We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vernal Fall

Vernal Fall
Vernal Falls Trail, Yosemite National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Though not as tall as Yosemite Falls, Vernal Fall is popular for the green foliage that surrounds it year-round and the rainbow mist it produces as the water cascades.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I am scared of heights (well actually have a fear of falling), but was able to do the climb. Slow and steady, stop for breaks, have a great supporting companion, and so worth it when you get to the top! What a view. We took the Mist Trail up, but my friend found an alternative route (was a marked trail) back down along the winter route. If you are like me, hike up the Mist Trail and come back via the Winter Trail.

The hike is not to be missed!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    79
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“What a waterfall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Wow! We really enjoyed the hike we did up to Vernal Falls. There are a number of hiking options including carrying onto Nevada Falls and beyond. However, we would recommend climbing the steps up the side of Vernal Falls before continuing past Emerald Pool then make your way up to Clarke Point for a spectacular view back down to the falls and where you have come from before descending back down the John Muir Trail to the valley. This walk took us some time and was not easy but you are highly rewarded, you get to stand at the top of the dramatic Vernal Falls and also visit part of the National Park the crowds don’t.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The view is amazing! Words cannot describe it! A few words of advice: take water and stay hydrated. Wear the right shoes - cannot believe that some people did this hike in flip flops. Take your time, this is a strenuous hike at times.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Tough walk up and down. Very busy even off season. Waterfalls with no water still worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a tough walk. Steeply up and steeply down. The trail is paved and packed with people. We enjoyed less popularly trails more . In late summer water levels are low so waterfalls non existent

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“well worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

well worth the effort, but go higher and make a circuit hike, the other falls and the view from the top are wonderful

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vernal Fall also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Vernal Fall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vernal Fall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vernal Fall to your Saves list