We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An American Classic Hotel with a modern vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ahwahnee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ahwahnee to your Saves list
The Ahwahnee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An American Classic Hotel with a modern vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Awanahee Hotel is a very special place to stay in one of America's most glorious spots. The hotel is very well maintained. The cottages are spacious and comfortable with nature right outside your door. I was able to enjoy the pool for the first time with the weather being wonderful and the pool perfect. The dining room is spectacular enjoy a long meal taking in the sunset. Also enjoyed the gift shop and purchased two Awanahee limited edition Pendleton blankets! Great trip and already planning to return in the fall.

Room Tip: If you are booked into Yosemite Lodge or Curry Village and want to upgrade keep calling to get into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    406
    200
    107
    70
See reviews for
376
620
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stayed here in late July because there are very limited housing options in the park. Although this is touted as the best, that term is clearly relative. The drains in the sink and tub were nonfunctional so you would have to wait a half hour for the water to drain after a shower or brushing your teeth. The wifi was essentially out of order as it is much slower than dialup speeds. The service at breakfast and dinner was good. The dinner food was just ok, and the breakfast food was good. The service at the front desk was quite slow. Overall I would not come back to this hotel, and would consider a rental home nearby next time, given my aversion to camping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Ahwahnee, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Good afternoon bricklayer2013,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Ahwahnee. I am disappointed to read that you would not come back. The WiFi in Yosemite is very challenging right now. The National Park Service and AT&T are working to upgrade the communication infrastructure in the Park and are hopeful to have the improvements in place by year's end.

Should you change your mind and would like to stay with us again, please feel free to reach out to me personally at barcher@dncinc.com and I will be happy to assist in anyway I can to ensure a much more favorable visit.

Kind regards,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotels exterior and public accessible interiors are superb. It is one classy establishment, with complimentary morning drinks and afternoon tea and cookies for guests.
Unique cocktails and an excellent breakfast buffet with fabulous eggs Benedict.
We stayed during the power outage and had no air conditioning during our stay, but we got a great view of the falls which more than compensated this.
My only negative would be the guest room standards, for a hotel which charged over $500 a night I would have expected a little higher specification. The room was dreary and could have done with a complete overhaul. Having said that this was our base for the stunning Yosemite park...who spends a lot of time in there room here?!?!?Not us!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The grandeur of the structure, the magnificence the surroundings, the old-world ambience, the plush, quiet, comfortable rooms, the amazing dining room and the impeccable service of the staff all make the Ahwahnee hotel incomparable. I can think of no better special occasion place anywhere. I got married there 26 years ago and return every few years because I just have to.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stay at the Ahwahnee every year for just one night, always off-season, so we can get the lowest rate. Breakfast buffet for two has always come with our room, otherwise it is ridiculously expensive. Staff in the hotel are friendly. Dining room staff are the same every year and I think they should all be replaced for an attitude adjustment. The hotel serves tea and cookies to the hotel guests at 4:00 each day in the lounge. Coffee and tea are served in the morning on the 2nd floor indoor balcony. You don't have to be a guest to have some coffee. There is a nice outdoor patio where you can have cocktails or order an appetizer. As far as rooms go, I prefer the cottages to the actual hotel. The hotel rooms are small and basic, not much on views. The cottages have great views of the forest if you don't mind people walking by looking in at you. If you want to eat in the over-priced dining room, make a reservation or else show-up when the dining room opens for early seating. It is a beautiful, historic hotel so go have a look even if you are going to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages if you want a forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Ahwahnee Hotel is well known for its historical presence and beautiful location. It's also known for its high rates, which is why I never stay there. What I love about the Ahwahnee though is that despite the fact that I am not I guest, every time I go I am treated well and able to enjoy the Ahwahnee experience.

This visit kicked off with the Sunday brunch. As part of a very large group, we were unable to get a reservation for 19 but had to break into two groups with reservations one hour apart. Not a terrible situation, but highly annoying to find that large tables sat empty during both reservation time slots. The brunch was fabulous, as always, and the dining time of 10am allowed my party to enjoy both the breakfast fare as well as the lunch fare, a changeover that occurs at about 11am. The piano player was quite lively, the waitstaff extremely friendly and the food delicious. It's expensive to be sure, but well worth the money to enjoy such a wonderful dining experience.

I also dined in the small casual hotel bistro. This dining experience is nothing spectacular, even if you are able to snag an outside table. The food is overpriced and the menu hasn't changed in years. This component of the Ahwahnee needs some freshening up. Also, the wait staff seem less attentive here. Friendly, to be sure, but they always seem to be running a skeleton crew.

As a non-guest I always enjoy lounging around in the hotel's great room. I've spent many hours there, in all seasons, reading or just enjoying the comfortable furniture and wonderful ambience and views out the windows. Outside is also open to anyone who cares to enjoy it. There are lounge chairs for resting, an inviting lawn to stroll or become a soft napping spot and umbrella tables from where you can order drinks. I thoroughly enjoyed all of these options, as well as the cold water dispenser on the patio (perfect after a long walk).

One day I may decide to splurge and pay the price for a proper Ahwahnee experience but for now I'm quite satisfied enjoying all it has to offer otherwise.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odder, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

If you want the best place to stay in Yosemite, the Ahwanee is the place to stay. You are in the middle of everything and can e.g. do an early morning trip, relax at the pool, when the crowd arrives and then do a late afternoon trip, when the crowd has left. Finish of your day with a dinner in the Ahwanne's great dining room is not chesp, but highly recommeded. Good pick despite of the high price. Would do it again.

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the hotel cabins which was absolutely fine. Wifi is VERY poor, but it is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ahwahnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahwahnee

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahwahnee 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 - With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ahwahnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ahwahnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.