We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

In Yosemite, 1 bedroom rental near Badger Pass ski

Outer deck and front entry
Outer deck and front entry
Outer deck and front entry
The Jumping Deer One Bedroom Apartment, just remodeled
Remodeled Kitchen with new countertops, fixtures, and sink
New flooring in living room, kitchen and bath
Your apartment in the Yosemite snow surrounded by pines
Yosemite National Park
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MCB_2009
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great home away from home in Yosemite West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This was our second visit to beautiful Yosemite. Last year we stayed in a Loft condo (managed by Scenic Wonders) but since we booked almost 12 months in advance this time, we had more options to choose from.

The Jumping Deer is a good sized apartment on the ground floor of a building (Pine Arbor) in Yosemite West (inside park boundaries). We loved having a full sized kitchen and enjoyed the BBQ on the veranda one night. Bed was comfortable. There was coffee, filters, salt, pepper and other cooking condiments. We also liked all the modern touches such as LCD TV, modern kitchen bench/sink and new vanity in bathroom.

It was great to unwind in the comforts of our ‘own home’ after hiking and the location is just ideal.

We will definitely return to our favourite National Park and stay at the Jumping Deer again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2012
Thank you so much for you review. We are always gratified when someone enjoys our vacation home. We love Yosemite and are happy to share it with others through our rental. We are glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RosebudRo...
Livermore, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Location to Yosemite's Valley Floor and Glacier Point.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

