We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the gluten free menu” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Room Restaurant

Mountain Room Restaurant
Yosemite Lodge, Yosemite National Park, CA 95379
209/372-1281
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Watch out for the gluten free menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have to agree with many of the reviews pointing to the same thing: mediocre food at high prices. Being this is the only sit down restaurant, unless you packed a gold brick for the Ahawahee, you’ll be eating here after a long day of hiking. The entrees at the Ahawahee appear to be about $15 to $25 more.

To start the meal I had a foo-foo mixed drink ($10) that was mostly vodka with no taste of the other ingredients.

The salads and soups are priced separately, so we skipped that.

My trout almandine (frozen) was good with fresh crisp vegetables and rice. For $21 it would have been nice to have another touch to the dish.

The trouble was my wife ordered the hamburger patty, chips and toppings off the gluten free menu. Either it was not prepared correctly or a side dish was added accidentally as she was up all night. Her other meals that day were what we had brought, so we are sure they were the offender.

Among the positive comments, the crème breulee for dessert was perfect and the service was very friendly and fast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    121
    66
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Not a cheap eat but we loved the atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The food was lovely. The included breads were all gone in double quick time....yumm!!!!! The kids meals included ice cream that my ice cream manic 6 year old couldn't get through. View out of picture windows was lovely. You can't make reservations so turn up at 5pm and wait until you are seated.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Limited choices...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a scenic location, but we were seated near the kitchen, so there was no view.

Because of the location if you want a resturant meal you have only a few options. We visited in mid-September and it was packed. Service was unsatisfactory, but not because they weren't trying. September is supposed to be outside peak visitation, so I can only imagine what it must be like in peak times...We had a 6:30 reservation and were not served until 8:30. We did get drinks and appetizers sooner, but the entrees came at 8:30. The waiter was almost literally running from table to table. He tried hard and was very nice and helpful. The kitchen couldn't keep up either. BIG problems! Staffing levels likely an issue, and poor management of the kitchen probably key.

We were eating such full meals that by dinner I went with salads and soup. These were OK, but really pretty much lost interest by the time they arrived.

For a second night we went a little earlier, and service, although slow, was better.

My suggestion: you might either stick with the cafeteria or get your dinner in the bar. The bar is slow enough just to get a drink, but it's not as frantic as the Montain Room. The cafeteria has zero ambiance, but you can get in and out quickly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We ate here two nights, mainly because there was something the children liked. Children's meals includes a scoop of ice cream.

The restaurant does not accept reservations and will not seat a table unless all guests are present.

The first night I had the a chicken dish with rice and market vegetables. The chicken was overcooked so it was dry and the rice had been left in the pan and became crunchy. Our lovely waitress 'Sydney' insisted on replacing it and the second time round it was perfect. However for $20 I thought it was very bland. Chicken with sauce on the side, plain white rice and market fresh vegetables which consisted of zuccini and yellow squash.

My husband had the meatloaf both nights and I had it the second night. If you want a real feed after a day of hiking, I highly recommend the meatloaf. It was $20.

It was nice food, but a little expensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Essex
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Out of the eating options at Yosemite Lodge this has by far the best quality food. But this comes at a price. Attentive service but not friendly. Food was good but nothing exciting. The room is large as others that we have visited at the National Park hotels.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Room Restaurant also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Mountain Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Room Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.