We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in the wild” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Housekeeping Camp

Save Saved
You added Housekeeping Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Housekeeping Camp
1.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   9005 Southside Dr., Yosemite Valley, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Living in the wild”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This "camp" site has a great location just outside of Curry Village in Yosemite National Park. The "tents" have three concrete sides and a canvas side which slides open.

Remember that it is camping, so mice, ringtails and other creatures can easily get into your tent in the night, knock your bags over and wake you up. Individual bear lockers (not mice proof - take hard plastic containers to keep food in - mice can eat through plastic bags and cardboard) are very close which makes preparing food convenient. The wood fire pit with grill makes for a great evening.

Each tent by the river is positioned carefully so when you're sat in your own deck area the view is of trees and river only. By necessity, the ones within the main camp ground cannot offer this luxury so you would feel more like you are camping with lots of people.

This is a dry area and the dust gets everywhere, every day. I recommend bringing an old cloth to wide down the chairs and tables each day. Unless of course you enjoy grit in your food.

There is one shower block, centrally located so it's quite a walk, if you're north American you might drive. The showers have unlimited hot water and clean, fresh, slightly threadbare towels whenever you want. Your shower pass also gets you entry to a pool in Curry Village.

The laundry facility is great. $1.25 to wash with plenty of washers and driers. The store is OK for snacks but not for buying food for dinner. The free local shuttle takes you in to Curry Village to the main store which is well stocked with proper food (meat, salad, fruit, vegetables, dairy) as well as all the usual junk.

There is a small beach alongside the river and plenty of wildlife if you are quiet for long enough. We saw squirrels, mice, ring tails, mule deer and a coyote.

Tents are not sound proof so if you happen to be with a few hundred metres of a small child you will be away whenever they are. In our experience, they don't stay long. Camping is quite hard work for parents with young children.

Toilets and wash basins are located repeatedly throughout the site so you're never far away if you need to go in the night. The tents have electricity supplied so you can charge your electrical devices. There are lights too. Bring a torch (flashlight) for night time expeditions and identifying critters.

Yes it's expensive for camping. Just remember you are in Yosemite National Park and enjoy every moment.

Room Tip: I recommend paying extra for the tents by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    106
    55
    19
    14
See reviews for
118
88
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We typically trailer camp but we decided to spend the night on the valley floor.

Housekeeping camp is barebones accommodations and not peaceful at all... The proximity of others is downright cramped. The facilities are more than basic. And the parking is limited.

Tip, bring bikes. Leave you car at camp and see the whole valley by bike.
Tip, bring inner tubes or rafts for the river.

I prefer the campgrounds off the valley floor and a trailer or tent. It's more peaceful and nature filled.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from 2 days in Yosemite where we stayed at housekeeping camp. I have camped before and not unused to roughing it a bit but I really think that this was a disappointment. The place was quite dirty and didn't look at all like the pictures. The blankets had holes and the sheets had stains- bring your own if that is an option. The showers were good (powerful and hot) and I didn't queue. There is a shop onsite but no restaurant or bar and you should carry a torch with you at all times in case you are delayed back as there are no street lights in Yosemite. Other things that would be helpful would be chairs that would mean you could sit around the fire. There are picnic benches with every accommodation but they are anchored to the ground and not close to the fire, if you lit one. It is expensive for what you get but then so is everything in Yosemite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here in June and found the Yosemite area absolutely beautiful. This campsite however was not good and way overpriced!

The tents we stayed in were canvas and concrete and were very open and quite dirty. The toilets were not the cleanest but the showers were hot and did the job.

Overall Yosemite is beautiful but feel this campsite is ripping off people with how much they charge and for what you get. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was suprised how much I really enjoyed camping at this site since I'm more of primitive type camper. I was a skeptic at first but quickly fell in love with this location. Each campsite comes with a hut style tent which contains a full size bed, bunk beds, and one cot, a picnic table, fire ring, and a double food locker. You must lock up your food due to bears but we had no issues and the staff does a great job keeping the property safe. Each unit has a light in the hut and on the patio so there is no need to worry about lanterns. There is electricity so you can use an electric skillet or hot plate instead of propane. You can also rent many items directly at a very good price so it saves you having to travel with excess equipment. The campsite is surrounded by the river so its great to spend your day beachside and let the kids have fun. Yosemite is beautiful and has a trolly sytem disigned to take visitors to various hiking trails, waterfalls, and multiple villages; we spent one evening out in the Village for Pizza instead of cooking. Our family loved our time there and would definitely visit again and stay at Houskeeping Camp.

