We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde Worlde” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wawona Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wawona Hotel to your Saves list
Wawona Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Olde Worlde”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and two 7 year old kids. As you pull up it feels very serene and like stepping back in time. The room we had was small and basic but comfortable, clean ad quiet. The radiators seem to be permanently on, so even though it's cold outside, you'll be warm - to be honest, too warm.

We had a small sink in our room which was adequate for the one night we stayed but the toilets were shared and away from our room which was not ideal, but not a major problem.

We had a meal in the dining room, treated by the people we were with, but certainly would not have done on our own - prices are high! That said though, the meatloaf was the best I've ever had and big in size.

Breakfast was good and plenty of choice, but I did find the guy whistling the US Anthem odd. I don't mean to be disrespectful, but I'm English and I've never seen or heard anything like this anywhere else in the world.

Overall, it was a pleasant experience - not really what you'd expect from a hotel in this day and age, but it seems the olde worlde charm is what they're aiming for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    435
    192
    128
    63
See reviews for
258
619
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Charming appearance, glorious setting, but ..........not quite what you might expect. Verandah, setting and shuttle to Y. Valley all good. Sound insulation and therefore sleep quality really poor. Because the buildings have wide verandahs upstairs and down, anyone walking around the building creates a lot of noise, so the early risers wake up everyone. Definitely take your ear plugs. Be prepared for ancient bathrooms - ours had tiny sink but huge bath with one of those shower curtains that stick to you while you wash. Request a hairdryer before you need it as they are kept at reception and its a long way to run over and pick one up in your jammies. Definitely a "character building" experience!

Room Tip: Choose one of the smaller buildings where you have fewer neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here a year ago. The location is beautiful. The rooms are small and you have to go downstairs to the communal showers and restrooms. That was weird but part of the experience. I felt like we went back in time to a very elegant hotel. The food and service was excellent. I would love to go again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWANSEA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in double room with bath in main building. Hotel looks wonderful with period details but room was small and bathroom tiny. There were no plugs for the cracked hand basin or the bath. I had to ask reception for these items. The wc was newish but the rest of the bathroom needed upgrading. The wc was also positioned next to a locked door l leading to the adjacent room and the soundproofing was not great. The dining room was interesting and the evening meals were more than ample but the included continental breakfast was meagre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Pros: Great location, decent buffet breakfast and we really liked sitting out on the porch in the evening.

Cons: The walls of our room were very thin and had locked door to an adjoining room. We might as well have been sharing a room with someone else. The food in the evening wasn't very good and totally overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Staff is very friendly and it seemed to us that most of them were working there for years if not decades. Rooms are very simple but clean. WC and shower is for most of the rooms outside and have to be shared. But you are somewhere outside in the nowhere, so you should not expect to much comfort (when it is cold and you need to go for a shower and then run all the way back to your room. Our room was in the 2nd floor and the bathroom was on the 1st :). Prices are high for what you get, but that's how it is in Yosemite; a lot of people do want to visit so the hotels do not have problems to fill there rooms; plus they need to bring all the food and staff out to the woods.

The landscape and nature in the Park is just amazing and the hotel makes you feel like you are on an adventure; just with the comfort of a warm shower a clean room and a decent restaurant when you are hungry.

Tom Bopp is playing everyday piano next to the fireplace in the lobby - a great experience!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are good enough, you don't get that much more comfort for the money you pay in ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Yes, you are stepping back 100 years, so set you expectations accordingly, and you will enjoy your stay. The hotel lacks modern conveniences: no TV, no phone; but this is offset by the charm. The location is nice if you want to be away from the busy Yosemite Valley.

We stayed for 2 nights (Oct 7-8, 2012) in Room W0208 in the Main Building. The room is nicely furnished, but is a bit cramped; hardly any place to hang things up. The floor boards and furniture creak, but this is part of the charm. The room does not have a private bathroom; guests on this floor share facilities. Beware, you must walk along an outdoor balcony to reach the bathrooms, so be prepared if the weather gets cool at night. Heavy robes are provided.

The lobby, sitting areas, and restaurant are beautiful. Breakfast is included in the room rate, dinners are good, reasonably priced, but the offerings a bit bland. The staff was wonderful in making our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wawona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawona Hotel

Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wawona Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wawona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wawona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.