We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A majesty in the woods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ahwahnee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ahwahnee to your Saves list
The Ahwahnee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Clayton, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A majesty in the woods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've stayed at the Ahwahnee four times since 1995, have dined there many times and even been lucky during the days of Bracebridge lottery to win a primo date and dinner seating along with lodging. In 2006, my husband and I renewed our vows on the lawn and had a dinner party for 30 people in the mural room. The Ahwahnee has maintained her superiority over many of the National Park Lodges and is neck-in-neck with Yellowstone grand dame the Old Faithful Inn. I've never stayed in the main hotel rooms, those family and friends have and I've seen the rooms - on the small side. We've always preferred to stay in the cottages. Bring a flashlight - its dark walking on the path even there though it is lit (assuming a time of year other than June, July, August). There are two cottages with fireplaces that are large rooms and the fireplace .... well I could walk in it and I'm 5' tall; #714 and #719 --- there the secret is out! And they have the largest flagstone patio. Very nice for privacy and pure seclusion. I also love the pool at the Ahwahnee and the bar service for it too. My only criticism is that the price for rooms has more than quadrupled over the 19 years - it's the most expensive than all of the other national park lodges and I don't understand why such a drastic increase in comparison. I've stayed at the Ahwahnee in November, December, June/July and September. Every month was spectacular. The service personnel have been with them for decades and well worth your time to chat with them....many live down valley and have lots of local forklore to tell.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages, bring a flashlight and bug spray for pesky mosquitoes in the spring months and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Ahwahnee, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Good afternoon TravellinWillers,

Thank you very much for your patronage over the years. I am so glad to read that you had a wonderful time on your last visit. The cottages are indeed very special and most do afford a little more room than the main building rooms. I am looking forward to having them remodeled this Fall; nothing structural mind you (National Historic Landmark), but most of the finishes, furniture, and fabrics will be new. So they will have a fresh look when you visit next.

I can certainly appreciate your comment about the price but keep in mind that we do offer some great rates in the January, February, and March.

Kind regards,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    503
    228
    120
    73
See reviews for
472
826
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Planet Earth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this grand old hotel. The service and location can't be beat and are what you are paying top dollar for. Check In and out was very easy and we saw plenty of wildlife around the hotel.

Pros: location, service, views, pool

Cons: price, horrible wifi

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I just spent the 4th of July holiday weekend at the Ahwahnee Hotel, the hotel staff was amazingly attentive and helpful. We expected the hotel to feel crowded due to full capacity, but much to our surprise it was completely the opposite! The staff always made us feel special and they were always there to help with our questions and needs. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Ahwahnee, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Greetings kmschnabel,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. I am so very glad to read that you had a wonderful time and that you will back! I will be sure to share with the staff that you found them "amazing."

Until next time,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

You cannot beat the location. Views of Halfdome at Sunset and Glacier Point. Quiet and away from the crowds. Very friendly staff. Expensive but worth it. Great food at Awhanee Bar since the Main dining room is top dollar.

Room Tip: Room 1024 has views of Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We attended the Sesquicentennial event for the Yosemite Land Grand on June 30th and stayed at our favorite hotel in the WORLD, The Ahwahnee. We regularly go to Yosemite in the winter and haven't been during the summer in decades. The crowds and heat were daunting. However, the Ahwahnee was a sanctuary. We are so used to limited number of guest during our winter stays. With the increased number of guests and staff at the hotel, the service did not falter in the slightest. If anything, the staff went out of their way to be patient and kind. Lonna at the front desk was extremely kind and helpful as was Steve and Dave. The temperature that week was sweltering, but the air conditioning in the rooms was perfect. Not too cold as some hotels do. During the warmer months visitors can experience Glacier Point and Tuolomne Meadows in Yosemite, so it's a great time to go. I recommend The Ahwahnee as THE place to unwind and relax in comfort. This year they have a signature celebratory cocktain, the Sesquicentini, yummy.

Room Tip: Every room is lovely. If you can afford to, upgrade to a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Ahwahnee, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Greetings San_Diego Joan,

It is always great to have you and Mr. San_Diego Joan back "home." The 150th Anniversary celebration was a very special time and I thank you very much for showing your support and love of Yosemite by participating in the events.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the new Sesquicintini and thank you for posting the great picture of it.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

All the best,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our review is of The Ahwahnee and it's cottages - we did not stay in the Lodge. From the beginning of our 'week of July 4th' visit to the end, we were constantly and consistently pleased with our experience and would highly recommend a visit. Our cottage was larger than expected (one king), very nicely appointed, comfortable bed, newly refurbished bathroom and separate 'dressing room', with large full length mirror. Quiet in the evening and nestled among the pines with a brief walk to the main lodge. We had no issues with A/C or water temperature.
The Ahwahnee itself is spectacular. The book in the cottage (and I presume in the rooms) is a MUST read to really appreciate the planning of, commitment to and execution of this incredible structure. Even if one is not attracted to a Native American/Kilim style interior (as we are), the structure and associated decor is awe-inspiring and stunning. While we agree with the comments of the somewhat pricey dining room menu, every meal we had was delicious - imaginative without being over-the-top just for looks, with one or two special menu items in the evening. You may enjoy a cocktail or wine with dinner, but you may also purchase from a nice selection of wine and champagne in the Sweet Shop for very reasonable prices. The Ahwahnee personnel, without exception - from the front desk to the (free) valet parking attendant, to the concierge, to the dining room servers, to the Sweet Shop associates - are friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and polite - 100% of the time!!! How often can a traveler say that? Clearly, we cannot say enough about our wonderful experience at The Ahwahnee and Yosemite NP. The only challenge is cell coverage - in the valley its hit or miss, and mostly miss. The WIFI is inconsistent at best. But, once out of the valley, coverage returns.

Room Tip: Our king-bed cottage was roomy and quiet, with a short asphalt walkway to the lodge. Note: I was u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Ahwahnee, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Rosemary M

I very much appreciate the great review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you read The Ahwahnee book that is each of the guest rooms. It does give a great perspective of the history and tradition that embodies the hotel. I am also glad to read that you are a lover of the Native American and Kilim styles that inspired the original interior design.

I will be sure to pass along to the staff that you found them friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, and polite 100% of the time. They will appreciate your kudos.

I am very hopeful that the AT&T project, that should be completed by December of this year (2014), will greatly improve not only the cell coverage in Yosemite but our WiFi abilities as well.

Thank you again and we look forward to being able to take care of you on your next Yosemite visit.

At your service,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We loved out stay here and would highly recommend. We stayed in the library suit and some of out family members stayed in a standard room. They were both beautiful and had views of the waterfalls. The staff was wonderful from the beginning of our stay until we loaded our car.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ahwahnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahwahnee

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahwahnee 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 - With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Ahwahnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ahwahnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.