As a family of four, we decided to take a 3-day weekend and spend it in one of the most beautiful places on earth. I used Trip Advisor to help locate this place, and reviews from TA as well as other websites convinced me that it was a great place to stay. Conveniently located within the Park and less than 20-25 minutes from everything we wanted to see, it boasted a newly remodeled kitchen and new carpet and flooring, so we felt great about our selection.
We arrived after dark and were able to get the key from the office, though the office was closed. We found an envelope with our name on it and the key and directions/map inside, taped to the office door. Don't rely on your GPS to get you to the front door, and I would recommend having the owner or property manager email the map in advance because finding it in the dark was a little challenging. But we found the place, and didn't realize there were 63 steps to go down to get to the rental entry. It is located on the backside of the building, on the bottom floor, and the stairs have solar lighting, which barely works for an hour after sundown because of the tree canopy surrounding the property. So, make sure you have a working flashlight and anticipate stairs.
Upon first impression, the rental was exactly what we had hoped for -- a one-bedroom with new carpet, kitchen floors, beautiful granite countertops in the kitchen and bath, high-quality undercounter stainless deep sink with Kohler faucet, brand new stove/oven, and the bathroom complimented to kitchen with the same granite and a clear vessel sink with another high-quality faucet. Though the microwave and refrigerator were older, they were in great working condition. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, flatware, utensils, pots & pans, coffee maker & coffee, and assorted spices. The living area had a new sofa sleeper and a flat panel TV with VHS/DVD players. There was a good selection of movies to chose from, or you could check out movies from the office at no charge or bring your own. The amoire in the bedroom contained additional clean bedding, and we had brought a queensize blow-up bed w/bedding since our kids didn't want to share the sofa sleeper -- there was plenty of room to put it in the living room at night and we put it on the bed in the bedroom during the day. In fact, we never opened the sofa sleeper, just took the backpillows off and put the sheet and blankets over it.
In the light of morning is where the rental lost a star. We went to eat an early lunch on the patio and the table and chairs were dirty -- not just with dirt and pine needles, but with coffee spills and sticky stuff on the table and two of the four chairs. I did find cleaning spray under the sink, so I cleaned it. I went to put our grocery away, and due to the limited space, wanted to use the top of the fridge to put our cereal, bread, etc. It was covered in that gummy, oily residue you find in kitchens, so I cleaned that too. While cleaning I discovered the underside of the handles for the fridge and microwave were black with grime, so I cleaned that too. I went ahead and scraped out the goo in the corners of the microwave door too. We notified the office before we left for the day about tightening the handles on every pot & pan -- they were very loose and ready to fall off, too dangerous to use.
The office fixed the pans while we were out enjoying to gorgeous weather and views surrounding us. It was so easy to get to the Valley Floor, and so glad we opted to stay within the Park since traffic can get bad. It wasn't very crowded this time of year, and we reserved the 2-hour open-air tram ride around the Valley Floor so we could have a ranger tell us about the Park as we enjoyed the views. We had a relaxing day and returned to the rental to have dinner. We packed food as if we were camping since grocery stores are not close by, but don't stress too much because you can find food at the Yosemite Hotel and the museum at Glacier Point, but it's expensive. So after dinner, I started the dishwasher, only to find out it didn't work. So I had to wash all the dishes by hand and it was at that point I decided to write-up a punch list for the rental.
The next morning I gave the office the punch list of what needed repair or cleaning and all the things I had already cleaned -- the doors still had hand grime and dirt, the bathroom baseboards were filthy, cobwebs in the kitchen window, the wicker nightstand full of dust in the cracks and needs hosing down, and the bedside lamp and two lights in the kitchen entry were out. We left for the day and hoped the office would have everything fixed. When we returned, the lights were working but the dishwasher was not and the doors and baseboards had an oily residue on them. I had to clean the oil off the doors and floors so we wouldn’t fall and washed all the dishes by hand, again. The repair guy from the office showed up around 8 pm to try to fix it, but we were getting ready for bed and leaving in the morning, so I we told him to fix it after we checkout.
That night we read through some of the comments others had written in the guest book. The owners seem to listen to suggestions and act on them. You can tell they have invested in the property and want quality for themselves and their guests. It may be time for them to consider a new management company. The property is now clean, but I, the guest, should not have been doing the cleaning or writing up a punch list of repairs – the property management company should have been doing this. In addition, when I brought this to their attention and asked for a 10% reduction in our bill upon checkout, the property manager for Four Seasons Vacation Rentals argued with me for 10 minutes about how they tried to fix things but only one person knows how, that I should have told them sooner, etc., blah blah blah. I did receive the discount, but only after having to stand my ground. A good management company would have apologized for the inconvenience, thanked me for taking the time to let them know as well as the effort to improve the rental, and given me the check with no hassles.
With a better management company (and new dishwasher), this place would be 5 stars.
P.S. I should have known better when the office had given us the key in an envelope with my name written over white-out a previous guest and the crumpled directions that they asked for back so they could re-use for the next guest. Pennypinching on envelopes and directions was the first impression and clue to the level of service.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location to Park sites and mostly newly remodeled kitchen
Liked least: Broken dishwasher, grime and customer service of manager at management company
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
anita f
ca
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. Having a house in Yosemite is rare, that is why we love to share it with guests inside the park. Hiking the trail up the side of Yosemite Falls is daunting. Glad you made it up. Please come again. There is so much to see, we are still exploring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Emily
California
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2012
Emily, thank you for your kind review. We strive to give our guests the best accommodations and a great Yosemite experience. We hope you will visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Dan's yosemite
CA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Jumping Deer and we appreciate that you took the time to write this lovely review. We find it restful there too and we are happy to share this wonderful place with others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
volunteer...
Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We rented the Jumping Deer Apartment for two nights and it was a great place to stay. The apartment was perfect for two people with excellent kitchen & bathroom facilities along with a large selection of videos if you chose to use them. They had a grill which would have been great for cooking outdoors and table & chairs to enjoy the wooded lot. The only problem as some of the other's have mentioned here on TA is that there are 61steps that zig zag down to the apartment and that may be too many for some people carrying luggage & groceries....plus there was no rail to hang on. We arrived ~ 7 pm and the rental office was closed but our key & reservations was posted at the office so we could move in. Otherwise, we were very pleased with the apartment's amenities.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Great small apartment with very nice kitchen & shower.
Liked least: I was aware of the stairs but you don't realize how many (61) until you have made 2-4 trips with luggage & groceries!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JayZeeBee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location to experience Yosemite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Good value vacation rental for two within Yosemite National Park. Ideal to access Glacier Point Road and the many excellent hiking trails in that area. The apartment is comfortable, quiet and away from the crowds in Yosemite Valley with all conveniences provided. We were there for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed exploring Yosemite from this well positioned base. Plan ahead for buying food supplies.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Peaceful location with easy access around Yosemite
Liked least: Going up the 61 steps
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$139
/ Night
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Pete and Betsy
+1 209-379-4170
Speaks English
listed since : Feb 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing