We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view an easy walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Falls

Yosemite Falls
Yosemite National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$281*
and up
Experience Yosemite: Beginner or Advanced...
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The fifth tallest waterfall in the world, Yosemite Falls is the centerpiece of Yosemite National Park.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular view an easy walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Lower Yosemite Falls is clearly one of the most accessible trails in the park. In fact, it's wheelchair accessible. Prepare for blowing mist during the spring snowmelt. If you are lucky, you may see a black bear wandering in the area!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    171
    51
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Falling for the Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

As an Australian family, we are used to natural settings very different to what we found at Yosemite. The deep dark greens, massive trees, lush meadows, cool grey and white granite walls carved out by glaciers.... it feels strange....

Yet it also feels oddly familiar, as if some deeply buried genetic memory surfaced (our ancestors came from northern Europe) as we hiked through shadowy pine forests, sipped crystal clear water from bubbling streams and came face to face with wild deer. \

We stayed at the camp site in a permanent tent with raised floor, a heater, and comfortable but not luxurious beds (hey... its camping right). My kids were a little concerned about the lack of toilet facilities and that we would have to walk through the dark and the mud if a night stop was necessary. The bathroom facilities were acceptable.

We had a wonderful 3 days hiking around the various trails, rock climbing and taking photos of deer, squirrels, birds and wild flowers. But the highlight was undoubtedly the bear.

Very early one morning, we were up and headed to get a hot chocolate when we came around a corner at the camp to find a ranger waving us down. We walked up closer and 10 meters away sat a large bear... happily ripping a stolen backpack apart to get at the goodies inside. Standing next to use was a pale and shaken couple who had been surprised by the bear and had to fling their backpack away as they had fruit and nuts etc packed for a days hiking.... a very lucky escape considering what the bear was doing to their backpack.

Apart from our near death experience we had an absolutely amazing time. Yosemite is a truly beautiful place and was the highlight of our entire trip to California.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The small walk around the lower yosemite falls area was gorgeous. I highly recommend going in the morning. We practically had the place to ourselves. The day before we hiked up the strenuous trail to the upper yosemite falls and it was beautiful, this small trail topped it off with wonderful photo opportunities.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,144 reviews 1,144 reviews
776 attraction reviews
Reviews in 327 cities Reviews in 327 cities
913 helpful votes 913 helpful votes
“If you can't rate this 5 stars stay home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited the falls on a cloudy day and were rewarded with a nice reflection in the calm water, later we saw the falls on a beautiful blue sky day and it was breath taking. You feel the ground shake from the power of the water. Whether you hike in or just view from the bridge or other viewpoints...this has to be one of the three best features of Yosemite. The are many viewpoints of the falls. Try the one at the Hotel in the back in the park area. If you fail to see that this is the best nature has to offer, perhaps the History Channel is more to your liking.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wi
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Extremely Strenuous Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

For a great hike head to the top of Yosemite Falls. The hike is around 7 miles round trip with a 2700 ft elevation. The last mile to the top is the most challenging, but the views are incredible and you can walk across a bridge over the water before it pours over the falls.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite Falls also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Yosemite Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.