We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another incredible vista” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Point

Glacier Point
Yosemite National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Glacier Point like an insider
Top Rated
$119*
and up
Yosemite Hiking Excursion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This rustic geological formation is most famous for the magnificent sunsets that can be viewed from its top.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Another incredible vista”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A long drive from the valley floor but well worth the trip. Fabulous views.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,611
    138
    14
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The drive to this point is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We decided to drive there on our last day on our way out of the park. We are so glad we did. The views are breathtaking. One sees Half Dome as it appears in all the photos of Yosemite. After visiting the valley floor, the perspective of all the major sites, e.g., waterfalls, is different when viewed from this perch.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“High country views, by car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We wanted to get a little snow and so drove up to the Sentinel stop. Glacier itself was closed, but in general provides amazing valley views without having to hike.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved the star talk at Glacier Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I have attended many star talks at many national parks, but this is the most spectacular setting for a star talk ever. You sit in an ampitheater on stone steps. And in front of you is the most expansive view ever! You are looking right over to Half Dome, and at night you can see a light or two where the climbers are sleeping on its face. Yosemite has very low humidity, we didn't see a cloud for 5 days. So the star gazing was wonderful. The ranger giving the talk was very knowledgable, and this was one of the highlights of our trip.

You can pay $40 for a star talk that includes a bus ride there and back from Yosemite Lodge, but we got $5 tickets for the star talk only since we were already driving ourselves out to this area for an afternoon of hiking and sunset, so we just stayed for the star talk.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Central Indiana
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best view of the entire Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

It is worth the 45-60 minute drive up the mountain road, but you'll love the view. If it is a cloudy day, don't waste your time.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Point also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Glacier Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.