We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of those things you must do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curry Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Curry Village to your Saves list
Curry Village
1.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“One of those things you must do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Let me say that I've been going to Yosemite since I was a baby (yes, an infant) and I love it. However, I am not a huge fan of the valley - it's FAR too crowded and expensive. I prefer to be in Tuolumne Meadows or, even better, backpacking/hiking in the high country where you often go for hours without seeing anyone. All of that being said, sometimes you need a "home base" if you plan do day hikes out of the valley. It's near impossible to get a campground reservation so Curry is a must do sometimes. While we've stayed in the cabins, the Signature tent cabins and the unheated tent cabins, this review is for the heated tent cabin. We were in the park during the height of the Hantivirus outbreak so our Signature cabin was closed. We were given a heated tent cabin instead. I didn't want the heat, I wanted the electrical outlet. The outlet worked fine. We were well informed about the health hazards and we felt safe being there. The cabin was clean enough and the bedding was comfortable. The new shower houses were very nice and the bathrooms were generally clean. Like I said before, I find the valley too crowded but, for the sheer number of people using the facilities at Camp Curry, I think they do a good job.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    736
    446
    158
    155
See reviews for
645
743
81
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked a heated tent. It was a good experience and value for money. Arrival was a bit rough as we checked in early but thought of going to room after dark which took us over an hour to find in dark as numbering is not in proper series, in terms of rows of tents.
Washrooms are accessible by code only, cleanliness was average.
Location is amazing. We were told it's fully booked but it did not seem to be fully booked.
Pizza place had long queues but it was well worth the wait.
Parking was a bit difficult to find
Overall not bad option for budget travel.

Room Tip: Try to get something closer to road so you can find your way back easily at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just got back from 3 nights in Yosemite. Stayed at the Stoneman House in Curry Village. Let me first say the park and the sights are second to none (Yosemite = 5 Stars). Absolutely amazing. I visited Yosemite about 30 years ago and had no appreciation at the time for the truly stunning landscape. Here are some of the good/great things about Yosemite:
1. Views - Arguably some of the best views/ scenery perhaps in the world.
2. Ice Skating - This was a blast and located right next to our room in Stoneman House @ Curry Village.
3. Gift Store @ Curry Village - 75% OFF everything (due to renovation they are clearing out). We got some amazing gifts & souvenirs at blow out deals.
4. Shuttle Bus (to Badger Pass) - This was free (included with park admission of $20). Very nice bus, ran on-time and provided opportunity to enjoy the scenery.
5. Yosemite Village - Very neat area with museum and outdoor interpretive walk. The Yosemite Valley is pretty flat so it is really easy to explore the area.
6. Docent/ Ranger Walks - We did a (free) 90 minute walk with a park ranger/ naturalist. This was informative and offered a good mile or so loop.

NOT SO GOOD:
1. Rates - We paid almost $200/ night for Stoneman House. This facility is worth about $19/ night anywhere else in the United States. I understand Yosemite is not in close proximity to freeways. But this rate is totally without justification. I can only assume DNC is making obscene amounts of money or the National Park/ Dept of Interior is making obscene amounts of money. Somebody is ripping off the end user/ consumer.
2. Heat in Stoneman House - There are 2 options for heat, Sauna or meat locker. This made sleeping really uncomfortable as I was either getting up or down to turn the heater on or off. A thermostat is a novel idea that would also SAVE lots of money (and perhaps provide for lower rates).
Food - Prices, like the room, are way too high. Again, I understand location requires somewhat of a premium BUT 2, 3 or 4x grocery store prices does not make sense. DNC should contract with FedEx if they are unable to offer more reasonable pricing.
Badger Pass - Ran out of rental equipment for most common sizes so I was unable to ski. Signed up kids (8, 7) for a beginner lesson. Too many other kids in the lesson so virtually zero attention per child (except for the 1 kid that could not stand up on skis got 75% of the attention). The beginner/ rope tow hill is way to short and almost flat so it makes it really hard to learn when you are spending more time in line than skiing.
Tubing - I took 1 look at their excuse for a tubing hill and laughed. I thought I was missing something. The run was about 50 yards long. 1 tube at a time. Very gradual, almost flat. This tubing hill is for 2 year old at best.

I hope to get back to Yosemite ASAP. Next time will be spring or summer and will not stay in Stoneman House or any other facility. Camping will hopefully be a more economic option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Been here many times with school field trips or family camping trips. Decent food but nothing to write home about. Fairly priced. Not much of interest in a bland menu but it gets the job done as they say.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My first thought was "what have I done?!". The stay was as promised - rustic. I think it is overpriced at $140 per night. My nephew and I stayed in tent #707. It is located along a fire road. We were able to park in front of the tent on our second night allowing us to easily pack the car in the morning. The beds were reasonably comfortable for a tent setting. The Village was crowded but the noise at night did not keep us from sleep. The bathroom and shower facility was right across the road from our tent. The bathroom and showers were clean. There is a metal storage container outside each tent for food and items that might be attractive to bears. The check-in and check-out process was easy. Would I stay here again? Only if the Park's hotels were booked. Do not stay here if you expect a typical "camping" experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Room : 1/5 – The tent was very basic. Surprisingly, it actually had a safe there. The heater worked very well and even though I didn’t leave the heater running when I was out, I always came back to a warm tent. The tent seemed to trap the heat very well. However, I think that the tent needed a proper hose down because the walls, roof and floor were all dusty. I have to admit I don’t know how feasible that would be since it was just a tent.
Location : 4/5 – It was not smack in the village but it was about a 30 minute scenic walk there. On top of that, the place had 4 shuttle bus stops, 2 each going in the same direction. The place was convenient.
Facilities : 3/5 – It had a lounge where guests could charge their electronic gadgets and use the wifi access there. I was just glad the place wasn’t busy or else it would be impossible to do either. Because it was the off peak season, there was only 1 option for dinner which was the pizza place and it was below average. They also had a store/gift shop where you could get snacks, etc.
Value : 2/5 – The place was cheaper than the others but I guess I got what I paid for. I’m not sure if I’d come back here to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a horrible stay at Camp Curry in August 2012. First of all, I couldn't figure out what all the nostalgia was about. It was an overcrowded camp with ugly old canvas cabins all cramped together. I love camping outdoors but camp curry had the charm of a refugee camp. It was filthy and our second and third night, mice were all over the tent and eating their way through the canvas walls and isolation, so we didn't manage to sleep much because of the noise and fear they would eat through our luggage. Later we found out they were carrying the deadly disease Hantavirus which apparently the staff knew all about and didn't care to warn us about when providing us with mousetraps. Compared to all the supercritical reviews about all our other accomodations during our stay in California I still can't figure out why this level of total lack of comfort, privacy, hygiene and charm is accepted by so many tourists. There are other places to go so why pay so much money for this place ?????? It is more affordable compared to some other hotels but that is the only positive thing about camp curry. It literally has nothing to do with an outdoors experience. There was hardly space to sit in front of your cabin, and the view.....cabins cabins cabins cabins. Anyplace will be better than this. Only positive thing: breakfast. Nice restaurant, food was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curry Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curry Village

Address: 9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Curry Village 1*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
+Wednesday August 28, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Curry Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Village Hotel Yosemite National Park
Curry Village Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.