We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to Experience Yosemite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuolumne Meadows Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuolumne Meadows Lodge
Save
You added Tuolumne Meadows Lodge to your Saves list
Tioga Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Location to Experience Yosemite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've stayed at Tuolumne Meadows Lodge many times. Sometimes at the beginning or end of a High Sierra Camp hike and sometimes just for the High Country ambiance of Yosemite. The only downside it can be a bit crowded in the summer but nearly as bad as Yosemite Valley. The accommodations are the typical tent cabins.

Lodge has small store and a dining room that serves a great breakfast and dinner. Dinner reservations are a MUST.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you're expecting a hotel you'll be disappointed but if you are expecting a tent you'll be delighted.

The "tents" have hard floors, hard doors and "windows" with mesh nets over so you can get a nice breeze through while keeping the bugs out. There's a wood burning stove which can get a little smoky (close the door else you'll set the smoke detector off!) but really warms the place up on a chilly night. There are big soft fluffy, clean white (!) towels (you see, not really like camping) and hot showers a little way across the site.

Having to locate all food and toiletries in bear lockers in the car park at night is a little inconvenient but compared to having to dig a latrine (wild camping) or getting eaten by a bear it's a breeze.

The Tuolumne Meadows seem to be by far the quieter part of Yosemite and while it is expensive to stay in the lodge I do recommend it to be so comfortable in such a wild place.

To note: No cooking is allowed on or near the site to keep the rodents at bay. If you have a car (and as your cooking stuff needs to stay in the car park in the bear lockers anyway) it's easy to temporarily locate to one of the beautiful picnic areas along the roadside to cook breakfast or dinner. Take plenty of water so you can wash up there too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I visited the park and stayed in Tuolumne Meadows, and went on a trip to the High Sierra camps. At the time I started the first death had been documented from the hantavirus and the Park Service and Public Health Service chose to hide this information from us. The camps were not clean. They were under pressure to not use water, the bathrooms were dirty, some had no place to wash hands and some required keys to enter the bathrooms. The keys were dirty. I have traveled around the world and only saw such unhealthy conditions and such disregard for public health in the worst third world countries.
If you want to visit the parks stay outside in a clean decent hotel and travel by car into and out of the park each day. I will have to wait and worry until mid October to be sure I and my family will not fall ill and have a 40% chance of death from the hantavirus. HEADS SHOULD ROLL!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountains Near Yosemite
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Tuolumne Meadows is one of the most beautiful places in Yosemite and it's always a pleasure to visit. On my most recent trip (2 days ago) we stayed at the Tuolumne Meadows Lodge. Right from the beginning we were not thrilled. Upon entering our tent cabin we discovered mouse droppings. We were very surprised as cleaning the cabins properly is supposedly very important due to the recent outbreak of Hantavirus. We thought perhaps it was just a fluke. We looked around for the candles that were supposed to be inside the cabin to provide lighting. There weren't any. As it was going to be about 32 degrees that evening we thought we better start a fire. There were only 3 logs in the wood bucket. Then we read the instructions for safety inside the tent cabin. They said to not keep any valuables in the tent. But there is no way to lock the tent when you leave it! That meant hauling a lot of stuff back to the car. When we came back from doing this there were fresh mouse droppings on our belongings. Needless to say we were not happy. There were many, many openings around the perimeter of the tent that would allow mouse access. As we were getting ready to go to sleep later in the evening we saw a mouse run through the tent (it didn't matter that the door was closed!) You'd think with the numerous cases of Hantavirus in the park this summer management would have done something to at least prevent mice from entering the cabins. What a huge disappointment, not to mention a huge health risk. And all this for about $130 per night. Gee...what a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Unless you bring your own camping equipment or trailer/ RV, the 'lodge is the only place to stay in the high country unless you go out of the park. The location is absolutely beautiful, soaking feet in the river, enjoy the end of the day sitting along side it or near the big camp fire cannot be beat. The tent cabins are as to be expected. The stove is very cute, however it will not last the entire night so will be chilly in the a.m. I would suggest they provide more firewood and kindling so have enough to start the night and snuggle in to the wool blankets and then get it going again when rising in the morning. I also would suggest that they move the 'bear' lockers up by each tent cabin as they have in Curry. It is very inconvenient to have to walk all the way to the parking lot, and perhaps to the end of it, to get or put your food and toiletries away. I believe many do not bother putting their toiletries in the locker due to the inconvenience and this is a problem. Lockers are not assigned and must be shared so be forewarned. Food was good but expensive. Waitstaff very friendly, front desk people not so much. Would stay here again for the location and convenience of still being within the park. It is rather pricey for what it is.

Room Tip: A tent cabin right next to the river may be a little buggy! We noticed there were alot more mosquito...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

That's glamorous camping. If you come to the Tuolumne Meadows Lodge, be prepared for comfortable camping! I stayed there two nights and slept better than I do at home. The tent cabin was clean and featured a comfortable mattress, warm bedding and towels. There is a shared bathroom and showers (like camping) but we enjoyed hot water and plenty of sinks. The family style dining room was great - with good food, friendly company and enthusiastic service. From there you can hike for a few hours or all day. At night there is a roaring campfire, with marshmallows, graham crackers and chocolate!! The Yosemite High Country is an experience you won't soon forget!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I normally camp so it is hard for me to pay $150 to basically camp but on this trip I was unable to bring my gear so decided to give this a try. I have visited YNP and the high country many, many times. I stayed for one night during high season. The tent was $130/night with breakfast about $20 when it was all said and done. Day temperatures were in the 80's, night in the 40's. The tent includes a wood stove which helps take the chill off in the night and morning-- don't forget to save some of your kindling for the morning! There is one bath house for the entire camp with 4 toilet stalls, 4 shower stalls and about 6 sinks. Be prepared for waiting during peak hours. Beds are basic camp fare. The food is basic and pricey. With all that said, the scenery is spectacular and never disappoints. There are many incredible hikes and activities in the vicinity-- it's a one of kind experience. The lodge does a good job of orienting visitors to all the park has to offer. The shuttle makes is easy to get around the high country and definitely recommended as the park is overrun with people during the summer months. For out of towners, the dilemma is would you be better off renting a motor home and staying in the campground or staying at the lodge?? The experience would be similar in ruggedness ; you would need to cost it out to decide. I saw many rental RV's and rented vans with equipment in the campground so this seems like a popular option too. You will meet more locals in the campground and more out of staters in the lodge. Overall, the lodge is a great option for experiencing the high country if you are unfamiliar with the park; next time, though, I will camp.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent by the river if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuolumne Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuolumne Meadows Lodge

Address: Tioga Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 - With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tuolumne Meadows Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuolumne Meadows Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.