We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter is best for stoneman house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curry Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Curry Village to your Saves list
Curry Village
1.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
no. cal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“winter is best for stoneman house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

We only go to yosemite in the winter due to the crowds in summer. We can afford Stoneman House and it is basic, but comfortable for us. It is spartan as rooms go, but the whole point of Yosemite really is not to stay in your room, but to get out there!

The reason we recommend Stoneman in winter is because:
1) it is the closest accomodation to the skating rink
2) badger pass bus pulls up literally right in front of your room, no lugging your gear all the way down the stairs to the reception area and you are the first ones to get on in the morning
3) since it is at "the end of the road" in winter with the exception of some RV camping, it is the quietest with the least traffic. Remember that "quiet" and "Traffic" are always relative terms when talking about the valley floor.
4) it is the closest to the happy isle trailheads
5) the food is the cheapest and fully acceptable as far as basic concessions go. The cafeteria style is no better at the lodge
6) it is a single story structure, so tromping from guests upstairs
7) rooms were pretty soundproof, or maybe we have just had very quiet neighbors the many years we have gone there
8) the rates are slightly lower than the two other hotel/motel style lodgings on the valley floor.
9) meadow trail is a very short walk when compared to the yosemite lodge access
10) homey common room. You do half to walk outside from your room to get to it, but it is very well used--plenty of opportunity to meet families, or sit in your own corner and read without being bothered.

One drawback--if you really like your room to open up to a protected hallway, you won't like Stoneman. All the rooms open out to the porch. The porch is well covered, but it is just a warning that once you open the door, you will feel the cold and chill.

Of course, if you want nice, you have to pay for nice. The Awahnee is what we are shooting for when we win the lottery. until then, we will book stoneman house (and you do have to request as it is embedded under the "Curry Village" description) when we go to Yosemite.

  • Liked — location to winter activities
  • Disliked — would like to see bigger and updated rooms
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    820
    467
    165
    155
See reviews for
734
801
98
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Anyone who stays at Curry Village should bring ear plugs. The location is perfect, and the staff was quite helpful, I thought. But people should know when they book what the term TENT CABINS means. It means canvas, which sound passes through readily. It is a big place, meaning lots of people, though most did their best to observe the quiet hours of 10 PM- 6 AM. They are nothing more than a place to sleep and store your suitcases. We checked into it, and knew what we were getting into. But bring ear plugs if you don't like being awakened about once every hour by someone or the park service yelling at the many bears that are in the area. Observe the MANY warning signs about food storage, leave nothing in your car or you may find it broken into by the bears! No joke, leave NOTHING in your car! Don't be afraid of the bears, they are after food and luggage, not you! I ran into one at 3 AM walking to the bathroom(the cabins have no running water) and it immediately ran away. Noisewise,You can also hear conversations of the occasional inconsiderate person talking at normal voice pitch late at night again bring plugs if you are a light sleeper.
On the positive side, the food at the buffet and pizza patio was good, reasonably priced, the buffet line moves very quickly even when they are busy. The pool was very clean, the shower area was cleaned several times a day and considering the amount of usage was in great shape. Know what you are getting into! Tough it out, quit complaining, and enjoy some of the most beautiful scenery in the world. know what you are getting into, it is only a couple of nights out of your life!

  • Liked — location, rustic, clean shower area, decent food, amazing scenery
  • Disliked — noise at night, dusty
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

We had an awful experience at Curry Village. We stayed in the tent cabins. Yes, it was sparse but that was what we expected. The unexpected was the employee tent cabins that were nearby. The employees are partiers!! Our first night they held their "Halloween Pary", remember this is the end of July beginning of August. They partied until 4 am. No stopping! We spoke to management the next morning to no avail. We expected it to be quite by 10 pm, the posted quite time, the next night. Nope! The employees partied until 3:30 am. We had enough. We posted a complaint with the management again, only to realize we were complaining to the very same partiers and they could care less. We left a day early and were very dissappointed in the staff.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We stayed in Curry Village in April. The party consisted of myself and husband and our three daughters aged 10, 12 and 17.

The visit was part of a tour starting in LA, yosemite, Las Vegas, and
San Fransisco. We thought the cabin would be great fun, how disappointed we were.

The cabin was filthy, and stank of wee. We did complain and were offered another room. We arrived in it to find just one double bed....for the whole family!!! They provided another camp bed and we had to cart two camp beds down from our original cabin.

In the middle of the night (about 2am) some fella walked in claiming the room to be his. They had double booked the room. This was the final straw for us.

The food situation was dire. We thought we'd go for the buffet....big
mistake we should have gone for the pizza. It was like being on a school trip in the 70's.

We cut our visit short by two days although the park itself was beautiful we couldn't stand the accomadation any longer.

There is no need for it get your act together Curry Village, get it clean, tidy and provide some good quality healthy food. Surely that isn't too much to ask?

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

Curry Village is what it is. It is a collection of mostly tent cabins - very close together. You WILL hear your neighbors, and you WILL hear drunken shouts in the night. You'll have to walk to the bathroom and the shower, you'll have to make your own bed when you arrive, and you'll have to lock up your food and your toiletries.

If you are a light sleeper or picky about accomodations, this is not for you (as you can see in some of the other reviews). The cots were ok, but got uncomfortable after three nights. Bedding was sufficient to keep us warm at night, but nothing fancy. Floor was dirty and got dirtier. As a light sleeper, I heard many noises throughout the night - from kids going to the bathroom, to the garbage can slamming, to people yelling and neighbors snoring, to birds cawing in the morning.

Great location - right across from Stoneman meadow and its sunset views of Half Dome. In this meadow during the time I was there were seen mule deer and bear. Also convenient to shuttle bus.

Food was limited - after 5:00 the only dinner options were the very crowded pizza patio or the all-you-can eat, rather expensive for what you get buffet. But take the bus elsewhere in the valley.

A step up from camping for many, but others may want a better chance at a long, comfortable night's sleep.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

Yosemite Park is incredible, but beware the cabins are very basic! We were on our honeymoon and i'd be lying if i didnt say we were a wee bit disapointed as our image of a logcabin in the woods was shattered on arrival! Plus it rained a lot when we were there (well, the first day or so) and the room got a bit damp. Be prepared to 'rough it' a bit, but thats all part of the fun! Having said that, the shower was lovely and powerful, most welcome after a hard days wandering (top tip; use the free buses to get around, easier and quicker than cars). The canteen style food is excellent (especially the breakfasts) and some of the swankier accomodation options have lovely restaurants if you feel like splashing out a bit.
Oh, and beware the curfew is 10pm so no parties in the cabins after lights out!
Top Tip 2: Bring warm clothing, there was snow when we arrived in late april. We are now both proud owners of matching Yosemite hoodies!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bit basic..
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

I am a nature lover, hiker and camper, and obviously picked the wrong place to stay. If the profit-oriented commercialization of nature is what you are looking for, and long lines, the sound of car sirens, babies crying and campers two feet outside your tent cabin doesn't bother you, by all means book a stay at Curry Village. If, on the other hand, you believe in an attitude of reverence and gratitude at the magnificence of our all too threatened planet, go elsewhere to find peace, tranquility and transcendence...

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Curry Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curry Village

Address: 9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Curry Village 1*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Curry Village is made up of a combination of rooms types. We have Hotel Rooms, Cabins with Private Bathroom, Cabins without Private Bathroom, Heated Tents and Unheated Tents. Our operations are seasonal and include 5 Food and Beverage Outlets in the Peak Season. We are located in the Southeast portion of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Curry Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Village Hotel Yosemite National Park
Curry Village Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.