We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful dining room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ahwahnee Hotel Dining Room

The Ahwahnee Hotel Dining Room
1 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
209-372-1489
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ahwahnee Hotel Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, International, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Village Drive
Transit: Stop #3 on complimentary Yosemite Valley Shuttle route.
Albany, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful dining room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate dinner here during out stay in Yosemite. The service was great, both servers were very friendly. We ate later than the shuttles ran (we stayed at Curry Village) because we hiked all day and the server helped us get a ride back. There is a dress code, I wore jeans and a shirt, it was a hiking trip so that was the nicest I had and it wasn’t an issue. The food was so good. I ordered the lobster pizza with spinach and a margarita. It was VERY expensive so I wouldn’t eat there more than once but it atmosphere and the really good food after a long day on the trails made it a nice treat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    295
    175
    82
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Atmosphere great, Food okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We came for our Anniversary and the atmosphere didn't disappoint--however, not only was the service terrible, our food was just so-so. Our waitress was a nice lady, but she must have had something on her mind as she didn't know the menu, got our orders wrong, forgot our salad, re-filled the wrong drink--and rejected our Gift Card which I had just loaded the day before! My husband had a pasta dish and I had the steak. It was tasty enough, small portions for sure, but very nothing to write home about. If you go, go for the atmosphere, not the food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Avoid the food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, and found the food to be remarkably bad, especially considering the expense. Any home town diner can prepare better than this. The cooks (I can't call them chefs) seem to have no pride at all. Vegetarians are advised to not even consider this hotel. For example, one of our evenings consisted of a private dinner for about 15 and the vegetarians were simply served a bowl of overcooked vegetable chunks. On another evening, for $37 I ordered "pulled pork on pasta". The pasta was an undercooked, congealed lump with a small covering of nearly flavorless pork.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not Quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The historic and beautiful Ahwahnee Hotel dining room isn't what it used to be. The food is expensive and very average. The service is nice but the charm seems to be gone. After 50 years of dining here, we have seen it change to an average road house experience with high prices and few interesting choices. The experience of dining in such an historic and beautiful building may be worth it for a first time experience, but don't expect much more. The Mountain Room at the Lodge may be a better choice for a repeat visitor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Superlative in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is the eighth National Park lodge dining room we've eaten in and hands-down the best of those we've tried by every measure -- interior, service, cuisine, and overall experience. It was simply fantastic, the dishes we had were exquisitely prepared, the service was outstanding, and the room is beautiful. I was extremely impressed with the warm hospitality from all the staff from the hostess who greeted us to the several of the wait staff who attended to us. This is a different company than the one that runs hospitality services in the other parks we've visited and they do a fantastic job. I highly recommend the Ahwahnee to enthusiasts of the lodges.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ahwahnee Hotel Dining Room also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to The Ahwahnee Hotel Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ahwahnee Hotel Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.