We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food....quality prices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Degnan's Deli

Degnan's Deli
9006 Yosemite Lodge Drive, Yosemite Village, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
(209) 372-8454
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Australia
Top Contributor
647 reviews 647 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
556 helpful votes 556 helpful votes
“Quality food....quality prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you are not bringing your own food or eating at one of the lodging venues then this Deli is a solid food outlet for some healthy (and not so healthy) selections while in the village.

Basically you line up with half of Yosemite Park's visitors, wait your turn and once reaching the front of the queue the ’made–to-order’ conveyer staff makes up your sandwich in a few minutes. Don’t worry, by the time your turn comes around you will have changed your mind several times!

As you enter the Deli there are refrigerators for prepared items like salads, prepacked sandwiches, desserts and snacks plus a couple of separate soup tureens. In another refrigerated area there is beer, wine, soda, juices and other beverages to take out.

While you advance in the process there are even more temptations (in case you forgot) such as chips, yummy fresh pastries, cakes and desserts. If it’s trail food you need then there are multiple choices available here without the wait in line.

Once your order is complete you can pay at the checkout (dig deeper into your wallet, it’s not cheap) before dashing for the next vacant table outside. There isn’t a lot of shade, you will have a few cheeky Steller’s Jays for competition but seating seems to vacate quite quickly.

Seriously though, the food here is as good as it gets in a National Park. We were amazed that good quality food was available in this semi - remote nirvana – just add a few more dollars in your wallet or use the easy electronic method.


Enjoy your meal!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    94
    58
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“It will do if you are hungry!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were in Yosemite for only about 4 hours, one of those, we want to see the park. Degnan's Deli is your typical national park food. I am sure they must be run by one of the big companies. You stand in line to order, the food isn't the greatest, but not bad. There is outdoor seating. If you are hungry, go for it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We grabbed a quickl lunch and provisions for our afternoon hikes at the deli. The made as you wait sandwich selection was very good, and they were very tasty. They also had a nice selection of sides and beverages. The line was a little long, even at 2:00 in the afternoon. The pricing is strictly Yosemite, so you do pay more than your corner deli.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, not so great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stopped by on our quest for lunch and had the roast beef sandwiches - they were big, and very tasty, but $6.50 each for a sandwich (that's two slices of bread, four slices of meat, some lettuce tomato,and some horseradish mayo) is just taking a captive audience for a ride - we were staying in the park, so no choice but to eat in the local establishments ... whilst most places (eg Disney parks) charge a premium for location, it just isn't reasonable for these prices at a National Park - I struggle to understand how the NPS can condone this! So, nice food, awful prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good Value & Good Selections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Degnan's is a basic sandwich deli with many offerings to choose from, or make your own. Wide selection of meats, cheeses, bread, etc. Prices are reasonable too. Outside Tables are available for seated eating, and we shared our table with another couple.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Degnan's Deli also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Degnan's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Degnan's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.