We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Office help is as friendly & accomodating as a sack of potatoes” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemites Four Seasons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yosemites Four Seasons to your Saves list
Yosemites Four Seasons
7519 Henness Circle, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Greenwood, DE
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Office help is as friendly & accomodating as a sack of potatoes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We rented a studio unit for 4 nights. When we checked in we were told to check and see if the fireplace turns on. When we arrived to our room, the sofabed was sticking up with the cushions stacked on the only other two chairs in the living room. The frame was bent and unable to be made into a sofa. Fortunately, we weren't planning to use it for a bed, but neither could we sit on it. The fireplace did not come on, so we called the office to report the sofa and fireplace. We were offered a free night for the sofa and the promise of fixing it in the morning. Someone came later that night to turn on the fireplace for us. We hiked Clouds Rest the next day and came back very tired. When we walked in, the sofa was in the same condition. We called the office again. They told us that someone would come out and that they were waiting on a shipment of beds. Later, 2 workers came and took out the old sofabed, put in a new one only to discover that it didn't fit. So they stuffed a mattress in there and put the cushions on top....and that's how it stayed. My issues are: 1) that they knew when we checked in that the sofabed was not in working order and never said anything about it. They also knew that the fireplace wasn't working, why else were we told to check it? 2) we had workers in our room for 2 out of the 4 nights we were there. 3) When we checked out, we had to stand our ground on the promise of the free night. They would not freely acknowledge our situation. After much discussion, they gave us a refund for the one night.

Other minor complaints are that the coffee pot was not cleaned out, out of the four lights above the downstairs bath only one worked, and the screen door to the patio was not attached just sitting there so we were not able to have fresh air. Also, the remote to the skylight was missing and didn't find out till we checked out that we were supposed to ask for it.

In summary, I didn't mind the "rustic" accomodations that others complained about, but it was clear to me that the leadership in the maintenance department is severly lacking. Also, the office help could be a ton friendlier. The prices are good for the location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemiteman, Manager at Yosemites Four Seasons, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
This one is on us. No excuse, the unit should not have been left in the condition they found it and definitely we could have dealt with the situation in a more efficient manner. Our apologies, and we hope you will give us a second chance. This situation was the exception to the rule... Walking in on a sofa bed left in that condition is inexcusable and we accept responsibility for it. We have had discussions with the staff members responsible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    12
    8
    20
See reviews for
32
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Magic Studio for 3 nights in August this year as part of our honeymoon.

I have read several of the reports posted generally about the vacation rentals offered by Yosemite Four Seasons Rentals and although I can't speak for some of the other rental properties, its only fair to say that our one bedroom studio was exactly as described on the website which is what made it great. Rarely do you get websites admitting that their accommodation is outdated and basic. Its when you are told how great the place is only to find out its the exact opposite.

I agree they are dated and definately need modernising which would certainly elevate their standard, but whats the most important aspect anyone looks for in a place to stay- cleanliness! Ours was just this.

I can't remember seeing any cobwebs in our studio but lets not forget we are in the middle of a World Heritage National Park, you couldn't get any closer to nature even if you tried. Your in a place where you have to remove food from the car at night to avoid attracting bears!!- you shouldn't be spending any longer in your accommodation other than sleeping at night, you should be out all day enjoying the breath taking scenery.

In terms of location, again the website clearly indicates the distance of the rentals from various locations so there are no suprises. We thought the location was great because it meant we were roughly equal distances to the valley floor and surrounding attractions such as Tunnel View and Glacier Point in one direction, and Mariposa and Sequoia Pines in the opposite direction. If you were staying in the national park boundaries you would be much further from many of the attractions.

Some simple recommendations on how the studio could be improved without it costing much are better entertainment systems, e.g flat screen TV and a newer dvd player so you can take advantage of the free dvds provided, a more comfy sofa and arm chair, brighter lighting, a ceiling fan that doesn't make noises.

