We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, grounds, location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Ranch Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon Ranch Motel
Save
You added Canyon Ranch Motel to your Saves list
668 Zion Park Blvd., Springdale, UT 84767   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1/2 mile to Zion Entrance
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great value, grounds, location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A sixties court motel, but with available kitchenettes, a huge grassy and shaded center courtyard, nice pool, and perfect location ON! the Zion tram line. The rates are reasonable in season. The rooms could use some sprucing up, but we will keep returning.

Room Tip: Kitchenette rooms allow far more flexibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    108
    18
    5
    14
See reviews for
56
136
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Skyforest, Ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We come to the Canyon Ranch about every 2 years when we visit Zion. Nothing fancy. Cozy is the word I'm looking for. Beautiful views. They're have been a couple of big, new, obnoxious hotels built there in Springdale in the past couple of years. I would never think of staying at them. Too commercialized.
At the Canyon Ranch there are cute picnic tables and swings set up in the grassy area where you can eat your breakfast or have a glass of wine in the evening. The shuttle picks you up right out front to take you into Zion. Deer wander around the property munching on grass. The pool is refreshing. I would never think of staying anywhere else. I don't get what some of the bad reviews are about. Maybe they should stay at one of those obnoxious hotels down the street :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I took my family on a vacation to see Bryce Canyon, Zion and the Grand Canyon. We stayed in Springdale for two nights while visiting Zion. We needed a place with kitchen for dietary reasons. After searching lodging options on the internet I came across the Canyon Ranch Motel. I looked it up in a “lonely planet” book which (inexplicably) rated it as “our pick” for lodging in Springdale. Think circa 1970s motel, with the only updates since that time being a flat screen TV (which we never used) and a microwave. Our room had a large picture window (facing the circle drive which goes around the complex and a grassy courtyard area) and a smaller window on the side. There are no sheer curtains, so if you leave the curtains open your room has as much privacy as a fishbowl. Alternatively, with the curtains closed the room is like a cave. The kitchen features a tiny two burner gas stovetop. There is no exhaust fan, so you need to open a kitchen window when you use the stovetop because the gas smell is quite strong. The kitchen sink is probably 12” x 10”, so washing dishes or cookware is all but impossible. We didn’t use the microwave, but it is one of the smallest I have ever seen. Moving to the bathroom, it also lacked an exhaust fan. There was a window (which opened to a lovely view of a bank of electrical service panels), but sometimes modesty prevails and having the window open isn’t desirable. As a result, the bathroom doubled as a steam room. An added bonus was that the tub barely drained. The room was too small for the two full-sized beds, so one bed was right up against the wall with the picture window, and the second bed leaves a narrow path with just enough room to get to the bathroom. Finally, the air conditioner unit struggled to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. These “luxurious” accommodations can be yours too at the unconscionable rate of $149/night. The only redeeming feature was that the room was clean, but given all the other problems, that’s kind of like putting lipstick on a pig. This motel was the worst part of our vacation.

Room Tip: Try the new La Quinta just down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a great find. A small motel with extremely helpful front desk staff. Rooms are in small duplexes and are very clean! There is a shared center park with a porch swing. Very close to Zion National Park. We really enjoyed our visit here and would stay again if ever in the vicinity!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here four years ago and fell in love with the facility. When we found ourselves in the area again a few weeks ago while on vacation, we didn't hesitate to reserve a room here once again.

The facility is clean, clean, clean, well maintained and nothing is overlooked. The rooms are spacious and warm and airy. The pool is refreshing, actually surprisingly on the cold side, but it feels wonderful after a hot day of hiking. Of course, you have their toasty warm hot tub to warm up in and to take away any aches and pains.

The grassy courtyard that runs through the middle is such a treat! There are picnic tables and chairs to hang out on and watch the sun go down over the mountain tops. There's even a BBQ to borrow should you wish to cook your own food. Our kids loved looking for lizards and snails in the garden areas. The facility is located away from the road so it's tucked away and nice and quiet.

The folks who choose to stay here are always well mannered and respectful. The host and hostess are very helpful and will go out of their ways to do what they can to make your stay perfect.

There have been a lot of changes to Springdale in just the fours years since we were last there. Public space has been taken up by new chain hotels. There used to be an elk farm down the street from Canyon Ranch. It's now a new hotel. Our kids, as well as my husband and I, were very disappointed to see it go. Springdale is a nice little town, but if they aren't careful, its quaintness is going to be disappearing. Canyon Ranch is one of the family owned, old time non-cookie cutter hotels in the town. It's really a treasure. I hope it remains so.

Room choice: We always ask for a room on the outside/corner of the buildings. Some buildings only have two rooms attached, but others have four. The outside rooms are a bit larger and have two walls of windows to take in the beautiful light and views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner of the building. They're a bit larger than the inside rooms and ha...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have room 5, a 'kitchenette' room. Wow! Was I in for a surprise. NEWLY redecorated, new wood floor, furniture, CLEAN, CLEAN, bathroom newly done. It is way beyond my expectations. Three huge picture windows, and one in bathroom (small up high) . Great for cross breeze if you don't want air on. The dishes/pots/pans don't look like they have been used...heavy duty stainless steel. Dishwashing soap, paper towels, cutting board, coffee maker and coffee pkts, microwave..huge space, flat screen tv, quiet air but can open windows for fresh air. Dining room table, 4 chairs all furniture in light pine making the whole room look even bigger than what it is. Bathroom all new w granite floors and large fluffy towels. Also soap/shampoo/lotion/conditioner AND small portable box kleenex. Absolutely worth the $139 (high season). Lovely pool, friendly guest check in. Perk: Zion shuttle directly across the street, and lets off on motel side. As you can see, the views from my windows are to die for! I have read reviews that are very negative, I just checked in today and so far, I am very pleased. FREE WIFI....fast too! If anything changes, I will update this review, but so far, a GREAT place.

Room Tip: I can only speak to my room, #5 ALL NEW, on corner and has three huge picture windows, fantastic vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Canyon Ranch Motel is a clean and comfortable place to stay at Zion. The hotel is located right at one of the Zion bus stops. It is a short walk to town and close enough that you can walk to the park if you wanted. The room was spacious, had a flat screen tv (though no HD signal) and a small fridge. I stayed closer to the back of the property but never had a problem with the wireless internet. The owners were nice and the price was reasonable. The walls are a bit thin but for the most part people were quiet. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioner worked great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a simple base to explore zion from. The hotel is simple and not a fancy five star resort with lots of bells and whistles so if you are looking for that, you will want to stay some place else. I was at the Canyon Ranch for 4 nights and was very pleased with the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Ranch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Ranch Motel

Address: 668 Zion Park Blvd., Springdale, UT 84767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Canyon Ranch Hotel Springdale
Canyon Hotel Springdale
Canyon Motel Springdale
Canyon Ranch Motel Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Ranch Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.