Room Tip: This property offers units along the River and tend to be larger spaces and offer more open space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was my first camping trip ever. I'm (or was) the boutique hotel with en-suite only type, but as we were visiting with friends who were hard core campers and my husband who loves outdoors, I relented and agreed to book to stay at Housekeeping Camp. (Imagine Bear Grylls and Monica from Friends). After all how bad could it be? I did however book a big enough car to sleep in as back up! BUT I have to say, having stayed for two nights at this place, I am a complete CONVERT to camping. We had the best time in Housekeeping. Yes, it's dusty (since when did a bit of dust hurt?) and yes, you have to share communal showers (no diff to using them at the gym), but the view was AWESOME and just truly stunning. We had accommodation numbers 507/508, which were river facing, with views of Half Dome and other rock faces (I think El Capitan). Seriously the phrase, View To Die For - totally fitting and appropriate. There is a fire pit for every unit, so every evening was BBQ by the fire with the best open view of Yosemite, just totally amazing. (If Carlsberg did camping views...you get the idea).

The units do not have doors, they have canvas covers which pull across. I did think this was totally inadequate at first (what about all our valuables?? or what about bears?) but you rely on camping etiquette, and we didn't have any problems with dodgy humans or hungry bears. Unit 507/508 had good comfortable clean mattresses which looked new, as did the bedframes. The walls looked newly painted too, so if you're looking for a good unit, I'd highly recommend these two. Do come prepared with all your camping equipment, if you're visting from overseas like we were, hit Walmart (other value supermarkets are available I'm sure) and buy all cheap camping cooking utensils and bedding ($2 for a nice new pillow!). You can hire gas cookers from the site, and there are electrical outlets in the outdoor eating area and in the sleeping area. Lots of reasonably priced everyday products in their shop on site by the reception, with even hot coffee available first thing in the morning. Overnight in May was cold, so you needed winter thickness sleeping bags. Headtorches recommended as open spaces from units to say the toilet block are unlit at night.

Now onto the bears - not sure whether it's right to say disappointly but we disappointly did not see any (surely not all bears are grizzly??! some look cute right?!) The wardens, who do a walkaround the units at night at about 10pm to make sure everyone has quieten down, assured us they do come through camp at night but the bears understand there are 'human' areas so will stay at a safe distance, BUT only if you lock EVERYTHING in the bear lockers outside each unit. When I say everything, I mean everything that could possibly have a scent, so all toiletries, medicine, suncream lotion, down to lip balm have to be stored away as well as every bit of food and drink. Even chewing gum and empty food wrappers/bottles have to removed from your vehicle as bears have stronger noses than bloodhounds (according to the constant replay intro video in reception) - so you've been warned (unless you want to share a room with a bear of course).

The other campers were all really friendly, the river seemed kid friendly, our friend's kids aged 7 and 4 played in the river (which was refridgerator cold despite the hot days) without any issues. There was a lovely bridge to the left of our unit which had a perfect view of higher Yosemite Falls.(yep another photo opportunity view, prepare to obliterate your memory card).

For things to do, you can hire bikes, or travel around using the free buses. Once you're parked up at the camp (parking only a short distance away from the units), you should really leave the car, you see so much more without it. We actually found walking around was the quickest, as opposed to waiting for a bus, which got full quite quick and were generally a five min wait. (also increases your chance to spot a bear!) We did a guided bus tour around the floor of the valley, a little expensive (as all landmark tours are) but very worthwhile.

I would say this was the highlight of our trip, we did a road trip of California, and I would not hesitate to go back - the view as you come out of the tunnel and into the valley, all I can say is get the camera ready! Go, stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Housekkeping camp is one of the best locations to stay while visiting Yosemite. It is central to all the magnificent views and close to the river. Kids love it. Visitors should know to bring bedding, cooking utensils, and other camping gear. Basically, there is a tent, with a concrete floor, and 2 electric outlets. People who come prepared will return year after year. Those who do not, may noyt enjoy their trip.

Room Tip: Unit 507 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Housekeeping Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housekeeping Camp

Address: 9005 Southside Dr., Yosemite Valley, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Housekeeping Camp 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 - With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Housekeeping Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Housekeeping Camp Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Housekeeping Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.