We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a beer or a glass of wine at the end of the day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mountain Room Lounge

The Mountain Room Lounge
Yosemite Lodge at the Falls, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
(559) 252-4848
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
North Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice place for a beer or a glass of wine at the end of the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great place for a libation at the end of the day. The setting couldn't be any nicer and the decor is comfortable. We did not have food, but we did stop in each day for a quick glass of wine before dinner. The service could be more attentive. The waiters seem unfocused and slow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    58
    32
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant! Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very good food, lots of options for vegetarians, staff very nice, called us by name the second time we were there! That was very nice! Loved the menu, great wine list, food is very good here. Would definitely go again. Very convenient also.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a beer or wine after hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We didn't eat here, so I can't comment on the food, but the beer and wine were good. The bartender was very nice and there are big screen tv's to catch up with what you've been missing while you were out hiking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

werighted ate here the first night, we weren't particularly hungry so the Brie platter and turkey sandwich, served by a friendly waiter was just the job.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
905 helpful votes 905 helpful votes
“Way overpriced, small portions, very slow service, bland food, few alternatives, only place to watch ESPN”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Sunday at 7pm on a June evening, we had dinner at the Mountain Room Lounge, after finding mobs of people overwhelming the Food Court, and a long wait for a table at the Mountain Room Restaurant. In retrospect we could have finished dinners at either of the other two restaurants far ahead of the time it took us to finish at he Lounge.

Do not mix up the Mountain Room Restaurant with the Mountain Room Lounge. The Lounge is a sports lounge, where you can eat lunch or dinner on weekends, or dinner on weekdays in front of TVs showing ESPN. Note that the cable selection for the Lodge room TVs do not include ESPN - don't think it is a coincidence. Obviously they specifically excluded ESPN on the Lodge room TVs to force their sports loving guests to come here.

The lounge has glass walls on three of four sides, and is across the patio from the Mountain Room Restaurant. It's basicly a drinking place with a full bar of $8 beers and wines, and light food fare: chips, salsa, sandwiches, and drinks.

There is no view of the falls from the inside, as the roof overhang blocks your vision of the falls. There is a fireplace, but it was 95 degrees that day, so we didn't need it., and you can eat out on the patio, with a possible view of the falls. .

The service was bad. 10 minutes to receive the menu, 10 minutes to have our order taken, 20 minutes to have our food served, and 10 minutes time to pick up the bill. And the place was half empty -as no local sports teams were playing on TV that night.

The food was overpriced. sodas $3, chips/salsa $4, bowl of chili with cornbread $16, smoked salmon on bread $17, and the portions small.

My chili was OK and had lots of chunks of beef, but was otherwise relatively bland -no onions. the few hot green chilis did not do the trick. The smoked salmon on bread consisted of about half a dozen inch lengths of salmon fillet on toasted chunks of bread, with a spread. I was still hungry after the bowl of chili, but we didn't want to wait around anymore.

We got out of there for about $45, and then went to the Food Court to pickup a packaged salad to bring back to the Lodge room.

Delaware North Corporation has a monopoly here, and know they have a captive audience, and price their food accordingly. Almost all their restaurant clients here are Lodge guests. Outsiders will find parking next to impossible on summer weekends, due to the crush of visitors to the Falls nearby. Other places to eat include Degnan's in Yosemite Village, and the Yosemite Village Cafeteria during the summer. Also the pizza at Curry Village is supposed to be pretty good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mountain Room Lounge also viewed

 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to The Mountain Room Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mountain Room Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.