We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy camping under the full moon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Wolf Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Wolf Lodge
Save
You added White Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Highway 120, White Wolf, Yosemite National Park, CA 95379   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy camping under the full moon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Peaceful oasis up on the Tioga road, about 50 minutes away from the crowds of the valley. Spacious tents on cement platforms, 2 twin cots and one double cot in ours. Linens, blankets and towels are included. The tent cabin also included a folding table, 4 chairs, a bookshelf, a hanging mirror and a lantern. The wood stove is good for chilly evenings, although they supply fire starter and matches, bring fatwood and long matches to get the huge logs going!

We brought sleeping bags and food for lunch; the bear box is right behind the tent. We ate at the lodge for breakfast and dinner, breakfasts were great, dinners varied widely, one member of our group found a steel tack in her steak at one dinner. The manager was shocked too and comped her meal, but no one felt much like eating after that. Ask for the a la carte dinner, less expensive, doesn't include soup or dessert.

We used headlamps in the evening, but we had a full moon to light our way to the restroom at night!

Room Tip: Ask for a tent far from the bathrooms...the doors slam as they close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Any trip to California should include Yosemite and it should include White Wolf lodge. It gets you away from the main crowds. It is fun and safe and friendly, and at the meal times you meet other lodgers, which heightens the experience. Some families stay for several days as it is a good centre for walking and the beautiful lakes in the upper part of the Eastern park entrance.

The food is great and the tent stoves provide real heat- when and if it is necessary. It also allows you to provide your own food and picnic provsions- subject to locking them in the bear safe overnight! The beds are very comfortbale.

Do it!

Jonathan

Perth - Western Australia

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you're expecting any luxury at all do not stay here. I see several reviews from unhappy people because for the price they were expecting something much less rustic. They're tent cabins, not luxurious Safari cabins. Running these camps is quite expensive and the costs are passed on. For me they're worth every penny.

White Wolf is out of the hubbub of Yosemite Valley and the much busier Tuolumne Meadows area. Being remote, there are few services and you're tied to eating in the dining room, which is not cheap. But, once again to me it's worth it. The food is universally good and occasionally excellent, and definitely plentiful.

The hum of the generator is an issue, but not for sleeping, as they turn it off an night. During the day I'm mostly off hiking anyway.

There really should be a little training about how load the wood burning stove and making it last the night. They give you just enough wood to do that, but I think many burn it up too fast and then it's cold in the morning. Usually I'm way more successful after the first night.

I'll say it again: White Wolf is rustic, if that's not your style there's always the Ahwahnee down in the valley.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Enjoyed this high elevation location. Quiet. Friendly staff, beautiful meadow even in a drought year. Bathrooms need work, but generally clean. Everything you need is there, and don't count on phone service. A bit far from Yosemite Valley to make it a base camp as Tioga Rd is windy and people drive fast on the curves. Great hikes and peaceful. Too bad it will be closed 2015 for renovations. But we will return when it reopens.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Rustic but comfortable enough tent cabin for seasoned outdoor oriented traveler. Advise not to use wood burning stove to heat tent cabin - smoke will linger in the cabin for days, better to have few hours of morning chill vs smoky tent/clothes/etc. Bring food/cooler/water, small (very limited-think size of small closet) store kiosk. We ate dinner at Lodge 1st night which is pre-fix menu du jour not only very expensive for quality but something was not right (turkey spoilage/lettuce?) and we both had stomach problems for next 6 days during rest of visit to high country and Yosemite Valley. Other than that recommend a visit for day or two. Staff is great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It's always a pleasure to stay in the High Sierra camps! The proximity of White Wolf to the upper Yosemite hiking trails and other High Sierra camps make it an ideal place to "land" for our first night to acclimate. We love the scenery and peace at the Lodge. The staff are always helpful and friendly, even when contending with phone outages and unreliable internet. Jason and Stephanie at White Wolf Lodge had answers for all our questions, and Donovan and Anna made our dinner experience the best. Thank you, White Wolf, for making access to the beauty of the Yosemite high country so easy!! We've been coming to the Lodge for over twenty years. As we get older, the hikes may sometimes feel a bit more difficult, and hiking the whole loop may be too ambitious, but the High Sierra camps guarantee that we always have options for making our outdoor enjoyment as simple and carefree as possible. We're grateful!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

After booking our trip online, initial check-in was quick and simple and the staff was wonderfully friendly. We only stayed one night in White Wolf, but our stay was a joy! Great service, wonderful meals and accommodations, and nature just outside our tent cabin door, ready to be explored.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Wolf Lodge

Address: Highway 120, White Wolf, Yosemite National Park, CA 95379
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday Aug. 27 - While the fire is not anticipated to reach White Wolf, the National Park Service has evacuated the area as a precaution. White Wolf is closed, including the lodge, campground, road, and trails originating from White Wolf. This area is closed due to smoky conditions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Wolf Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.