We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best views I have ever seen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Point

Glacier Point
Yosemite National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This rustic geological formation is most famous for the magnificent sunsets that can be viewed from its top.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best views I have ever seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Glacier Point is a must see on a trip to Yosemite. The hike from the parking lot to the point is not far, maybe 200yds. This short distance makes the hike accessible to all hikers. On our trip to Yosemite we had two hikers in their late 70's that could not go very far, this hike is short with a huge reward. There is a small store (seasonal) at the top where you can get food & drink. I really can't think of a better view. Makes you feel very small. I still go to Glacier Point every time I go to Yosemite.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,127
    89
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

It's quite a drive from the valley but worth every mile when you get there!!

The views are incredible - don't rush your time there - it is something very special.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Breath Taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

You must see these views we watched the sun go down and it was beyond belief how beautiful Yosemite truly is.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning views of breathtaking scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visited Yosemite in September 2012 and this was by far the highlight of the trip. The views of the scenery were simply stunning. The road up to the top is very winding but worth it for those views. It can be busy but you will be there a while to take it all in. There is a shop at the top for supplies. Glacier Point is not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The four mile hike around glacier park was beautiful. The sights you see are truly breathtaking. When we look back at our photos it is hard to believe we were really there. Our pictures look like calendar photos simply because the scenery is stunning.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Point also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Glacier Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glacier Point to your Saves list