We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ahwahnee Bar

Ahwahnee Bar
9005 Ahwahnee Dr, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
+1 (0) 209 372 1489
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Reservations
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stopped in to the Ahwahnee bar for lunch. Not as upscale as the dining room, but the food was very good. The soup of the day was split pea with ham. This was awesome and had big chunks of real ham while being very flavorful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    88
    51
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
154 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Sneak a peak with a predinner drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were staying at Lodge at Yosemite Falls but walked here for a pre dinner drink - wow amazing hotel & grounds - you have to dress up here. I felt a bit casual & was sitting outside having a beer with hubby. Staff very friendly and efficient. Beautiful sunny evening with Samuel Adams and fab scenery - perfect with our wedding anniversary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Pricey and average tasting food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

So if you are staying in the Ahwanhee and don't want to or can't eat in the main dining area this is your only other choice. The bar has a very limited menu for food choices.
My wife had a chicken mushroom soup that was good but the Cesar salad was one of the worst she has ever had. It was very fishy in taste. I had the pulled pork sandwich which was just average.
We were served quickly and the staff was pleasant.
The bill was $38 and this was with the above food and water as our only beverage before adding a tip.
We will not be eating there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
252 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We wanted to see this hotel since it looked so nice on a National Parks documentary. The hotel has some nice grand rooms, but it was less impressive than we thought it would be. We stopped for lunch in the bar as it has an outside eating area and it was a beautiful day. The menu was a little pricey. We had a Waldorff salad and a chili dog with soft drinks for $37.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great view on outdoor patio; just don't eat here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a simple, casual lunch for four, each of us ordering the Korean pork tacos, plus some hummus. The food was mediocre; fatty and unappealing. Service was lame. Yet, the bill was almost $100. The outdoor patio was filled, so we had to eat indoors. There was a squirrel running around indoors, literally climbing up on the tables, and no one seemed to care. There was absolutely no attempt to get the squirrel out of the dining room, or keep the door closed to keep him out. The squirrel looked a lot like a rat with a bushy tail. Looking around carefully, the dining room was filthy. I can only imagine the kitchen. I doubt this place would meet the health codes of most cities. Do National Park Concessions even have a health department that monitors them? Then, I remembered the people who died last year from the Hanta virus that comes from mice excrement ... in nearby Curry Village, which is run by the same concessionaire. We finished our meal, but wouldn't eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahwahnee Bar also viewed

 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Ahwahnee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahwahnee Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.