We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Monkey

Flying Monkey
975 Zion Park Boulevard, Springdale, UT
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Springdale
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After hiking the zion narrows top down, we were tired and hungry. We stopped here for a pizza and beer and it was some of the best tasting pizza ever. It was so good we came back the next night and got the same thing!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    246
    102
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
So.Cal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We are always on the lookout for good pizza (after living in NYC for years) and didn't really expect it in a tourist town, but we thought the pizza here was quite good. We had a few different kinds and both were very good with a nice crust and hearty, well-seasoned toppings. Would recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarillo, ca
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
“Great food; abyssmal service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I really wanted to love a place with hand tossed, wood fired pizzas, and beers with names like 'polygamy porter' and 'first amendment lager'. The pizzas were good, and the unusual greek salad (no lettuce, just tomatoes and peppers) was delicious. The overall experience, however, was terrible. It took @ an hour to get our food on a Saturday night, and the waitresses took our order, and then weren't seen again until the food was slammed down. Then they disappeared, never to be seen again. I don't think we were unusually lucky, as I heard a pathetic cry from across the room, 'could we just please have our water refilled?"

I spoke to a local about this restaurant later, and they said it's recently been taken over by new management. That Sat. night, the restaurant ultimately had to close early because they ran out of tomato sauce. So maybe this is just management teething pains. The consensus at my table, though, was that, no matter how good the food, the experience was so bad no one wanted to return. If you really want a pizza, my advice is to order takeout: at least 45 minutes before you want it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Sintenlella pizza and Greek salad were both good. Lighting was bad and service was mixed, but overall the food was good and that's what i was there for.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Pizza was decent, We were a group of 8 and payed $50 bucks for pizza and 2 pitchers of beer...which is awesome!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Monkey also viewed

 

Been to Flying Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Monkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.