We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ahwahnee

Save Saved
You added The Ahwahnee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ahwahnee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
California
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

Alright, seriously I was extremely worried about our reservations having read the reviews on this site. However, I was very pleasantly surprised and learned not to believe everything I read on the internet. ;)

The hotel lobby, great room, and bar are all amazing. Truly. The hotel has that old, charming feel (reminded me a lot of the Hotel Del Coronado).

We made our reservations 8 months in advance for our weekend. We checked in early, but were told our room was not quite ready. However, we were told our room number so we decided to see where we'd be. We found the room was right by the elevators. Concerned this would be noisy, we returned to the front desk and politely explained. The girl behind the counter was very polite and found another room that was available. This one was much quieter and had a better view.

Our room was gorgeous and very clean. The bathroom, which I had been concerned about after reading here, was spotless and was stocked with everything you might need or have forgotten. The king sized bed was super comfortable.

The walls are paper thin though. Fortunately we had quiet neighbors.

Thinking back on it now, each interaction with a staff member was truly a positive experience. Kudos for their customer service!

In fact, my only complaint with the whole experience is with the other patrons and day-visitors of the hotel letting their rude children run around like it was Disneyland. Seriously, folks, this hotel is not cheap, and it can quickly ruin a vacation for others when your child is out of control.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Noisy children
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    452
    384
    185
    106
    67
See reviews for
352
557
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

nice hotel, loved the food at the rest, wonderful view ,would love to stay here again

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

Just returned from a 3-night stay at the Ahwahnee. What a magnifent hotel. No glitz, no flat panel TV, not a Ritz Carlton or Disney World resort - rather the Ahwahnee is a splendid reminder of a long-ago era of grace and gentility that added tremendously to the grandeur that is Yosemite. My room was confortable and surprisingly spacious. The hotel staff was helpful, polite and efficient. And I got a real key rather than a hard plastic card. My stay was a true delight.

  • Liked — Its historical beauty.
  • Disliked — Food was average but expensive.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

My husband and I just got back from a three-night stay at the Ahwahnee (Jan 25-28). After reading some of the recent reviews, I was a little concerned, but happily, we were quite pleased with our stay.

Everyone from the bellmen, to the desk clerks, to the waiters went out of their way to be friendly. Fifteen minutes after we were shown to our cottage, we received a call from the desk asking if everything was to our satisfaction, and did we need or want anything additional.

We stayed in a cottage (because we wanted to be away from large crowds, noisy children, etc.), which was located maybe 100 yards from the hotel. Our cottage had a main room, maybe 15 or 16' by 15' or 16' square, which contained a king size bed, an armoire with drawers, a TV and a mini-fridge, an upholstered armchair and ottoman, and a round table and two chairs. Behind the main room was a combination dressing area/desk and closet, with ironing board, safe and coffee pot in a space about 4-5' by maybe 8'. Next to that was a "hall" area with a full length mirror, about 3' by 6'. This area would open to the room on the other half of our cabin if we were a large family that required additional room and bath. On the other side of this hall was the bathroom (toilet and bath/shower) separated by a door from the sink/vanity. So basically, you have a front room, and 3 smaller 'room/areas' behind it. Assuming the adjoining cabin had the same set-up (we didn't see it), the bathrooms/dressing areas provided a great buffer, and we didn't hear the people in the other half of the cabin.

Our cabin was clean, the bed was comfortable with down comforter and feather pillows, the carpet appeared either new or fairly new. The tile in the bathroom was clean, not cracked or broken (as some of the other reviews stated). Hot water was almost immediate in the shower.

The only "faults" with the cabin would be that the heat is controlled by a wall heater in the main room (and an additional moveable heater that looks like an electric radiator). There isn't a thermostat, so we found ourselves waking up during the night to turn off the heater. Along the same lines, the tile floors in the bathroom/sink area are VERY cold at night/morning. Wear slippers or put down your towels! Also, the supplemental exhaust fan in our bathroom was quite loud. But these are minor things as far as I'm concerned, and this is winter.

We were out hiking most of the time, and only ate one meal at the Ahwahnee. We had dinner on Saturday night. The dress code did not seem to be as strict as advertised, but people did dress nicely (no jeans). Food was pricey, but no more so than at a nice restaurant in the city. And the food we had was very good, with generous portions. We were not rushed and we enjoyed our meal. We did find that drinks in the lounge/bar were high -- about $8.50-$9.50 for a cocktail.

As for computers, the only area with wi-fi coverage is in the great room, and it is free.

We enjoyed our stay -- it was not inexpensive -- but the trade-off is that we were handy to everything in the Valley, either by walking, driving or taking the free Valley Shuttle, and we didn't spend any money on anything else besides some quick meals and snack food during our stay.

Would we stay at the Ahwahnee again? Absolutely.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No thermostat
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Va.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2007

Staying at the Ahwahnee requires a reservation WELL in advance, however, the experience is awesome. The cabins, the food, the wonders of nature. Everything was excellent - can't say anything negative. Please do yourself a favor and GO.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

this is not about a perfect hotel, this about pleasure. we arrived late in this afternoon, in january, it was cold outside, the hotel had a room available, at a bargain price ( MMM... 350 dollars!) we took it. I did not regret it. The rooms are not unforgettable, but the huge dining rooms, the giant fireplaces...all condidered, it was woth it. I think it is a better place for winter, but i will have to come back in the summer maybe.

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Disliked — the heating system in the rooms...
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

Stayed just one nite at the Ahwahnee hotel. It was my Dad's bday and we were only spending two days in Yosemite, so I figured I'd splurge. This was probably the most we've ever paid for a hotel room and definitely wasn't the nicest place. I guess you can't expect to stay in a hotel that's 70 years old and expect the best.

The exterior of the hotel is made of granite, but looks like wood. Views from the hotel are great. Rooms are adequate, but ours had food left in the fridge and a dirty coffee maker. Bathroom was small with no namebrand soaps/lotions. Dinner at the main dining room is pricey, but the quality of the food is 5*. Since it was my Dad's bday, they sat us at the "queen's table" which is just a 4-seated table in the very back of the room. Breakfast buffet during the week was $18 and was fair at best. No omelet station. There was a hotel bar, but otherwise virtually nothing else to do past sunset. No in-room movies. No ranger talks. Nada. A bit disappointing. Staff were always very friendly and helpful - definitely 5*.

I haven't stayed at any of the other Yosemite hotels, so can't compare. But it's surprising that this is the best hotel in the area. At least now we can say, "been there, done that." no need to do again.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ahwahnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahwahnee

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahwahnee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 - With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Ahwahnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ahwahnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.