We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best place I have ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cable Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cable Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cable Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-9401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Mason, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Probably the best place I have ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My family absolutely loved staying here! It is right next to the Virgin River and the entrance to Zion NP. It is close to downtown Springdale too so the location is perfect. The rooms were fantastic with awesome dark trim and balconies with a great view of the Zion peaks. They perfectly fit our family of five and a very cool pull-down bed that my oldest son loved.

Everyone in the main office was also super-friendly and very helpful. They helped make suggestions about places to see, moved all of our luggage since we had to change rooms, gave us free movie tickets to the movie theater next door, and really went beyond all expectations.

If we come back to this area, I will make sure we can stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    122
    26
    4
    0
See reviews for
271
304
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

A last minute reservation brought us quite accidentally to this wonderful hotel! ON planning out 1st family trip to Zion, I only left 2 months to book a hotel. Well, they were all booked, this was the only one who could accommodate us for 6 nights.

This hotel is right outside Zion park entrance, just 5 min walk from our room and we were in the park! The room we got was actually as big as a one bedroom apt with separate bedroom and kitchen. The decor was up to date and there was a great air conditioner.

The view was breathtaking Our room overlooked the pool, which still seemed quiet even while people were in it. The staff was friendly and everyone we met were so glad they were staying there.

The clean pool was refreshing after a long hike in Zion!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I spent 6 nights at the Cable Mountain Lodge during a 10 day trip of the Grand Circle that included Zion, Grand Canyon and Bryce National Parks. I chose this lodge after careful review of the availabe hotels. For me Zion-Springdale was a perfect launching place for the other day trips. Cable Mountain Lodge was everything I expected. It is located next to the entrance of the Zion National Park, which makes it very convenient to take the shuttle to all the stops in the park and to the city of Springdale. Because of the wide range of day and night time temperatures in the desert, I was able to hike early morning (50's-70's)and returned mid-day (90's-100's) for siesta then returned to the park to hike later afternoon before sunset. I stayed at the deluxe suite which is like a nice luxury condo, way better than the Zion Lodge inside the park. There is a nice view of the Watchman Mountain from the parking lot that is next to the virgin river. The room has a large living area combined with a full kitchen (range, microwave, fridge, dishwasher and utensils) and dining area. I loaded up grocery in St George while driving from Vegas to Zion, and was able to cook for the entire week. Although there is no restaurant in the lodge, I was able to enjoy home-cooked meals (there are many restaurants in the area also in Springdale). They do provide excellent coffee in the room. The bathroom is modern with a tub. Hot water is plenty. The toilet is modern Japanese, complete with water rinse and dry. The bedroom is in a separate room with a balcony. The bed is high and very comfortable. Although there were two large flat screen TVs in the room, I chose not to watch during my refuge from city life. The room was well-maintained daily. Check-in was friendly and easy. The provided useful map and information plus free tickets to the Zion theater. For me this was a deluxe home at the footstep of a great park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevay, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We just returned from a ten day trip to Colorado and Utah and our last night we booked Cable Mountain Lodge for its proximity to Zion National Park. The service staff was friendly and extremely helpful and the room was perfect for the four adults in our group. We enjoyed the clear, clean pool right after check-in and had a great nights rest. Two of us saw the movie "Pirates of the Caribbean 4" for half price on the big screen and loved it. One great advantage to staying here, is that there is a lovely kitchen in the room so that you can eat in if you want and also that after parking your vehicle, the Zion Shuttle will take you anywhere in Springdale or Zion National Park that you need to go. I told my husband "forget Hawaii, I want to spend time at this Lodge for a second honeymoon!"

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011 via mobile

The rooms, grounds and location are excellent. I will stay here again when I return to Zion. Very cozy clean and new. Nice kitchens with everything you need. Couldn't be in a better location. I was very happy.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
359 helpful votes 359 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Reserved a Village Side Classic Suite with a AAA rate for about $143/night in May 2011. Although we had requested a second floor room, we received a first floor room that overlooked the parking lot and out toward the beautiful Zion cliffs. There was a lot of traffic that direction, which is a main thoroughfare to/from the lodge, and while we were able to park directly in front of the room, we didn't feel very secure or private -- so if you do reserve a Village Side room, insist upon a second floor room.

The room (#113) was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. It is equipped with an almost full kitchen -- complete with fridge, freezer, microwave, dishwasher (!) and stove; it's only missing an oven. The adjacent dining area seated four.

The king bed was enormous and tall; at 5' 3" I had to do a little hop to get onto the bed. Overall, the bed was comfortable, but there were too many large decorative bed pillows. At night, we had to stack them on the table -- they must've been four-feet high! -- and it became a bit of a nightly chore.

The bathroom was spacious, too, with a wide expanse between the sink and toilet and the granite shower. With all of that space, coupled with a high ceiling and a wide gap under the door, sounds echoed -- voices or... whatever. Consider yourself warned.

Despite the few, very minor negatives I noted on this trip, I would not hesitate to stay at the Cable Mountain Lodge again. It's within walking distance of Zion, as well as a Zion and/or Springdale shuttle stop which makes getting around the park or the town so easy. [I recommend Wildcat Willie's for some good food and kitschy western decor.]

Additionally, you get a free pass to a Zion show at the IMAX theater next door, and/or a discount for the other shows. [The Zion show was okay -- on the corny side -- but would be worthwhile on a really hot summer day.]

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

2 minute walk to the entrance to Zion NP! Clean! Spascious room with kitchen, family room, nice sized Bedroom and large bathroom. Very quiet. Did not hear any outside noise... Will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cable Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Mountain Lodge

Address: 145 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-9401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#5 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cable Mountain Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 50. There is literally nothing between you and the park, simply cross the footbridge from the property and you are at the entrance of Zion National Park. It truly is a custom masterpiece inside and out. We offer up-scale amenities including a relaxing pool and jacuzzi, immaculate room decor, remarkable views and access to the giant screen theatre. All rooms are non-smoking and include a kitchenette and suites include a fully-equipped kitchen with a market located on the same property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cable Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cable Mountain Hotel Springdale
Hotel Cable Mountain
Cable Mountain Lodge Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cable Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.