A few things i didn't like was the jacuzzi smelled when we lifted the lid to see inside so decided not to use it. Also although we were told a wooden fence was put up next to the adjoining house for privacy when using the jacuzzi, you cant stop the surrounding houses higher up from clearly seeing whats going on. Finally, we didn't feel comfortable with having the pilot light for the oven and the heater on 24/7- we were told it always stays on.

Staff in the reception are very friendly and try to be helpful but to be honest, they seemed to be very very slow and almost in a different world. We phoned up one evening to report our concern about the pilot lights (not knowing they must stay on) and were told someone would contact us the next morning but we didn't hear from anyone. We decided to ask as we were checking out.

Overall folks, unless you plan ahead and book into one of the many hotels dotted around the park (and expect to pay high prices) then other than camping this is your best option and its a good one. Just remember that you will have to buy all your shopping before you arrive as there is knowhere to buy food from for miles other than in the actual valley floor.

Room Tip: The Magic Studio is a self contained roomy one bedroom studio apartment which is ideal for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had a loft unit in Yosemite West. The website says that the properties are old, but clean and with "deluxe bed and bath linens", "fully equipped kitchens". If you consider a mildewed bathroom and cobwebs clean, then this is your space! The "deluxe bed linens" input king bed were queen sized, no mattress cover. So, if you rolled over in the middle of the night, you were laying on a bare mattress...gross! We asked for extra sheets at the office to fix the problem and were told housekeeping would bring them but they never showed up. The kitchen was fully equipped unless you actually wanted to use a spoon. Also the microwave was disgustingly dirty on the inside.
One last thing is that the bedside lamps had room for two lightbulbs, but there was only one in each lamp. This is not a deal breaker, but definitely added to the overall tackiness of the place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemiteman, Manager at Yosemites Four Seasons, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
We take great exception to your characterization of the loft unit bathroom as "mildew" and cobwebs. There is NO mildew in any of our bathrooms and we are at a loss to understand why you would say there is. Cobwebs, however, are another matter and this time of year they appear quickly and frequently. We do our best to keep them swept, but sometimes we might miss one or two or they form so quickly as to make it impossible to 100% eradicate them in any particular unit. As for the sheets, our laundry service does not provide fitted sheets on the condo units bedding, but this has not been something anyone (until you) has complained about. Again, we do not put queen size bedding on king-size mattresses. We do apologize if the microwave was dirty; this should have been cleaned, but apparently was missed by the housecleaning staff. We apologize for that situation. We are, however, adamant that there is no mildew in our bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We couldn't stay here - property was not as envisaged - balcony looking onto car park, next door bbq fumes in the room. Very dark and depressing, dormitory styled accommodation, 1980's style decor and heavy dark furniture.Room looked clean, but balcony was not. We had booked and paid in advance and they were happy to refund our payment. Accommodation is a long way from the centre of the park, which is a problem since if it is busy finding parking down there is difficult.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemiteman, Manager at Yosemites Four Seasons, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
We are truly sorry you did not like the unit. Inasmuch as we disclose as bluntly as we can on our website that the condo units are basic accommodations, all of what you relate is completely subjective. Everything apparently worked, you state it was clean, you do not mention being uncomfortable, and all was as it was represented on our web site. That it was not as you "envisaged" is completely out of our hands, as is your apparent dislike of "...heavy dark furniture". The fact that it is not near the center of Yosemite Valley is plainly and conspicuously documented all over our web site and is communicated during the process of booking, so we are at a loss to understand why you mention it here; these are things you were aware of prior to arriving or even booking. Be that as it may, even though it is contrary to our stated refund policy, we gave you a COMPLETE refund on your stay and yet you felt compelled to post a negative and absolutely subjective review on Trip Advisor. How completely unfortunate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here with another couple, and their two kids. We were very excited about all the accommodations - a pool table, 3 jacuzzis, king size beds and decks! We stayed in upper enchanted. When we got there I was a little worried since there were cob webs all outside (though we are in the middle of yosemite) and the 2 outside jacuzzis were empty and not working. When we got inside I was pleasantly surprised - it was clean and spacious. (note: there is no air conditioning but they provide fans) Beds were very comfortable, and it was nice to have satellite TV (though not all channels worked). The kitchen was large though some of the units (garbage disposal, oven, etc) were a little worn out. The pool sticks were also worn, so we called for some new ones and chalk, and also mentioned the 2 non working hot tubs - they said sorry they meant to update the website to say just 1 indoor hot tub (since the outdoor ones don't work). The one indoors was in a warm room and smelled a little moldy so we were disappointed. We were willing to let that go until...

