We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Valley

Yosemite Valley
Yosemite National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$382*
and up
2-Day Yosemite National Park Winter Tour from San...
Type: Hiking Trails, Valleys, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many climbers consider Yosemite Valley among the world's very best climbing sites.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
U.K
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful but crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I loved the views of all the different key attractions
Disliked - how busy it was even for May, the beginning of the season. I cannot imagine how much busier it must get later on. This really put me off going there, we'd go there to park the car at the start of the day and then go off hiking away from all the cars, shops and people!
It is good for stocking up if you are camping though - there is a big grocery store which is open late so that's convenient. There is also a shuttle bus which has frequent stops along the valley. The Valley Loop Floor walk is long but easy for those that fancy a gentle easing into hiking - it was about 13 miles and no ups or downs, you just follow the valley all around. We did this on day 1 and found it eased us into the harder hikes nicely.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,550
    261
    75
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awe Inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

What an incredible place. This is grand on a massive scale. The $20 park entry is valid for 7 days and you really need at least 3 days to do anything more than just drive through. There are many walking trails of all lengths, swimming, kayaks to hire. Even filter coffee. Maybe a hotel had real coffee, don't know. We stayed outside the park at nearby Mammoth lakes as its expensive to stay in the park and usually you need to book early.
Take a spare memory card for your photos as you'll see so much to snap.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Top Contributor
700 reviews 700 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Yosemite is a beautiful place no matter what the weather, even though we enjoyed it more with blue sky. I do agree with one of the other reviewers. This place is crowded. We got stuck in traffic for awhile. Also there aren't many restaurants in the park.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful but Crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ansel Adams Gallery was a highlight. The views and beauty of the valley are worth the trip. Too many people and too little parking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Steves Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I booked a day trip on All San Francisco Tours that lasted from 0620 till 2100 leaving from S F with hotel pick up. This is a 410 mile round trip stopping off for breakfast on the way before entering the park around five hours later. The first highlight is a two mile round hike to the bottom of the valley to see the redwood trees and actually walk through one. You then follow the river Merced stopping off at photo points before you drop down to the valley floor to take in the Bridalveil falls that are the highest in America. You then head for the Lodge that offers accommodation if you book well in advance. I would recommend this if you want to see the full beauty of this park and the mountains. A day trip only does it part justice as there are villages along the way that are no doubt worth exploring if you have transport and the time. This park covers a vast area and the chances are you will be in a San Francisco hotel as I was. Time is your enemy on this type of visit, so think about what you want to see, either on a day trip or under your own steam. It`s a long way to go and I am certain as good as the guide was, he can only show you a fraction of what is hidden in this gem of a park. You will leave with a lump in your throat!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite Valley also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Yosemite Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.