We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuolumne Meadows Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuolumne Meadows Campground
Save
You added Tuolumne Meadows Campground to your Saves list
Tuolumne Meadows, Yosemite National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having been forewarned of the condition of the pavement in and about the campground, we were wary of it, but our new (and low) Lexus CT hybrid still managed to avoid dragging on the ground or falling into any big holes. really, a car would have to be modified to not make it around these roads. We did opt to leave the car parked for the duration of our visit.
We were on the furthest back "F" campsite loop and things were pretty quiet. We did a beautiful hike up to Elizabeth Lake, and another to the visitor's Center and Tuolumne Lodge for supper one night. check closing times at the Cafe and Grocery so as not to miss burger time as we did our first night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights & were pleased that we got a flat site with lots of room. We had read about how crowded the other campgrounds can get, & were glad we chose this one. We made sure to be on the park website, signed in, and ready to submit our request exactly when the sites become available (4 months in advance) b/c they did sell out in 5 minutes and we were lucky to get this spot.

Unfortunately, a group of campers came in at 3 am, being loud & flashing their lights all over the place for the hour that it took them to set up. I realize that’s not the park’s fault, but maybe there should be some sort of rule about checking in that late.

Be warned…it gets down in the 30s or 40s at night in July, so bring lots of layers/blankets for sleeping. I wore multiple layers & was still FREEZING. We also brought in a portable shower so that we could rinse off after hiking. There was a faucet near our site, and bathrooms were nearby, although they weren’t very clean (Wawona’s are much nicer). We went hiking the first day nearby (Lambert Dome, Dog Dome, and Dog Lake) and to Yosemite Valley (about a 1.5 hour drive) the next day. Once we saw how crowded, busy, and overrun by children & very touristy-type people the valley was, we were again glad we booked at Tuolumne Meadows.

We did not see any bears, which I had been hoping we would. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I read tripadvisor's reviews a lot, so I decided to write one to give information about Tuolumne's group sites. Just got back from 3 nights (Wed.- Sat.) early August camping at Tuolumne Campground. We were really lucky to get this Group Site B when someone cancelled. I tried that 4 months early reservation method and that was a joke. My daughter and I tried on two different computers, and all the available sites were gone in 5 minutes. For anyone who wants to try this method, try calling instead or check everyday for cancellations. As you get closer to your trip date, cancellations do pop up at Yosemite campsites. I was able to get this group site plus another individual site. (Hint: Start checking a month before, several times a day.)

Out of all Tuolumne Meadows groups sites, I would have to say that groups sites A and B are the best. They're on flat land with plenty of parking space. The other sites were on a slight hill. They supposedly only allow 5 cars, but they don't check. We were able to park 7 cars. The first night, we got another extra site just in case because we have 30 people, 7 cars, 7 tents, and a shelter tent for eating. We were able to fit everything in the group site, so we didn't even need the individual site.

On the first night, we were visited by a bear around 9:30 p.m. near our food boxes. We started shouting, and it ran away. It then went to the group site across from us, and all the boyscouts there came out with their flashlights. The bear ended up climbing a tree and just sat there. The rangers came and had everyone leave. When the bear came down, they shot a gun to scare away the bear. Unfortunately, we had a bear visit every night, so we were more careful about storing our food away early. I was a bit fearful on the first night but got used to their visits by the last nights. They weren't agressive; they just wanted some food. They ran away as soon as they heard shouting. Finally, on the third night, the rangers brought a trailer to trap the bear, but I don't know if it was caught. They came by and told us that they think it's the one they trapped last year. The bear that we saw had two little pegs on its ear which symbolizes how many times they were trapped.

Now, let me move on to our first full day visit to Yosemite Valley which is about 1.5 hours away from Tuolumne. Too crowded!!! Don't go there if you've already been there before. Since we had families who were there for the first time, we did go. A word of advice...park your car by any of the shuttle bus stops and just get around the valley on the shuttle bus. They come pretty often and parking is terrible. We ended up hiking Vernal Fall, and it was beautiful. Yosemite fall which is by fall less strenuous had no water because of the low snowfall last year. Afterwards, we showered at Curry Village $5. They give you everything..towels, soap, shampoo. I think you can also swim in their swimming pool. We got there late when the pool was closed.

The next full day we spent at Tuolumne Meadows. We walked up Puppy Dome (? not quite sure of its name, definitely not Lembert Dome) and went to the beach at Tenaya Lake. Our group liked this day the best. The pictures from top of the Puppy Dome came out great (easy short hike...make a left when you come out of the campground), and Tenaya Lake was beautiful and relaxing. The little kids and teenagers had a great time swmming in the lake. They found a big log and had a blast trying to stand on top it and peddling.