That night all hell broke loose. We no longer had running water. When we went outside there was a pipe bursting with water gushing into the driveway (luckily this was in the foundation and not either apt). It was past 10pm and impossible to get the office, so we drove up and found the late night contact number on the office door. The main maintaince guy was not on the mountain, so they sent backup guys to look at it. After a few hours of them trying to stop the water and past 1 am, they couldnt and said they would come back in the morning. The water ran all night. The next morning the office said they will do their best to fix it, but wasn't sure if they could. One assured us it would get fixed, while the other thought we should find other accommodations (while also saying they dont know what we will do since there is nothing available.) They assured we would get a full refund - though if there is nowhere else to stay that would have ended our vacation. In the end they called their maintenance guy and got it fixed when we returned at 6pm the next day. They refunded us one night.

Overall, even with all the drama it was not a terrible stay though could have been excellent had it been newer, cleaner, with working items, and no water leaks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemiteman, Manager at Yosemites Four Seasons, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Many apologies for the broken water pipe. Yet more damage from the brutal winter we experienced. Sometimes frozen and damaged water pipes do not evidence themselves until later as was the case here.

We are confused about one thing in your review; you mention that you were "...pleasantly surprised - it was clean and spacious." yet you only gave two stars for cleanliness... and complained about cleanliness later in your narrative. And asking for better cue sticks? Please understand a vacation cabin rental is some of the worst abuse that can be heaped upon residential housing. Evidence of use and, unfortunately, abuse can be found in almost all units in Yosemite West. These are not the Intercontinental Hotel with daily maid service and impeccable furnishings. We offer basic, working furnishings for vacationers whose priority is seeing Yosemite National Park. The beds are comfortable, as you mentioned, which is where we put our priorities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were fortunate to book the Treehouse property only a week before our trip. I had been looking for weeks at various options, and was lucky to find Yosemite Four Seasons. They were the least expensive rental I could find within Yosemite and they did not require a 3 night minimum stay. The property wasn't luxurious, but it had all the neccessities, plus a BBQ grill.

Most of all, we were like 20 minutes from the valley and didn't have to wait in line at the park entrance. They staff was friendly and the place was clean. They don't have the most modern reservation system, so you have to make sure what dates they have available.

The only complaint I would have is poor cellphone coverage and no Internet service. However, it seems that all the properties in Yosemite West would have the same problem with cellphone coverage.

I would definitely rent there again...hopefully they will have availability.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The best thing was the Hot Tub on the outdoor deck - Sitting in those warm waters with starlit sky above and snow around is just wonderful.
The Getaway Suite was nice - a bit tight for two families, but was well equipped and maintained.
The rooms were clean, the fireplace worked and there were enough towels, linen, pillows etc. for the 3 days of stay.
Only thing would've helped is daily housekeeping, especially in the wet season. Also, they should remove or replace the torn flag on the flagpost.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemites Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemites Four Seasons

Address: 7519 Henness Circle, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 20 minutes from Yosemite Valley floor and only 5 minutes from Badger ski pass. You can drive to Glacier point in less then 20 minutes. We care about our guests more then anything else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Yosemites Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemites 4 Seasons Vacation Rentals
Yosemites Four Seasons Vacation Rentals Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemites Four Seasons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.