We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic campground” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crane Flat Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crane Flat Campground
Save
You added Crane Flat Campground to your Saves list
Big Oak Flat and Tioga roads, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rustic campground”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Campground is nice but little too dusty and without electricity, hot water or showers. It is 45min away from Yosemite valley which is great as you avoid the crowds and you can make a reservation even on short notice.

Room Tip: Check the campground map of sites and book the site close to bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We came in from Tioga pass in the late afternoon and wanted to be near to the valley for visiting the next day. Crane Flat was perfect for visiting both areas of the park. Since we came in late and set up camp in the dark and left the next morning we didn't spend much time at the campground. But I will agree with the other reviews that finding a flat spot for our tent at site #418 was a challenge. The drop from the main road to our picnic table and food locker was long and steep. While there are plenty of trees and shade, our neighbors were actually not too far away from us with no trees blocking either side. This wasn't the best national park campground I've used, and if I visit Yosemite again I'm not sure I'd use this one again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If like me you missed out on the popular campsites, this is a great backup

Good sized pitches, quiet, only 20mins from the valley floor

Clean toilets, no showers though

Gas Station & Store around the corner

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Camping in Yosemite is a matter of tradeoffs. You can be near the Valley and in the middle of crowds, way up in the wild with few facilities or in the middle and that's Crane Flat. You'll be just down the street from one of three gas stations in the park and an attached store [hours are 9-5 daily] which is great since you'll be driving 25 minutes to the Valley, 35 to Tuolomne Meadow, 50 to Glacier Point, or 60 to Wawona.

There's 4 or 5 loops each with several dozen camp grounds so not overly crowded although it does fill up and sites can be close together. Noise becomes an issue based on the neighbors... we had some who were too loud but for the most part the place was near silent. Save the sound of campfires of course.

In terms of facilities again it's somewhere in the middle of options as far as campgrounds go... You get restrooms with real sinks, potable water but no lights, showers or dining. For those you have to head down to Curry Village / the valley.

And remember, you're in Yosemite. The goal is to get out and enjoy... not sit at your camp site all day.

Room Tip: Look at the map closely before you pick a site and try for corners and sites that may have more room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Here's the Pros and Cons of Crane Flat Campground:

Pros:
1. It is not in the Valley, which is full of vehicles and RVs and crowd. It is relatively peaceful and we did not hear any RV generators during our three nights of stay there.
2. Lots of trees for shade.
3. There is a gas station and general store (with firewood, groceries and etc.) just outside the campground.

Cons:
1. Pick carefully the site you reserve. Crane Flat is a misnomer. Most of the sites there are on a slope. We lucked out and had reserved a site (site 516) that is actually roomy and flat. Site 512 and 514 is similarly flat and roomy. I think 514 is the best (we noticed they had shade almost all day). I believe 512 is the biggest. Site 108 and 110 seem the best (flat with shade) in the 100s loop.
2. At least when we were there, the bathrooms were pretty dirty. Camp host never cleaned it seems.
3. A lack of enforcement of the quiet hours. On the first night we were there, there was a group that partied late and was generally a nuisance (we heard smashing of plates and things). It kept us up.

The last point I suppose is about luck. Lousy neighbors = lousy times. Luckily for us, they either left or became more considerate the following nights. We had a great time, but beware the lousy, slopy sites.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We are regular campers in National Parks and State Parks and this was the worst site we had ever pitched our tents on. We spent 4 nights on site #526, which happens to be on a slope. It not only makes it very difficult to pitch your tent but we had to be extra careful to walk between the tent and our car, especially at night. If you cannot move around in your camp that takes the fun away. We saw several other sites on a slope, so inquire before you make a reservation. The site was extremely dusty too - a mini dust cloud was created each time you take a step. There is no light in the restroom and no soap at the sinks - something we have not encountered before in other NP campgrounds. Almost all the sites have very good shade and the 500 loop is very quiet. The location of the campground is nice with quick access to the Tioga road and about a half hour's drive to the valley.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This campground is about a 20 min drive to valley, which was ok as we were doing different hikes each day. But only negatives were if you want to eat in valley or take a shower you would have to drive. Other than that....I have never slept so good as here...no lights at all in bathrooms or around camp which made it so peaceful, at 9:30 pm each night it was so dark and quiet. We had campsite 518 best one, right on meadow and our neighbors were far away, very private, and he bathroom was just across the road great for a group of women! Bathroom had 3 stalls for a lot of campsites...running water,flush toilets which is a level 2 bathroom for us. Crane Flat gas station and store is across road, gas was 4.61 at this date, basic stuff in store, no hot food items.
Tuolumne tree area across from store did not have a chance to go there. Tioga Pass right there, got to Tuolumne Meadows quickly which has more food options as well, White Wolf has a small restuarant, so does Tuolumne Lodge both expensive. But the best is Tuolumne Grill, great food, and ice cream and crowd of hikers, loved it.
Back to campground 6 people per site, bear locker fits two ice chests and rest of your stuff. Put fire out before bed, you can gather dead wood around campsite and buy wood at store for 8.75. Dogs allowed here, saw quite a few. Also we saw no I repeat no animals at our campground,no bears, sqirrels, or dear, was disapointing. We did see a mama bear and her cubs on way down 4 mile trail and dear throughout park.
Parking for 2 or more cars on road in front of site, good.
Have fun!

Room Tip: Try to get campsites on meadow like 504 to 525! Best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
9.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
11.0 mi away
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 2,693 reviews
16.6 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Ahwahnee
The Ahwahnee
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,777 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
12.5 mi away
Curry Village
Curry Village
#5 of 26 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crane Flat Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crane Flat Campground

Address: Big Oak Flat and Tioga roads, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 166
Also Known As:
Crane Flat Campground Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crane Flat Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.