We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Zion Canyon Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zion Canyon Campground
Save
You added Zion Canyon Campground to your Saves list
479 Zion Park Blvd., Springdale, UT 84767   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stay away!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Don't go this campground!!! The location might fool you, cause it's is beautiful all around it, but the campground itself is a dump. Bathrooms are filthy, toilets are overflowing, sink is dripping, mud everywhere. And if you complain to the staff about it, they say they don't have enough people to keep it cleen. They are very rude and charge $10 person/night for camping (incl. 1 token for a 5min shower). If you want a second shower you have to pay $5 extra. Sites are tiny, dusty, hardly any shade. What a shame to waste such a beautiful place by the wrong owners. They don't give a s*** about tent campers as they make more money with RV's. Dirtiest campground i every stayed at!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    30
    15
    25
See reviews for
40
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Wow, I've stayed in roach infested dumps for 5 times the price of this place that reviewed better than this. I like the Zion Canyon Campground and I'm going back soon.

We stayed here because it was very close to Zion NP and was one of the only places available. We actually had a campsite reserved in the park, but there's almost no shade in the campgrounds inside the park so we chose this place instead. The other places to camp are a 20-30 minute drive from the park where there are no restaurants or anything other than hanging out in an RV resort. Your other option is to shell out $100+ a night for a hotel room.

The campgrounds are small, but they're shaded and yes you're right next to your neighbors.

First off my wife and I are into canyoneering in Zion, so we spend most of the day hiking in the park and we just need a cheap place to relax and cool down after a long hike. If you're spending your whole time in your room or campsite you're missing the point of going to Zion anyway. The campground has showers and a pool and costs about $20 a night for a tent site. I'm not sure what people are expecting for $20 a night right next to one of the most popular national parks in the country, but if you're expecting luxury and privacy for $20 a night you're probably in the wrong area.

The first few nights we were surrounded by a group of inner city kids who were bussed down to do some hikes in Zion, the last night we were surrounded by a big Mormon group who complained incessantly and gave us the stink-eye while we had a couple beers with dinner. That said, we're going back in a couple weeks and I'm staying here again.

As for the staff, my wife and I travel a lot and everytime I've been polite and friendly with the staff, I've received the same treatment. If you're rude and demanding because you didn't make reservations or didn't research the place you're staying then expect the staff to reply in kind.

Try to get a site close to the river, it's away from the big group sites and a little prettier. You can't beat the location, there's a shuttle stop right at the campground so you don't even have to drive into the park. It's also walking distance from all the restuarants and shops in Springdale.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

We stayed for three nights at the Zion Canyon RV Park in Springdale. The RV park itself was a little crowded, but very clean. The bathrooms were not so clean, but we mostly just used our RV. The location is perfect, there is a shuttle pick up to the park right at the entrance of the RV Park.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

The staff were really nice as we paid for our site and drove in., there was no grill and no fire-ring at the allocated site so we asked for a different one...there were plenty of open sites, they blew up and were really rude but there was nowhere else to go so we just forgot it.
The tokens for the shower didn't work, extra tokens were $5 for 6 minutes....are you kidding? $50 per hour for hot water? they say they are trying to be green and save water...I bet the folks staying in the hotel rooms don't have to pay extra for longer showers, or for watching tv all night, or leaving room lights on, or for cranking up the AC.
The showers/toilets were filthy, there was one urinal, two cubicles with graffiti. dirt and toilet paper everywhere and no soap....how can you not have soap in a toilet block? Trying to be green I suppose. It's just disgusting. I'm tempted to open a campground in the town and put them out of business.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, Ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

