We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we were happy to be able to stay in the valley!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Curry Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Curry Village to your Saves list
Curry Village
1.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“we were happy to be able to stay in the valley!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent one night in a signature tent cabin last summer. We stayed right before the breaking news of the Hanta virus. We spent our second night at the Yosemite Lodge. The only reason we were in Curry Village was because I could not get two nights at the lodge.
There were pros and cons to our stay.
Pros-staying in the valley was a amazing!!! Our cabin was spotless. The beds were comfortable. Towels and bedding were provided. There was a safe in the cabin. We slept well and even though we were right across from the bathrooms, we didnt find it to be noisy We loved the campfire program at night. We had pizza for lunch and it was both good and reasonably priced. the camp store was well stocked and we purchased a few snacks and souviners. All of the workers were very nice, helpful and welcoming. We rented bikes in Curry village for the entire day and really had a blast using them. The pool was not open, but we were given passes to use the pool at the Lodge, which we did.
Cons-parking was a HUGE issue. This was made worse by the fact we happened to be there on the one day of the year when part of the parking lot is closed for apple picking!! We parked in the bike rental lot and let me tell you that was a longgggg haul with our stuff. We knew that we couldnt check in until 5:00, but it was still a pain. By havng it so late, everyone arrives at the same time and there was a long line. The tent cabins are simply too close together. The bathrooms were always super busy. They needed more, but we managed. I think we paid close to 150.00 for our night......that was way overpriced. Now here is my biggest con and it still makes me angry. Now we checked into the cabin, before the news broke about the first Hanta virus death. However, i have since learned that over the years a few people have died of Hanta virus in the park. I think at check in, it would be prudent for staff to warn guests about precations to take if you see mouse dropping in your cabin. (we never saw any, but that is besides the point) The knowledge is there, but if it is not shared it is useless. We live in the east coast and had never heard of Hanta virus. I have seen plenty of mouse droppings over the years and when I did I never saw them as dangerous. We were warned over and over and over again about the bears, but nothing about the possibility of deadly mouse droppings. I feel that is a HUGE fail on Yosemites part.
We had an AWESOME time in Yosemite and I can't wait to return. However, I will avoid staying overnight in Curry Village.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    676
    420
    151
    151
See reviews for
595
673
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed this weekend in a heated tent cabin. They are made of canvas and the low outside was 24 degrees. The tent heater kept the interior about 50, which was fine for my husband and I, but the tent next door had a child in diapers. She was cold and crying much of the night. The tents are only 3 feet apart, and several campers lost sleep because of her crying.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Camp Curry a couple of days after the Hantavirus outbreak hit the news in 2012. Thankfully the staff took it in their stride and moved us from one of the effected tents to a different area of the camp without any fuss or drama.

The tent we stayed in was adequately equipped and comfortable, although a little pricey compared to the cost of staying in an average hotel elsewhere in California. We opted to have breakfast included, and the spread and choice was great. As stated in the camp rules, most people quieten down at around 10pm and if you need to be social, the lounge area is a great facility (although the WiFi a little congested and slow).

If there are any downsides it would be the constant hassle of having to use a bear box (but live with it - better than bears on camp!) and the toilet/shower blocks are a little basic and rough.

In all Curry Village is a great experience and one that we would recommend without hesitation, even if "camping" isn't really your thing (this isn't really "camping"). Hopefully we'll get the opportunity to return one day.

Yosemite itself is stunning; but that is a whole subject in itself.

Room Tip: No real need to pay for one of the more deluxe tents. Just enjoy the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our stay at Curry Village was as expected -- a canvas tent with three cots. We stayed there for a couple of nights during our ascend to Half-Dome. The trail was only a few feet from our tent. The bathrooms for the most part were constantly cleaned and there was food, shop, internet access at the main gate which is about a 5 minute walk from pour tent.

This place is bare minimum with some electricity mainly for lighting. Apart from AT&T, there is no cell-phone coverage, but you can tap in the wi-fi at the main gate area.

It's a perfect location if you're there to enjoy to beauty of Yosemite and plan to climb/hike. If you're just coming to enjoy the scenery and not expecting to rough it out a little bit, then I would recommend staying at a lodge or hotel nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I went there to spend three nights in May. When the accommodation offered no more and no less than what we were expecting, the noise levels created by young pupils slightly impacted our enjoyment of the place. This said, if we had been going with our family, this would be our place of choice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed in Curry Village in a tent cabin in July 2012. The location is fantastic. It is right in the heart of the valley, walking distance to a couple of food options, lounge, store, etc. You can rent bikes right there and pedal all over the valley. Good times. The tent itself is fine. The beds are okay, safe in the room, a couple of shelves, and not much else. It was a bit dusty but hey, it's a tent. Now let me just say, I love Yosemite, and I really really love Curry Village. The scenery is obviously amazing, and I just really like the atmosphere at Camp Curry. Earlier in the summer, we stayed in Stoneman House with our kids. Pricey for what you get, but we would totally stay there again. No onto the tent area situation...There are so many tents shoved into such a small area, the noise is unbelievable. Truly. Crying babies (bless their little hearts), loud people, party types, you name it. If we had not taken a grand 14 mile hike that day ending in complete exhaustion, I don't think I would have slept much at all. As it was, the noise went late into the night and started up early in the morning. We have also camped in a tent in Upper Pines, and even though that was one of the most crowded campgrounds I have ever stayed in, the noise was very minimal. We will definitely go back to Yosemite, but we will never again stay in a tent cabin!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Almost 30 years between overnight stays at Curry Village and I remember both much more vividly than some of the ***** resorts I've stayed at. The first visit in the early 1980s was with a girlfriend and it was a fun adventure. I may have thought it was upscale at that stage of my life! In the summer of 2012 I returned with two teenage sons -- they stayed in one tent/cabin and the adults stayed at our own next door. The boys loved the adventure -- the sounds at night ("was that a bear being shot?"), the smell of fire-pits, the crackling underfoot. Yeah, my girlfriend (not the same one as in the 1980s) was more turned off by the bathrooms than the rest of us, but it was as 'camping out' as my not-so-camping-out kind of family would be up for. This was a great family adventure...but for those of us who consider roadside motels camping out, it's for the kids more than the grown-ups.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Curry Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curry Village

Address: 9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Curry Village 1*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
+Wednesday August 28, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Curry Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Village Hotel Yosemite National Park
Curry Village Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;