We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding family adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Desert Adventure

Red Desert Adventure
Springdale, UT 84767
+1 435-668-2888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Activities in Springdale
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure guide service for the Zion National Park and Southern Utah areas. Canyoneering, Rock Climbing, Mountain Biking, Hiking, Family Adventure, and Instructional Courses.We provide experienced guides at competitive rates.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding family adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our family of 6 (youngest is seven years old) had an excellent time rappelling, canyoneering, wading, and rock climbing in the canyon. Eric, our guide, was awesome! I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They are very professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

They took us to make a Canyoneering half day trip and was amazing! The equipment was new and our guide Dan Snyder was so professional and nice!! I strongly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Zion at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Eric is an amazing guide and we had a blast. Strongly recommend. We will never forget our first rappel down birch hollow. What a rush.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highlight of our vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

After reading reviews of several different companies, Red Desert Adventures was my first choice for our canyoneering experience. We couldn't have chosen a better company. Since we were staying in Cedar City, we met our guide Eric in LaVerkin and set off on our adventure to Water Canyon. We were told RDA guides like to get an early start so you can really enjoy the experience without getting bogged down waiting for other groups to finish. Actually, the only other people we saw were two locals who hiked up to a spring and back. It felt like we had the whole area to ourselves. Eric was FANTASTIC! He made sure we kept an appropriate pace and was able to give us a lot of information about the area. This was wonderful especially since the brief pauses seemed to coincide with the need for a catch your breath break. Eric was able to make all of us feel comfortable and safe. He's funny and has a great deal of knowledge about not just the land but the history of the area as well. He also gave us a great suggestion for dinner in Cedar City (Lupita's) where we had the best mexican food I'd ever had. Our girls, ages 16 and 17, really enjoyed talking with him and he was even able to get our daughter to overcome her fear of getting in the water when she couldn't see what was in it. She even volunteered to be the "height checker" in a couple of spots. Eric was also willing to take pictures for us and would let us know when there was a good photo op coming up. The canyon was amazing and although we were there in July, we were never so hot we were uncomfortable. We brought plenty of water (3 camelbaks and a couple of extra bottles) and snacks which we were able to eat as we went along. We stopped for a quick snack break once but we were having such a great time we pretty much forgot to stop for lunch. After we finished in the canyon, Eric took us back to our car and we headed back to our hotel. This really was one of the best parts of our vacation. I would definitely recommend Red Desert Adventures and Eric to anyone who is heading to the area. We'll be sure to use their services next time we're in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
“Great adventure and awesome guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Red Desert Adventures was awesome! Zach was our guide and he was exactly what we needed. Super experienced, friendly, funny, talkative and definitely great at his job. He made sure everything we did was within our ability levels, and he motivated us to try things that we didn't think we could do. We're 26 and 27 respectively and in decent shape, but neither of us have done canyoneering or outdoor rock climbing before, so we thank Zach for walking us through the entire process and making both days such a fun time and great experience.

We did two adventures on back to back days, both with Zach as our guide, which made it even better because we got to stick with someone we were already comfortable with. We did a full day canyoneering adventure on the first day, and then a half day rock climbing adventure on the next day. The early start was perfectly timed because it definitely got hot towards the end of both days.

For the canyoneering adventure, Zach picked us up right at our hotel at 7am and the day ended around 2:30pm (which is when we started the drive back from the canyon). We took a 2-2.5 mile hike into a beautiful canyon with about an 800ft elevation gain. We ended up doing 9 rappels! The longest was 170ft. We even did some down climbing in a slot canyon, which was scary and exhilarating, and an awesome experience. Zach coached us the entire way. Canyoneering was a great time and we both think that it's something we're going to continue.

The rock climbing adventure started at the same time. We started off with a two pitch climb totaling about 100ft (5.8 rating). Zach taught us lie-backing and some basic rock climbing techniques. My wife has a fear heights, but Zach kept her calm and enabled her to push through it. Our next climb involved crack climbing, which we both had never done (5.9). We did one more climb after that (5.10) which was a cool way to end the morning.

Red Desert Adventures was an excellent choice and one we would make again the next time we come back to Zion. The adventure was private, just us and the guide, fun, and absolutely rewarding. Thank you to Red Desert Adventures and Zach!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Desert Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Red Desert Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Desert Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.