We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW what huge trees!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias

Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias
Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
+1 209 372 0200
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Parks, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“WOW what huge trees!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Easy walking path around the sequoias with parking surrounding the area. Restroom facilities are also available. These are the biggest trees in this part of CA

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    786
    244
    51
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice walk to see some giant trees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This area of the park is closer to the Mariposa Gate. So if you're coming from the village, it's about an hour drive south on Hwy 41. Check the weather conditions because they sometimes require chains in this area or they may even close it. We were lucky we went on a nice day and was able to drive down to Mariposa Grove of Trees. On a side note - on this same highway is where the "Tunnel View" is.

The walk around the sequoia trees is about 4 miles (2 miles up, and 2 miles going back). We took the rough road on the way up, and took the paved road on our way back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Whoa...those are big trees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We hiked this trail on our last day at Yosemite. Normally we would have loved this except we had been doing some amazing hikes to some BIG A_S water falls and so giant trees just don't elicit the same response. Nothing can compare with those waterfalls. Still a great hike and incredible views.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I love Sequoias”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is worth a stop when in the Yosemite area.
Some good easy hiking and some legitimately large Giant Sequoias. Nice for the whole family, and a variety of trail lengths to suite your needs and fitness level.

This place is no Sequoia National Park, and if you have been to Sequoia and/or Kings Canyon you might be a little disappointed. Otherwise...go! These trees are amazing. You need to see some giant Sequoias sometime in your life.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

A must to go place. These sequoias will leave you without breath.
I've been here just 2 days ago and I would like to go back. This place is full of stories and silence and you will for sure enjoy you 2-3 miles walk

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.