All in all, we had a great time at Yosemite. Don't let the bears deter you. The rangers came soon after we called them. We kind of felt sorry for them. This was the first time that we came across bears in our 10 years of camping. It wasn't as intimidating as I thought it would be. Next year, we're going to try Kings Canyon/Sequoia.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave City, AR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here before our high sierra camp mule ride. We stayed in tent 56 right by the river which runs by the camp. We ate that night in their diner which was good. Sit by the campfire, which they make for you and had smores. All in all a good place, you get used to getting your stuff together to put in the bear boxes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Camped for 3 nights in early July, got a great spot in the tent only area in Loop A near the river. Was able to get the spot without reservations - key is getting there in the morning and arriving mid-week. We've previously been advised that trying to get a walk in spot on Thursday - Sunday is difficult, we arrived on Wednesday and left on Saturday.

Campground is perfect. Plenty of space, bathrooms well kept, and Loop A is right against the river so its easy access to the river to begin hikes or cool off. Only down side is that Tuolumne Meadows lodge no longer offers showers, so that did put a slight damper on our 7 day camping trip. However, the number of hiking options, the lack of crowds in Tuolumne Meadows as compared to the Valley which now looks like Disneyland during the summer, and the friendliness and tranquility that can always be found in a tent only camping area when the sound of generators from RVs can't be heard more than compensated for the minor convenience. The only other unexpected issue was the number of mosquitos. Having traveled and camped quite a bit, this was the largest number of mosquitos we ever experienced - but we were told that it was seasonal and just happened to pick the wrong time of the season.

Of course, the whole point of camping in Tuolumne Meadows is the capacity to have easy access to the amazing natural attributes to this part of the Valley. No, its not the Valley, with its shear cliffs and waterfalls everywhere you turn - but it has a different type of beauty about it. Numerous lakes all around within 3 - 5 miles of hiking, hiking options with every possible range of difficulty so that no matter your skill level beauty is just around the corner. The Tuolumne Meadows grill and store, completely built out for backpackers and people that like to get away but still having everything that is necessary and providing great breakfast (buckwheat pancakes were amazing!) and burgers (salmon burgers with sweet potato fries!) when campfire or propane stove food just won't cut it. The shuttle service that gives easy access to most of the major trailheads and other nice view points. All of it was great. And, traveling as a family with kids ages 10 to 6, all of this couldn't be beat. We will definitely be back and just might make it an annual camping trip.

Room Tip: Reservations are advised to make sure you get the spot you want. If traveling with out reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Recently stayed at Tuolumne Campground over a busy in-season weekend. The sites were pretty cramped and the whole place felt a bit tired / overused, but this place gets extremely high traffic in the summer and the fact that its clean and well run is a miracle despite having to deal with 300 sites. The road is a bit bumpy, but nothing too bad (I do have some extra clearance in my station wagon). I definitely agree with other reviews that it is probably a good idea to get to the campground in the daylight, as it is in the trees and gets really dark. My wife was big fan of their prominent recycling efforts, which is typical of campgrounds in national parks. Those looking for a calmer experience should consider the Inyo Forest Service campgrounds outside the park, such as on the June Lake loop, which are easier to reserve closer to the date and may have better amenities. Then again, there is something to said for waking up and being able to walk around Tuolumne Meadows at dawn, which is truly heavenly.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs as you will be close to your neighbor, and it is also hard to sleep at high altitude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great location for High Sierra hiking and beauty, but you must be outside of the campground to see the mountains and meadow because the trees hide the landscape. Road is poorly maintained, narrow for RVs and cars to navigate in passing. Lots of pot holes and water. Sites vary and many are close, noisy, and smokey. Sites are overrun with far more people than legally permitted, making campground wall-to-wall humanity. In a more remote campsite, two bears, two years old (large) appeared while opening our bear locker. One stood on top of the table by the locker while the other waited on my other side. I was able to scare off one bear, but the other followed me to my camper and left only after a ladder was thrust in its direction.

Room Tip: You can't second guess who your neighbors will be from day to day, so just take a chance on any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
16.1 mi away
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 2,765 reviews
28.6 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Ahwahnee
The Ahwahnee
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#3 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
14.0 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
15.2 mi away
Curry Village
Curry Village
#6 of 26 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuolumne Meadows Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuolumne Meadows Campground

Address: Tuolumne Meadows, Yosemite National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 304
Also Known As:
Tuolumne Meadows Campground Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuolumne Meadows Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.