We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite High Sierra Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite High Sierra Camps
Tenaya Lake, Yosemite National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a great experience! Hiked into Tuolomne Meadows Camp and was met by a beautiful waterfall with an ice cold pool to cool off in. Great food, friendly staff, and a great sunset. They even gave us wood for a group campfire that night. The tents are functional and clean, with a wood stove for heat (which we needed). We shared ours, which worked out well.

Water shortages prevented showering, but otherwise it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, TX USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The camps worked beautifully! I loved having a wonderful dinner and breakfast made for me each day, with the optional lunch ready for me to pick up each morning. The tents were just fine and made it so much easier to hike knowing I didn't have to carry my tent or set up/take down each day. Staff was friendly and resourceful. Went to each of the camps and found each one to be just what we needed.

Room Tip: Singles are assigned based on gender (when available) and couples assigned with one other couple. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I entered the lottery in November and was successful in getting 4 places for a 5 day/4 night guided hike in August. After many years of unsuccessful lottery applications, I think it helped that I was flexible in dates (I gave them a 2 week window) and I included the option of the Ranger Guided hike. The 5 day Guided hikes are somewhat easy to get, the 7 days sell out more quickly. You only pay a small premium to have the guided trip.
Our expereince was wonderful, Jana was a fantastic Ranger guide, and we got along very well with the other 6 people on our trip.
First night was Vogelsang, then down to Merced Lake, with a lay over night, then up to Sunrise camp and then out to Tuolumie Meadows.
I'm a regular hiker, but the circuit was a bit challenging, the heat and rocks and elevation gain and losses make it somewhat challenging, but the comfort of the tent camps makes it all worth it. YOu need to bring a sleep sheet, and your personal gear, so you'll end up carrying a pack around 20 lbs, which is much better than a 30 + pack. Vogelsand and Sunrise camps have wood stoves in the tents, making them toasty warm, and Merced is low enough to be warm.
The food was very good considering it comes in by pack mule, and is plentiful and healthy.

Room Tip: They book you in, Vogelsang and Sunrise are particularly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Dear DNC Customer Service,

My husband and I walked into Merced High Sierra Camp in Yosemite NP during a lighting, hail and rain storm this last July 30 - we later heard it was the storm of the decade. As holiday hikers we weren’t planning on being a part of that sort of excitement.

Your staff was amazing. Brady(?) couldn’t have been more gracious, transforming a miserable experience into a warm and happy memory for us and many others.

As you can imagine, wet leads to cold. Your staff got large amounts of hot water for tea and hot chocolate out for all, they stoked the fire in the mess tent and went out to find those stranded by high water and bad weather. There were quite a few guests who needed to be wrapped in blankets and set in front of the fire upon arrival.

At one point the whole camp was flooded with a fast moving stream of hail, water and debris. The staff had prepped a few of the tented camps for guests at this point, but the storm flooded all. As soon as the rain stopped, your crew cleaned each tent out.

Your chef made an unbelievably delicious dinner that night (steak), and a great breakfast the next day. All of which we enjoyed thoroughly.

We can’t thank you enough for the gracious hospitality we received. If your camp had not had the hard working, diligent crew it has, there would have been a lot of stranded, miserable, hypothermic guests.

Thank you for providing us with a chance to enjoy your terrific staff and a beautiful part of America.

Room Tip: Good luck if you can get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

There are no en-suite baths, no electricity, no WiFi, no heat, and you have to walk several miles to the next camp. By putting up with these conditions you get to see some wonderfully beautiful scenery -- lakes, mountains, forests, wildlife, etc. You do not need to carry your food or bedding -- each camp has tents for sleeping and a small staff to prepare fabulous meals. For us it was an experience of a lifetime just to see such wonderful sights and be so close to nature.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite High Sierra Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite High Sierra Camps

Also Known As:
Yosemite High Sierra Camps Hotel Yosemite National Park
Yosemite High Sierra Camps Hotel
Address: Tenaya Lake, Yosemite National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 - With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite High Sierra Camps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yosemite High Sierra Camps to your Saves list