We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this historic hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ahwahnee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Ahwahnee to your Saves list
The Ahwahnee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston area
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved this historic hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spent our first 2 nights in Yosemite at the Lodge by the Falls, and our last night at the Ahwahnee in a Classic hotel room with 2 double beds & pullout sleeper sofa. We loved the Ahwahnee. The afternoon that we checked in, we went on a 1 pm Ahwahnee tour that made us appreciate the historic hotel even more. We love the character & history of older hotels. It was a treat spending time in the public areas of the hotel. We all liked the Native American/lodge decor, stained glass windows, and painted ceiling beams. It is expensive to stay here, but it was such a great experience for us that we all agreed it was worth it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    438
    209
    112
    71
See reviews for
397
688
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Expensive, but in my opinion worth it.

Stayed one night as part of a road trip around lots of National Parks. If I was planning the trip again I would stay here for a week. Yosemite is stunning !

Hotel is a historic building, so that limits severely how much can be done to update it, but that is also it's charm. We found it very pleasant, slightly quirky, but entirely acceptable. Room was OK, but the view (of Half Dome) made up for that and moved it to the 'Very Good' class for us.

Staff were good. Everyone we spoke to was pleasant, helpful and efficient.

Food was good, service was a little slow but pleasant. Breakfast portions are enormous !

Bottom line, would we go back? Yes please ! It is expensive, and it isn't a standard corporate 4* hotel, but we liked it. A lot !

Room Tip: A 'view' room usually means a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Checked in with family for a 3 night stay. Lobby, main areas and dining rooms are very impressive. However the hotel rooms leave a lot to be desired. Extremely soiled old carpets, musty rooms, semi gray towels (clean but very old).. way out of sync with the prices charged and the image the hotel wants to put out. More like motel rooms with a 5 star hotel image. Totally anachronistic.

Reception staff friendly but not all were knowledgable or proactive. Asked them to make a dinner reservation at the hotel and was told to go there myself to do that. Other hotels would call the restaurant and do so themselves.

Conceirge was very nice nd very helpful but desk only open till 8 pm.

The main restaurant at the hotel was impressive and with good food and servers. However the staff at the door were rude and very poorly trained and not quite hospitable . They need to go.

Overall a very mixed experience and if we had an alternative better choice in the park we would have definately chosen to stay elsewhere as value for money is not what you get here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The price and the quality of this hotel is not at all worth it.

We were told that check in is guaranteed by 4pm. 430 and our room is still not ready.

We had twin beds, not even queen sized beds, and the beds were lumpy and not comfortable. Worst sleep ever.

The room was not the cleanest, I found a used dinner linen and fork behind a chair. The room was dusty and the bathroom had hair in it that was not ours ( had just arrived). As well, the shower had mold and smelled musty.

Overall, would not stay here and definitely would not recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Very pricey but a "bucket list" experience for us. We were hoping the negative reviews were simply excessively fussy. Having now stayed there, I can understand how people were not impressed. Certainly the setting and views are world class but the overall experience is not up to the standards of the great hotels. We stayed at the Westin Verasa in Napa after staying here and the overall level of service was much better at the Westin.

I think one question people have is do you go for the main hotel or the cottages. We had a classic corner room on the 5th floor of the hotel with a view of Yosemite Falls which unfortunately is drying up quickly this summer. Not too much to see in late June. Our friends had a cottage and having seen both I would probably opt for the cottage. They were a bit dated but had a charm to them that made them a little more special than the hotel room.

The restaurant and bar are also a little overrated. No major problem with either but not outstanding like they should be.

Would we stay here again at these prices? No. Do it once if you can afford it but don't expect an experience to match the surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were there the weekend of June 22nd. It is an amazing hotel and the location cannot be beat. I've stayed at amazing hotels and the location and views of this hotels tops my list.

We stayed in the cottage and it had a stunning fireplace, a patio, living room, and views. Service was amazing: air conditioner was out and they discounted my room, which was appreciated because it is an expensive hotel.

If you want classic charm, elegance and beauty, go to the Ahwahnee hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Grand hotel in what has to be one of the best locations in the world. Whilst it is an older hotel everything was top knotch. Large size rooms, fantastic service & the views are out of this world. My wife thought she had died & gone to heaven-:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ahwahnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahwahnee

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahwahnee 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 - With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ahwahnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ahwahnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.