We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite worth the price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ahwahnee

Save Saved
You added The Ahwahnee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ahwahnee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, Calif
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not quite worth the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Always wanted to stay at the Ahwahnee after years of visits to Yosemite Lodge. After a two night stay here, I will be happy to go back to the Lodge! Sure, the Ahwahnee's got history, an extraordinary setting, great architectural value, and the staff service is really excellent, but ultimately you're paying for the name and everything, from the rooms to the food (especially), is simply not worth the money you pay. So if you want to go, consider it a splurge, hold your breath when you pay your bills, and just enjoy the experience of being in Yosemite Valley!

Room Tip: If possible, get a room that doesn't have an adjoining room door -- the noise comes right throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    374
    182
    103
    65
See reviews for
341
545
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A period hotel from 1927 still. With some modernization over time, the hotel is a great place to stay while at Yosemite. If you need to know the price of rooms, food, or drinks -- then this venue is not for you. Visit Yosemite & The Ahwahnee for its history, charm, and a step back in time. If you want a 5 star Ritz Carlton, then visit elsewhere. The great lounge is a wonderful place to sit early in the a.m. with a fire going, sun coming up over Half Dome or listening to Yosemite Falls. History lives within the hotel. Plenty comfortable moments await you while dining, at the Bar, or just walking the grounds. Staff is friendly and helpful to your needs. Remember: everything and the staff are imported to make the hotel function. You're in the middle of America's premier National Park. . . you may feel John Muir's or Ansel Adams spirit -- catch it too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Amazing building, design/decor, history, setting and the perfect location for exploring the park. I love the Kubrick connection as well and this alone made the visit worth it for me.

BUT, those things aside, there is plenty that is average about the hotel and if it didn't have its history and setting then no way in months of sundays would it get awayw ith the sorts of prices that it does. I can stay in Claridges in London for the same money I paid and the service, food etc. will be utterly fault free, the best you can find anywhere on the globe.

A couple of major points. When we arrived, the lady at the front desk did not warn us that evening dinner gets very busy/would be close to fully booked/closes its booking system at a certain time. Clearly the Ahwahnee has a problem with dining and could do with another restuarant (we noticed and interacted with other guests having the same problem and also not being warned about the diffuclty or competition to secure a reservation) but until that is resolved I feel that guests should be warned and prompted to book for dinner ASAP. We would have done had we known how busy it gets and we probably would have got a table. So if you're reading this, remember to book for dinner the moment you arrive. If you're stuck then book into the Mountain View at the lodge a few minutes away (which might actually be better food).

The Breakfast Buffet was also very disappointing and certainly not befitting of a $550/night stay. Poor choice, a tiny plate of fruit that was depleted, cold temperatures and generally dissapointing at any price, let alone $26+ per person. To give you an idea, the $11 buffet we had at the budget Yosemite View hotel was noticeably better with a lot more choice to boot. Service was also a little slow which never helps.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
são paulo
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Ahwahnne is a National Landmark located inside the Yosemite National Park, Sierra nevada, CA.
It was built in 1927 and has been mantained in flawless condition, keeping its classic style but with all amenities of a contemporary hotel.
The hotel is surrounded by huge rock mountains and a natural forest where guests can spot squirrels, deer, bobcats and even black bears!
The staff is very kind and supportive, the rooms are comfortable and spacious and the food is excellent.
The dining room is an iconic chapter of this fairy tale called "The Ahwahnee" - dining there is an experience of a lifetime.
If you ever have the chance, do as I fortunately did and book a room at The Ahwahnee to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed in 6th floor, most expensive suite ($1,000 plus/night). The sheets had holes in them. The ice "machine" was an ice bucket next to the elevator where I saw guests use their hands to retrieve the ice. (does the health dept. know about this?) Took 13 hours for housekeeping to pick up a discarded tray of food next to the elevator. The waiter in the grand restaurant was at best socially awkward and at worst, just snarky. Would have ordered more drinks and dessert, but literally could not find wait staff. Internet only available if you stand next to your window or leave the hotel. I even tried to contact the Ahwahnee management several times on their own facebook page to address my issues before posting on tripadvisor, but never heard back.
I know this is a world famous hotel with copious history, awards, etc, etc., but it is run down and the staff is indifferent. From their point of view, why work hard if your hotel has a monopoly?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Ahwahnee, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Melia F,
Thank you for your frank review; I appreciate your honesty. I am so very sorry and embarrassed to read that you had holes in your bed sheets, we didn't pick up your dirty room service tray for 13 hours, and the service in the Dining Room was not up to our standards. I can understand why you would think that we don't work hard for our guests because we have a "monopoly," but please know this is certainly not the case; I can assure you that my management team and I are passionate about creating special experiences for each of our guests, and I was accordingly very disappointed to read that we failed you on so many levels.