Zion Campground at the Quality Inn is the ONLY private campground in Springdale with full hookups. It is close to the park. The only other place to take your RV would be inside the park itself, but there are no hook ups there. We went there for Memorial Day weekend 2008.
The place is beautiful with the Zion cliffs in the background. This is where the beauty of this RV resort ends.
The staff there is extremely rude and treat you like you are a second class guest. Don’t bother complaining about anything, they don’t care since the park stays full because they are the only game in town. We parked our RV on space A17. Little did we know that we parked next to a permanently parked 5th wheel RV in space A18 that belongs to Linda, who works reservations for the resort.
The problem started when our small (6 lb) terrier dog barked at her through the window while she was in her front “yard”. The dog was home alone and we were out to dinner while the barking “problem” was going on. When we returned, she yelled at us in front of all the other campers and told us that we would be evicted if we could not control our dog. She also accused us of breaking her plants (which were actually extending into our own RV space) with the RV slide out. The slide out, even though it was still on our side of our own RV space, barely touched her plants that were over extended from her RV space. We apologized to her for “touching” her plants and also told her that the dog could not have barked that loud since it is small, he can barely be heard from inside the RV. When we questioned her version of the problem, she blew up. This upset her more, and she told us that she would immediately speak to the owner concerning our eviction. Again, she did this in a LOUD voice so all the neighbors could hear how “in control” she was of the situation.
Instead of waiting for the owner to be notified of the problem, we went to the owner. His name is Stu. Stu said that he could not be bothered with trivial problems like ours, and told his manager, Brook to handle it. He also refused to speak to us in private and told us we could only speak to him in the lobby. Of course, all the employees and guests heard the conversation. We insisted that he handle it, and it actually upset him. He said that he would speak to Linda even though he has a manager that handles these type of problems, but that there is not much he can do because Linda is one of his “senior” employees and knows the business very well.
We would have moved at that point, but it was a holiday weekend, and everything was full. My recommendation is to stay in Zion Park as your first choice unless you don’t mind being treated like a third class citizen by all the employees, managers, and owner at this resort.

  • Liked — The canyon views
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

We stayed in the campground behind the hotel. We were a group of 29 people and we were packed into four tiny sites. Another big problem was that the road by our site did not have an outlet so you had to back out. Because we were traveling with 19 people's camping gear we had a trailer. You can't imagine how difficult it was to maneuver that in such a tight space. When I made the reservation several months earlier, I made it clear we were a group and was surprised at the terrible location we were given. I was immediately sick when I saw where my group had to stay. We just kept saying we were glad we were only going to be there two days and then we could get out of there. There were two shower/restroom buildings. The one in the RV section was very clean. The one in the tent section was filthy with mud everywhere. I kept thinking they just hadn't been cleaned yet but it never got any better. You get one shower token a day free but if you want another (it is very hot there) it costs $5 and the showers only last 5 minutes. I've paid a lot for showers but this was by far the most expensive and by far the shortest showers I have ever experienced and we have been to a LOT of places. Another problem is that they don't keep anyone on duty at night. We got in late from hiking in the park and wanted our shower tokens but they were closed. Even the cheapest of hotels keeps someone on duty through the night! There is a pool and that was the reason we stayed there instead of the national park campgrounds but it was very small. After seeing the national park campgrounds, we were very sad we had not stayed there instead. Their website said there was very little shade but there was far more than we had in the Quality Inn campground. I would never recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in the campground. The one pro is that a shuttle stop is right by the hotel which was very handy.

  • Liked — Close to a shuttle stop
  • Disliked — Very crowded
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed a week at this campground and loved it. It is located right outside the southern Zion entrance and so is surrounded by the same red rock cliffs found in Zion. A free shuttle picks you up right at the RV entrance and takes you to the Zion Visitor Center or to numerous stops in the town of Springdale. Another free shuttle then takes you through Zion National Park. The entrance fee to the National Park is good for one week, so we took advantage of all there is to do there. The other campers were friendly and quiet and dogs were not a problem (we have a poodle). The restrooms and showers are large and I never had to wait to use them, even on the weekend when they were full. They are a bit dated and some fire damage could be seen, but were in general fairly clean. The water pressure did drop when someone flushed the toilet, but this only happened to me once during the week. The only drawback to this campground is that you can only make reservations on the internet, so if you don't have access to a computer, it's "first come, first served."

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zion Canyon Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Canyon Campground

Address: 479 Zion Park Blvd., Springdale, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Springdale
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private campground offering riversites, full hookups and showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zion Canyon Campground Hotel Springdale
Zion Canyon Campground Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zion Canyon Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.