgers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Ate at Jack's Sports Grille after 9 hour drive. I have nothing good to say about the service. One waitress for entire establishment. Not a lot good to say about the food. Just be smart. When you eat at a Sports Bar....STICK WITH THE BURGERS.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SWITCHBACK GRILLE & TRADING COMPANY also viewed

 

Been to SWITCHBACK GRILLE & TRADING COMPANY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SWITCHBACK GRILLE & TRADING COMPANY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.