We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canyoneering with Eric and Dan in Birch Hollow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Desert Adventure

Red Desert Adventure
Springdale, UT 84767
+1 435-668-2888
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Adventure guide service for the Zion National Park and Southern Utah areas. Canyoneering, Rock Climbing, Mountain Biking, Hiking, Family Adventure, and Instructional Courses.We provide experienced guides at competitive rates.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
“Canyoneering with Eric and Dan in Birch Hollow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were 2 families of five canyoneering for a full day with guides Eric and Dan. Our children ranged from 12 to 18 years old. This was the first adventure of many while vacationing for 2 weeks in Zion, Bryce, Arches, Monument Valley and Grand Canyon. This day was by far the best adventure of the whole trip. What a way to start an excellent vacation. If there was a 6 star rating we would have selected that, especially to make up for the one 4 star rating given on Trip Advisor by someone else! Eric and Dan were so competent, helpful, friendly, enthusiastic and patient. We would highly recommend this adventure to anyone. The smooth sandstone decents were breathtaking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Landstuhl, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What an adventure!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband had an excellent experience canyoning with Zach through Yankee Doodle Canyon. You are equipped with a helmet, and a harness to rappel with. He also offered a backpack so things don't get wet. It was quite an adventure that put both your physical and mental skills to the test as you maneuvered around natural obstacles, and fun as we rappelled down through the canyon. The trip up there was beautiful, we had our own personal guide and had an amazing time! Bring shoes with a good grip, and ones you don't mind possibly getting wet (maybe consider a towel too). The water isn't deep, actually a little refreshing after the hard work through the canyons, but I wouldn't go swimming in it. The trip back up was physically demanding, but exhilarating. What a wonderful experience. Zach was very personable and helpful. I would definitely recommend this trip to others. Oh, and make sure to bring a snack and some water and your camera (just make sure you keep it safe-not your super expensive one either). I hope you all enjoy your trip as well!! :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing morning in stunning location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Did half day climb w Zach who managed to find the perfect level of challenge and excitement for all of us (no small feat since 2 of us were experienced and 2 were beginners). He was personable and flexible and very knowledgeable. I 100% recommend Red Desert.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A fantastic day for all the family. Our guide Eric knew the canyon so well we felt in very safe hands. Our boys loved it, especially swimming across the pools!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding family adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our family of 6 (youngest is seven years old) had an excellent time rappelling, canyoneering, wading, and rock climbing in the canyon. Eric, our guide, was awesome! I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Desert Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Red Desert Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Desert Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.