We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crane Flat Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crane Flat Campground
Save Saved
You added Crane Flat Campground to your Saves list
Big Oak Flat and Tioga roads, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
az
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We camped at Crane Flat Campground Sept. 2012 in a 40 ft motor home. There is limited camping spots in any of the Yosemite campgrounds for a 40 ft motor home. We hiked Half Dome and wanted to be in the Valley for easy access; however, so did everyone else. We did reserve site 215 at Crane Flat that fit our rig very nicely. Be careful it's tricky getting to the site but not impossible. Level site, horizontal to road. There was a Ranger talk one night about bears that was interesting. It is about 20 to 30 minutes to/from Yosemite Valley. We did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Site 215 fits up to a 40ft motorhome nicely. It is interior site but lot of area between other sites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What to expect from Crane Flat will depend on who you are and what you want to do.

PROS: Relatively quiet; drinkable water; bathrooms with flush toilets; nearby gas station and grocery store; close to the Groveland entrance if you're coming that way (though not as close as Hodgdon Meadow); closest campground to Tioga Road without staying ON Tioga Road; mix of tent and RV sites; very quiet during the day if you choose to stay in camp

PRO or CON depending on you: 30 minute drive from Yosemite Valley (meaning you may have to get going earlier in the morning to park in the Valley, and leave the Valley late afternoon if you want to get back and cook before dark); no activities, especially for kids (no swimming, bike rental, etc.); no nearby dining (as in Tuolumne Meadows, White Wolf, Valley campgrounds); some wildlife wandering through (yes, including bears); mix of sites from large to small, mostly flat to very sloped

CONS: No showers or hot water (nearest are in Yosemite Valley); bathrooms not lit; somewhat dusty; high elevation (6100 feet) can take a couple days to adjust to, and is colder at night than the Valley; must drive to all major scenic attractions, trailheads for hiking, etc. (ONLY bus service is YARTS, once a day to the Valley and once back); only open July to October

A good choice if you cannot (or choose not to) get a site in the Valley, and still want to camp inside the park without pit toilets and boiling your own water. Just be aware of the limitations.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We chose camping in Yosemite because the price of hotels was excessive. I'm very glad we chose camping at Crane Flat. Although it wasn't the best camping I've ever done (it's pretty dusty and lacks shower/dishwashing areas), this was a great option to save some money and still be close to the action! It's about 20-30 minutes away from the Valley floor. When you go to Yosemite, make sure to go to Glacier Point Rd., our favorite part of Yosemite!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

It's about a 15 minute drive from Yosemite Valley but it is way better because Camp 4 is campletly packed! You have tons of room here and plenty of privacy. I highly recommend this camp ground but it closes mid October

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Campground is nice but little too dusty and without electricity, hot water or showers. It is 45min away from Yosemite valley which is great as you avoid the crowds and you can make a reservation even on short notice.

Room Tip: Check the campground map of sites and book the site close to bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We came in from Tioga pass in the late afternoon and wanted to be near to the valley for visiting the next day. Crane Flat was perfect for visiting both areas of the park. Since we came in late and set up camp in the dark and left the next morning we didn't spend much time at the campground. But I will agree with the other reviews that finding a flat spot for our tent at site #418 was a challenge. The drop from the main road to our picnic table and food locker was long and steep. While there are plenty of trees and shade, our neighbors were actually not too far away from us with no trees blocking either side. This wasn't the best national park campground I've used, and if I visit Yosemite again I'm not sure I'd use this one again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If like me you missed out on the popular campsites, this is a great backup

Good sized pitches, quiet, only 20mins from the valley floor

Clean toilets, no showers though

Gas Station & Store around the corner

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crane Flat Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crane Flat Campground

Address: Big Oak Flat and Tioga roads, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Specialty lodging in Yosemite National Park
Also Known As:
Crane Flat Campground Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crane Flat Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.