We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lasting Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nevada Falls Loop

Nevada Falls Loop
Yosemite National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lasting Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was a great hike. It will be great when we go again in the spring when the snow melt makes the river and falls surge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Exhausting but amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We did this hike in about 4 hours. I found it really exhausting climbing to the top of Nevada Falls but the views from the top are really worth the effort. We brought food and had a lovely picnic. It was an amazing experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very tough hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Climbed to Vernal falls the continued on to Nevada falls, This walk was tougher than we expected but made the visit to Yosemite worthwhile. We returned via the John Muir trail which is much easier than returning via Vernal Falls. Overall it took us nearly 6 hours and we consider ourselves reasonably fit experienced walkers. It certainly was the highlight of our visit to Yosemite

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent hike out of the valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Given that Yosemite Falls and Mirror Lake have both dried up in August, this is your best chance to see falls out of Yosemite Valley. The hike is strenuous; we went up the Mist Trail and down the John Muir trail: steep steps up and switchbacks down was a good plan. Take plenty of water and also plenty of food; the altitude can have an effect if you haven't had time to acclimate before you hike. This hike provides fabulous views.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bring Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a long and hard hike with amazing views. It takes at least 5 hours. I hiked only to Vernal Falls but my husband and kids went on to Navada Falls. You need to take extra water and something to eat at the mid-point. Absolutely worth it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevada Falls Loop also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Nevada Falls Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nevada Falls Loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.