We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't walk but RUN to another motel!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Brook Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Terrace Brook Lodge to your Saves list
Terrace Brook Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   990 Zion Park Blvd., P.O. Box 217, Springdale, UT 84767   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Eureka, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't walk but RUN to another motel!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The back three bedroom cottage was aweful! Cockroaches, strong sewer smell in living room after using the showers, no ventilation over gas stove, smoke detectors not working, 2 of the 3 televisions were not working, numerous broken hinges on kitchen cupboards and bathroom window, and lamp switches broken. I would never recommend this to anyone!!! Run now and find another place to stay!

Room Tip: Double check resources, i.e. Local Chamber of Commerce
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    36
    35
    74
See reviews for
39
64
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is indeed a tired old hotel and I would agree with some other reviewers that this in itself is not necessarily a problem. On the plus side the hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. The wifi was also good. The downside was the couple who own this hotel who do seem to have difficulty communicating in a civil tone and certainly did nothing to make us feel welcome. In fact the man seemed to have a view that we would be trying to avoid payment even though the rooms had to be paid for in advance at registration. Having signed my credit card authorisation he then proceeded to write out details of my driving licence and credit card on the reverse of the authorisation and making me sign that too!
There are plenty of other similar priced hotels in this area - my advice choose anything over this and avoid at all costs - there is no excuse for rudeness and poor customer service!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My friends and I were driving around Springdale looking for a place to spend the night and shower after 4 days of back country hiking. We stopped at Terrance Brooks and found it to be a good deal. Terrance showed my friend and I the room we would be staying in (not too often you get to see your room before you decide to book it). We then went back to the office and did some paperwork and computer work. Terrance told us "NO SMOKING!" I told him we don't smoke. Then he said "NO PETS!" I reassured him we had no animals. Then he relaxed and welcomed us to his lovely Lodge. He told us about the breakfast from 7-9am every morning...fruit loops, bagels and papadum (MY FAVORITE!). Mr. Brooks and I chatted for a while about Zion and the various hikes. He told me to go get clean because we all reeked after our 4 days of hiking. We left our room in shambles, dirt and dust and sand and grime everywhere, but Terrance was so understanding. "As long as you know there is NO SMOKING," he told us. I'll always remember his words, and our lovely stay at the Terrance Brooks Lodge.

Room Tip: please no smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!

The owner is a bully and has no customer service skills at all. First of all, it took a half hour to book, repeating the spelling of the name. Then took another 15 min to confirm the reservation at the day of since we would be arriving late, repeating the spelling and intent of the call over and over.

Our shower was barely dripping water so we went to the office after dinner to let him know. He came strutting to our shower, turned it on and said "it's working". We said it's not good enough and not acceptable. We said we would like compensation. He started laughing hysterically and said "Compensation?? do you know how much is your rate??" We paid $121+tax so it's not cheap and he did not tell us that the rate was for not working shower. He also said that we should have told him this morning, not at night. That we could leave tomorrow morning and he would give us $10 back. We already paid for 3 nights. My friend pointed out that he had poor customer service skills and if he was aware of yelp, fb, trip advisor. He started pointing finger and yelling at her for black mailing him. I don't think he knows the definition of black mailing. My friend said that the conversation was over, was late and that he needed to leave the room now. He got so irate that she told him to leave. We could hear his wife in the background saying something. My friend almost called the police on him in his own motel if he continued.

My other friend unscrewed the shower head to get more water to take a shower that night. The next day when we got back from the park, the key did not work. We had to get him to open the door. He came strutting with his nose up, gave my "black mailer" friend a stink eye as he passed and opened the door. He motioned my other friend to come follow him to the shower. The shower had been fixed but he accused that one of us broke the shower head. My friend tried to explain that he only unscrewed the head to get more water but he wasn't listening. He kept on saying "you broke it!"

His wife also gave us the stink eyes as she passed that afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here in lieu of camping in a tent. I should have opted for the tent.

Check-in was odd. The manager and a guest were having a debate about pricing. After waiting several minutes, he interrupted the debate to check me in. Even though I assured him that I did not smoke, he repeatedly warned me against smoking in the room.

There was a worn-out chair sitting in front of my room. Not to be outdone, every room had a worn-out chair in front of it.

Beds were clean, but flimsy. The sink drained slowly and had stains in it. The bathroom had one bare bulb and a wobbly toilet. The sound insulation between rooms is nonexistent. I could hear every word of the conversation in the adjoining room. Thankfully, it was in some eastern European dialect.

The next morning, I took one look at the breakfast offering and skipped it.

This place did receive a personal distinction -- it is, by far, the worst place I have stayed in recent memory.

Room Tip: Find a campsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It is definitely an old hotel. The owner is a little pushy, but after you pay for you room, you don't talk to him again. The breakfast was cold cereal and toast.

However, the room was warm and the beds were comfy. The owner gave us a triple bed room for the price of a double because he was full. The rooms were very clean, and the owner came and helped us with the heater. When you're spending all day in zion, all you really need is a bed, and this was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Come on now everybody--I've stayed in Zion many, many times and have always stayed at much more expensive places but I spent a LOT more money to do so. Of COURSE if you spend more money you will receive more amenities. This is a basic but serviceable place to stay for a couple of nights if you want to go to Zion and don't feel like camping or spending $300-500 for a couple of nights. For $75/night with no reservation we got a perfectly serviceable room with great, free wireless internet, we didn't use the free breakfast. The location is the reason to stay here--you can walk right into town and then catch the shuttle. We hiked all day and had a bed to sleep in, that's all I wanted. If you want luxury pay for it people!! The owners were very kind, they are a bit quiet at first but very sweet, I will stay here again--I will take my blow dryer next time though :) One thing--if you want to soak in a tub after bathing there is only a shower here, just FYI

Room Tip: If you need wii fi the owner said the signal is best in the rooms close to the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrace Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Brook Lodge

Address: 990 Zion Park Blvd., P.O. Box 217, Springdale, UT 84767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Terrace Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Brook Lodge, Utah is located only one mile from the south entrance to Zion National Park on Highway SR9. The beautiful setting of the Lodge offers a park-like atmosphere and panoramic views of Zion Canyon. The Lodge is with easy driving distance to mountain skiing, Las Vegas gaming, year-round golfing, water skiing and some of the most spectacular geological attractions in the world. Make Terrace Brook Lodge your home base to see Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, North Rim Grand Canyon and Lake Powell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Terrace Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Brook Hotel Springdale
Terrace Brook Motel
Terrace Brook Lodge Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Brook Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.