We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, ambience, but be prepared” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wawona Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wawona Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wawona Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Historic, ambience, but be prepared”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

i stayed here recently with a school group so won't comment on price or food. I checked reviews here before because I wanted to see if I needed to bring my hairdryer. When I got there, we were told not to plug in hairdryers in the rooms at all as the electrical system was not up to it. In our room in the annex we couldn't even get cell phones to charge (not that we had cell phone service).
I brought earplugs because the wooden building is fairly noisy if someone is walking outside on the porch. There were also lights outside that were left on all night, not sure if this is always the case, but I wish I had brought one of those eye masks.
On the good side, beautiful porch, adirondack chairs, beautiful views, less busy part of the park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    331
    166
    120
    62
See reviews for
195
467
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wawona promised so much yet delivered very little. Being in the midst of one of the world's great parks gives owners the right to charge for the privilege but their prices were borderline extortionate.
$200 a night for a pokey room. OK, I understand the need to retain the character of the place but some effort needs to be made to improve basic of the facilities.
The main buiilding is lovely - lots of history - and we enjoyed dinner on the verandah. No real complaints there - except the prices were a little excessive.
I'm glad we visited but, if there is a next time, we'll be staying out Yosemite!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle of nowhere, Cambridgeshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed three nights in Moore Cottage, which, while a bit cramped, was clean and adequate for the length of stay. Suitcases have to be opened on the bed and then put aside. Bath/shower rooms are outside around the corner and were clean. We thought the rate was over-priced for the room itself, but the location, history and quaintness made it worthwhile. We liked sitting outside the room on the porch at night with a bottle of wine (bought outside the park). We were not bothered at all by people walking the old wooden floors or using the loo. Front desk staff were helpful and accommodating.

We found the dining room rather lacking ambiance, more like a tired cafeteria. (Though at night it did look better.) We had breakfast from the menu one morning. The Eggs Benedict was awful. The muffins appeared to be store-bought, the Hollandaise was gluey and tasteless, the hash browns had a funny taste and smell -- on top of freezer burn -- and were limp. Everything was cold. The next day we had the Continental breakfast (included with the room) that was just okay. The wait staff were pleasant.

After the experience with breakfast, we didn't eat dinner there, especially since the prices are much too high for what we figured would be a mass-produced ready-meal. (Apologies if this isn't actually the case.)

The only problem with skipping meals at Wanona is that there aren't any other options. The hotel is miles from anywhere and the nearest place to get food and drink is the small convenience store with limited, over-pricing selection of junk.

We had drinks (expensive) on the main lodge porch one evening, listening to a fabulous classical guitarist inside. This was pleasant, but there was only one waitress on duty and we had to hunt her down each time for refills. She was, however, sincerely apologetic and friendly. The flowers in the wicker planters were WELL past their prime.

The pool looks like an after-thought and wasn't appealing. It's just a hole in the ground surrounded with a bit of concrete and chain-link fence stuck in the middle of an unkempt lawn.

The photo gallery on the website shows a horse-drawn stagecoach in front of the hotel, but it doesn't actually go there, probably because the drive is packed with so many cars. It is only available for a very short ride on a little path around the nearby Pioneer History Center. (The centre's buildings were closed 5-6 September, but you can still take a ride in the coach.)

We enjoyed walking around the golf course across the road in the early evening watching the deer graze.

I found myself daydreaming about how lovely this historic hotel could be with some attention to detail and TLC, That said, this IS a family resort with lots of hikers, situated in a rustic and wild wilderness. Anything more luxurious could potentially become overkill and out of place. Even so, they could do more to justify the high prices. Best advice: be really glad if you can get a hotel vacancy in the park at all, go with the flow, and bring in your own food and drink.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Wawona Inn back in the early 1980s and loved that is historic and so much more personal than the larger, more modern hotel in the main part of the Yosemite Valley.
True, most rooms have a shared dorm like bath, but we did not mind this then, nor when we traveled there again with our teenaged kids a few years ago. My only complaint on our later visit was the fact that the days were much hotter this time and the rooms seemed somewhat warm and stuffy. We had to keep the windows almost closed and the curtains completely drawn because the outer halls are lit at night for people walking to the bathrooms (at all hours- I suppose- not my problem). The porch and lawn are a lovely place to sit before dinner to enjoy a cocktail or glass of wine and while the restaurant is pricey....it is THERE! - no driving needed and after a day in the park, on winding roads, our family was happy to settle in. Now, my oldest son has graduated college and he wants to revisit Yosemite. His choice for lodging (despite its age and lack of amenities)- Wawona of course. The beauty and serenity of the setting outweigh all the negatives in my book.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room on the end of the lodge away from the dining room. The upper and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent three nights at the Wanona in October, 2012, and found it to be very comfortable, if somewhat outdated. As others have said, there is no wifi in the rooms but it was a short walk to the annex to use the wifi. Our room was simple and clean, the heat was not a problem as it was for other reviewers. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast very much and the dinners were good, but expensive, although probably less expensive than at some of the restaurants in the Valley. We did try to eat early so we could avoid a long wait. We did not know how far it was from the Wanona Hotel to Yosemite Valley and the drive is a bit scary, so we would try to stay in the Valley the next time, even if it is more expensive. The Wanona is very close to the Mariposa Grove with the Sequoias, though. We enjoyed the evening gathering around the piano--it was a reminder of how people spent their time before the days of TV and computers. There are lovely hiking trails around the hotel. We would stay here again but maybe just for one night instead of three and that's just because we'd like to spend more time in Yosemite Valley.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a room without bath in the cabins around the main house. It was very nice and the room was clean. We made contact to other visiters who where sitting around on the terrace.

It was a advanture to get to the bathroom outside the house at night. I could be too coult in winter time. You can have your own bathrooms in the main building.

We were a little bit surprised in the morning when we entered the nice breakfast room because of the plastik plates and cutlerys they provided for guest. Nethertheless the breakfast was great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife an I stayed at Yosemite in dec, 2009 and we choosed the Wawona Hotel by web and friends references. Well, the Wawona is one of the best hotels I ever saw: vintage and cute room with own bath, awesome breakfast (you must taste the chocolate, it's just delicious!), kindly staff, good pianist, nice christmas decoration... The hotel it's located at the beggining of the park, just 30 minutes away from the base of the Upper Fall, I guess. And the hotel staff brings us all the tips about the Yosemite and Mariposa Grove parks.
We will return at Wawona asap!

Room Tip: Don't forget the car chains in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wawona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawona Hotel

Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wawona Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Wawona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wawona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.