We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House keeping 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Housekeeping Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Housekeeping Camp to your Saves list
Housekeeping Camp
1.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   9005 Southside Dr., Yosemite Valley, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“House keeping 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

If you tent camp then this is for you. The space is more private. Some sites real close to the merced river. Any needed ammenties are within walking distance. Showers very clean, restrooms above average clean. Free shuttle around valley. All that and your in yosemite. Rent bikes, kayaks. Bone up a little as some of the hikes are strenuous. Bring good binoculars to watch the mountaineering folks climb el capitain. Going again in late Spring as there will more water in the falls. Side note...... very few bugs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    205
    72
    27
    19
See reviews for
272
132
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Beautiful Island of Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Only having spent one night here and it being my first experience of 'camping' in North America, I can only compare to the many European campsites I have stayed at.
Firstly, Yosemite is an absolutely stunning place and I cannot think of anywhere better to be under canvas.
Staff at check-in were curteous and thorough.
We easily found our 'tent'; which is actually concrete walls on three sides and a canvas front, with a walled in seating area and a fire-pit.
The tents have a double bed and bunk beds with a metal shelving unit and a pole for hanging clothes from; as well as a fixed electric light inside and out, and socket for charging etc.
Also there is a picnic bench and bear-proof food locker (which MUST be used to store all items of food, drink and toiletries to prevent nosey bears from entering your tent area or car! We also placed everything into airtight Ziploc bags)
Toilet blocks were clean and close by, however the single shower block did get busy very early on.
In comparison to European sites costing a similar amount for fixed camping, this is very far behind on the standard of equipment and services provided; which are basic.
You do get the feeling that because they have the monopoly on this area it is very much take it or leave it. I am aware that being a national park they wish to keep it as untouched as possible, but it is expensive for what's provided.
That said, the setting is fabulous; tranquil and beautiful. Also met several interesting people on our short stay as we star gazed on the bridge. Fortunately, no bears.

Note:
One thing which was surprising was that with all the ongoing concern about the Hansa virus outbreak including being handed out information leaflets on arrival, the tents themselves were not clean at all. All surfaces were covered in dirt and dust an appeared not to have been wiped down for some time.

Room Tip: Get one next to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This "camp" site has a great location just outside of Curry Village in Yosemite National Park. The "tents" have three concrete sides and a canvas side which slides open.

Remember that it is camping, so mice, ringtails and other creatures can easily get into your tent in the night, knock your bags over and wake you up. Individual bear lockers (not mice proof - take hard plastic containers to keep food in - mice can eat through plastic bags and cardboard) are very close which makes preparing food convenient. The wood fire pit with grill makes for a great evening.

Each tent by the river is positioned carefully so when you're sat in your own deck area the view is of trees and river only. By necessity, the ones within the main camp ground cannot offer this luxury so you would feel more like you are camping with lots of people.

This is a dry area and the dust gets everywhere, every day. I recommend bringing an old cloth to wide down the chairs and tables each day. Unless of course you enjoy grit in your food.

There is one shower block, centrally located so it's quite a walk, if you're north American you might drive. The showers have unlimited hot water and clean, fresh, slightly threadbare towels whenever you want. Your shower pass also gets you entry to a pool in Curry Village.

The laundry facility is great. $1.25 to wash with plenty of washers and driers. The store is OK for snacks but not for buying food for dinner. The free local shuttle takes you in to Curry Village to the main store which is well stocked with proper food (meat, salad, fruit, vegetables, dairy) as well as all the usual junk.

There is a small beach alongside the river and plenty of wildlife if you are quiet for long enough. We saw squirrels, mice, ring tails, mule deer and a coyote.

Tents are not sound proof so if you happen to be with a few hundred metres of a small child you will be away whenever they are. In our experience, they don't stay long. Camping is quite hard work for parents with young children.

Toilets and wash basins are located repeatedly throughout the site so you're never far away if you need to go in the night. The tents have electricity supplied so you can charge your electrical devices. There are lights too. Bring a torch (flashlight) for night time expeditions and identifying critters.

Yes it's expensive for camping. Just remember you are in Yosemite National Park and enjoy every moment.

Room Tip: I recommend paying extra for the tents by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We typically trailer camp but we decided to spend the night on the valley floor.

Housekeeping camp is barebones accommodations and not peaceful at all... The proximity of others is downright cramped. The facilities are more than basic. And the parking is limited.

Tip, bring bikes. Leave you car at camp and see the whole valley by bike.
Tip, bring inner tubes or rafts for the river.

I prefer the campgrounds off the valley floor and a trailer or tent. It's more peaceful and nature filled.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from 2 days in Yosemite where we stayed at housekeeping camp. I have camped before and not unused to roughing it a bit but I really think that this was a disappointment. The place was quite dirty and didn't look at all like the pictures. The blankets had holes and the sheets had stains- bring your own if that is an option. The showers were good (powerful and hot) and I didn't queue. There is a shop onsite but no restaurant or bar and you should carry a torch with you at all times in case you are delayed back as there are no street lights in Yosemite. Other things that would be helpful would be chairs that would mean you could sit around the fire. There are picnic benches with every accommodation but they are anchored to the ground and not close to the fire, if you lit one. It is expensive for what you get but then so is everything in Yosemite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here in June and found the Yosemite area absolutely beautiful. This campsite however was not good and way overpriced!

The tents we stayed in were canvas and concrete and were very open and quite dirty. The toilets were not the cleanest but the showers were hot and did the job.

Overall Yosemite is beautiful but feel this campsite is ripping off people with how much they charge and for what you get. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was suprised how much I really enjoyed camping at this site since I'm more of primitive type camper. I was a skeptic at first but quickly fell in love with this location. Each campsite comes with a hut style tent which contains a full size bed, bunk beds, and one cot, a picnic table, fire ring, and a double food locker. You must lock up your food due to bears but we had no issues and the staff does a great job keeping the property safe. Each unit has a light in the hut and on the patio so there is no need to worry about lanterns. There is electricity so you can use an electric skillet or hot plate instead of propane. You can also rent many items directly at a very good price so it saves you having to travel with excess equipment. The campsite is surrounded by the river so its great to spend your day beachside and let the kids have fun. Yosemite is beautiful and has a trolly sytem disigned to take visitors to various hiking trails, waterfalls, and multiple villages; we spent one evening out in the Village for Pizza instead of cooking. Our family loved our time there and would definitely visit again and stay at Houskeeping Camp.

Room Tip: This property offers units along the River and tend to be larger spaces and offer more open space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.0 mi away
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 2,685 reviews
14.7 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,471 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ahwahnee
The Ahwahnee
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Curry Village
Curry Village
#6 of 26 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Housekeeping Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housekeeping Camp

Address: 9005 Southside Dr., Yosemite Valley, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Housekeeping Camp 1.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 - With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Housekeeping Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Housekeeping Camp Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Housekeeping Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.