We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Capitan

El Capitan
Yosemite National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations
Activities: Rock climbing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Challenging, popular rock to climb in Yosemite.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We parked at the bridal veil fall car park and walked the 15 minutes to the el capitan viewing area, it was brilliant, an amazing view. Easy access, and despite the volume of people still didn't feel that crowded

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    39
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Majestic beauty. Stopped in the area adjacent to have our lunch.We were able to see climbers summit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great photo op”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

One of the most spectacular features of the most spectacular National Park. I have photos of it from all angles at all times of day & night and all seasons. Really wows you the 1st time you see it from the Valley floor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wowed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

just sheer gobsmacking! We even saw some guys slackling at the top via binoculars of course,boy now that takes some guts!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coppell texas usa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Watch the climbers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We walked to the base of El Capitan and watched the climbers scale the side. It is quite windy in the meadow across from El Capitan and we found a much better vantage point from the El Capitan hiking trail.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Capitan also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to El Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Capitan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Capitan to your Saves list