We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-week get away worth the effort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ahwahnee

Save Saved
You added The Ahwahnee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ahwahnee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Napa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mid-week get away worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Beautiful setting in a majestic location, how can you go wrong? Drove in for a 2 day stay from the north bay area with spectacularly clear vistas so photographs were absolutely splendid all the way into the valley. The Ahwahnee is the perfect hotel in the most awesome of locations. Soaring ceiling heights resplendant with carved wood in the interior give way to awe inspiring views of the exterior as sheer granite walls surround the former front of the hotel. Everything about the hotel is comforting and charmingly classic. If you have the time, sign up @ the front desk/concierge desk for the historical tour. It will certainly enlighten you, especially if you consider the manpower and time it took to construct such a grand lady.
If you go in the late winter/early spring, don't forget to bring chains. It snowed for our drive out. (More great pix!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    430
    373
    182
    103
    65
See reviews for
341
543
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We only stayed at the Ahwahnee for one night, but what an experience. We'd booked a Classic room, but on checking in were surprised and delighted to find we'd been upgraded to one of the four suites in the hotel...it was superb!
We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast in the dining room, again an amazing experience, and marvelled at the generous spaces of the public rooms.
Quite possibly the best hotel stay we've ever experienced...thanks to all the staff at this wonderful, iconic and beautiful place

Room Tip: plead for an upgrade to a suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Those who criticize The Ahwahnee for being old don't understand the historical importance of this place and worse, they don't enjoy the opportunity to experience the wonderful charm that is in every corner of this iconic property.

Visiting Yosemite National Park is an unique experience but staying at The Ahwahnee adds an extra layer of magic. The lobby and the common areas are kept like they were once this place opened in the 1920's. The rooms were updated and they have flat screen TV, nice amenities, wifi and beautiful views.

The service is outstanding. Every one we talked to was very helpful and pleasant.
The restaurant is pricey, but it is a memorable experience.

Overall, if you can afford it, this is the place to be when visiting Yosemite. Let yourself go back in time an experience an era long gone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have stayed at all the historic national park hotels but this one, so we decided to splurge this year and stay at the Ahwahnee. A standard room is about $500/night, so it was definitely a splurge. The hotel is full of history, the dining room food is fabulous, and the amenities are lovely (tea in Great Lounge in the afternoon, morning coffee available until 11 in the mezzanine), but the room was a disappointment. The view was gorgeous (we could see Upper Yosemite Falls from out window), but they were having trouble with their ventilation system and our room heated to 80 degrees each night, making it hard to sleep. Even with the windows open (it was in the 40s overnight) the room stayed hot. So next time we go to Yosemite we will eat at the Ahwahnee, but not stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Ahwahnee Lodge in Yosemite National Park is a true gem, and one of a kind mountain lodge. I visited with my mom from Switzerland, and the lodge is very grand and impressive. We loved everything about it, and service was excellent. I have been a regular visitor to Yosemite National Park for 11 years, and always visit the Ahwahnee Lodge. Trails are easily accessible, The natural beauty and grandness of Yosemite National Park, seems to take my breath away each time I visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cottages on the property-which was perfect since I had two little ones in tow. Comfortable king size bed seperate room with closet/changing area-bathroom had a sink outside of the tub/shower toilet room--it was an easy stroll to the main hotel. The service in the bar for breakfast as well as for lunch was terrible--the staff were not the least bit happy to be there--the rest of the staff including the main dining room service were great-something about the bar staff was off.
The pool isn't anything fancy-but you aren't going here for the pool-the scenery surrounding the hotel is beautiful, the hotel public rooms are lovely. Be sure to book your dining reservations for breakfast and dinner ASAP-preferably before you arrive.
Looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A charismatic hotel, retaining the charms of its 1920's construction. Could not be more perfectly suited to explore the wonders of Yosemite.
The rooms are not luxurious but you a paying to have the view of a waterfall from you room window! - it's worth it!
The walks are incredible - The mist trail up the side of a gushing waterfall is a real once in a lifetime moment, and its all within easy access.

Room Tip: If you can avoid travelling in high season, then do so. A lot of the waterfalls dry up in lat spring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ahwahnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahwahnee

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahwahnee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 - With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Ahwahnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ahwahnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.