I'll be the first to admit that The Ahwahnee isn't perfect. We make mistakes like all hotels do, but what sets one hotel apart from another is their ability to take a negative experience and turn it into a positive one. I only wish that you would have called or stopped by the Front Desk sometime during your four-day stay to let us know that you weren't satisfied. We would have jumped at the opportunity to turn your stay around. I did note in your review that you posted a comment on The Ahwahnee's Facebook page while waiting for your tray to be picked up, but as I'm sure you'll understand, we simply can't be on Facebook all the time. We use our Facebook page primarily for updates on the happenings and special events of the hotel, and though it's updated regularly, it's not an effective means of contacting the hotel for immediate service. As such, I regret that your message didn't get to us until it was too late, and that we didn't have the opportunity to change your perception of The Ahwahnee.

I do hope that your experience won't discourage you from visiting Yosemite in the future. Should you return, we would love to have another chance at showing you the true Ahwahnee experience.

Best Regards,
Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The rooms are expensive, but you are staying in history, and right in the heart of Yosemite park.
The building is beautiful and full of charm. The fireplace had a person standing in it, to stoke the roaring fire in the grand living room.
Our room, 304, has an amazing view of waterfall. Staying here in Spring, there are waterfalls everywhere.
The room is small, but not cramped. The bed is big and comfortable and feels like I'm staying in Grandmas bed. The bathroom is cute and complete with original fittings. The bath is small but enough to soak in after walking the trails.
There is a connecting door to the next room, that remained locked, but from somewhere we could here loud creaking and groaning of floorboards or walls settling. Not disturbing, tho.
The bar has vreasonable priced meals. The restaurant is a bit more expensive but worth it for a splurge of glamour.
We ate out once at the village food court to save money but it wasn't that much cheaper. So the rest of our meals were here at the lodge.

Room Tip: I think most rooms should have excellent views. But try to get on the 3rd floor or more for quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The Ahwahnee is a destination unlike any other. Few places could match the grandeur of Yosemite, and here you are in one of the most beautiful places in the park. The prices are not for the faint of wallet, and you need to lower your expectations. The rooms are small, as are the bathrooms. We reserved a balcony room, and the fine print said shared. What we had was a very small balcony, with a view to die for, separated by our neighbor with a wooden screen. Unfortunately, our first night, the neighbors were a group of young men (lots of loud conversation, raucous laughter, dude this and dude that, you get the picture). Lucky for us, they were gone the next day, and the quiet couple who checked in- we never heard them. The public areas are beautiful. Except for the pool. i guess they needed to do it, but its a big round blemish,that takes away space from a beautiful peice of property, and attracts mostly kids. I've read complaints here about the staff, but we found just the opposite. Many have been there decades, love the place, and it shows. Cliff (from Muleshoe, TX, as it says on his badge) is a charming gent, probably near 70, who serves tea in the afternoon and seats folks in the dining room. Louie is one of the maintenance people who we struck up a conversation with while enjoying a pre dinner cocktail outside. We told him we were there for a special anniversary. A few minutes later he appears with a boxed bon-bon from the Sweet Shop. What a special surprise! We are well traveled and although this was a small gesture, it was so well meaning and so unexpected, it brought us to tears. The Dining Room- a beautiful place, with very good servers and a variable staff of assistants. A few were frankly bizarre. One night the soup was seafood chowder. i asked if it was cream based or red? Our waiters assistant was totally non-plussed. We never did find out. The food was good, not great. Pretty much standard hotel fare, although the prime rib was outstanding. The prices are high for what you get. The wine list is short, and expensive. The corkage- hold on to your hat- $30. The staff makes sure you know that before they pop your bottle as the mention of it is in fine print on the menu. They seem a bit embarrassed by it, and should not be. But management sure should. This is California after all, one of the great places in the world for wine, where many collect and save special bottles for occasions like visiting the Ahwahnee. There is simply no excuse for this excessive charge. Breakfast buffet is $25. Save your money and order a-la-carte. You'll spend half of that and have plenty to eat. We will return as we love Yosemite and the charm of the Ahwahnee, and if you can afford it, you should stay at least once. But it's not perfect, so come expecting that, enjoy the architecture, the people, the quirks, the beauty and spirit that is Yosemite.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ahwahnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahwahnee

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahwahnee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 - With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ahwahnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ahwahnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.