We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ahwahnee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Ahwahnee to your Saves list
The Ahwahnee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I've stayed at numerous hotels with National Parks and other similar age hotels before and this was the worst. Compared to other National Park hotels it is considerably overpriced (3-4 times more expensive). Yes, it does have stunning views but then so do the other National Park hotels. Other similar age hotels are also cheaper and of a lot better quality.

The room we were in, which I assume was the norm, was tired, dated and basic. Not even a coffee machine. Reference was made to the "historic" Indian motif borders which were being redone - sorry, but B&Q/Home Depot sell nicer stuff at a $1.99 a roll.

I also never read far enough into the dining room guide to hear about the collared shirt dress code. Again, I've dined in nicer/fancier hotels and ave never been turned away before. Not what I expected here.

Book somewhere else in the area and use the $300+ saved for another night somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    437
    209
    112
    71
See reviews for
396
686
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We are from the SF Bay Area and have been to Yosemite a few dozen times. Our normal destination (in the Valley) is the Yosemite Lodge or Curry Village. We have had breakfast/brunch/dinner at the Awhahnee several times and have always enjoyed the experience.

This year we stayed at the Ahwahnee. As reported before the rooms are relatively plain by todays standards. Having said that, this hotel was built in 1927 and is the classic example of a National Park hotel from that era. Back then, your hotel room was less important than the common areas, which are spectacular.

If you go, take a moment to linger in the Great Room. Enjoy a meal in the grand Dining Room. The food is good but not great, which is fine. You don't come here for the food, you come for the experience.

Room Tip: Call a year in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

This is our second stay at the Ahwahnee, and while we've never paid as much to stay anywhere as we have here, we think it's worth it for the sheer comfort, convenient location and charm. We checked in on my husband's 40th birthday, and the staff made sure he was warmly welcomed. There was even a card and chocolates in the room from the housekeeper. James at the front desk was extremely friendly and accommodating, moving us from a cottage room to the main hotel and even checking for availability and extending our stay an extra night so we wouldn't have to move to the Lodge. He made sure we got a quiet room with a spectacular view of the Upper Falls. Thanks, James! Dinner was superb; our waiter, Gerry, was a hoot, the great dining hall is simply jaw-dropping, and the food was excellent. After a tiring day of driving, hiking to a couple of the (gushing) waterfalls and having a big dinner, it was a pleasure to sleep like a rock in the exceptionally cozy featherbed. The room was small but well-appointed and comfortable: Bathroom amenities are wonderful, wi fi works well (although we don't get phone service, but that's kind of a blessing) and there's even a small fridge for wine and cheese or whatever you want to nibble on. I also love that they serve high tea from 4-5 p.m. and have free coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the bar in the morning. The shuttle bus is convenient to get around to trailheads, the visitors center, store, etc., so we parked our car and never had to move it again. This is a very old building and doesn't have the polish of a brand-spanking-new resort, but the history, ambience and staff more than make up for it, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

The only place to stay in the park, and given that you are only there to see the park it's ok.
Hugely busy... theme park style restaurant and food for lunch. Stayed in one of the rooms outside of the main hotel building. Old, tired, etc.... but didn't expect anymore than we got really. Dinner in the main building made me feel like I had been transported to the hotel that Jack Nicholson was looking after in the shining, and that amused me.
Obviously don't go expecting anything approaching luxury, but enjoy it nonetheless. Is what I imagine the best Alton Towers hotel is like (with the obvious huge additional benefit of its location). Obviously a Four Seasons would have been nicer, but an FS in the middle of Yosemite, no, that's not going to work.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Last weekend, we took the train to Merced and a shuttle to the Ahwahnee for a weekend stay. It turned out to be a bit longer than we expected.
The hotel was lovely, with comfortable couches by huge roaring fireplaces, floor-to-ceiling windows looking out on magnificent scenery, and of course, the excellent restaurant. We were given a lovely corner balcony room overlooking the Royal Arches cataracts. The room was well appointed, with a large closet, large bathroom, table and chairs, sound system for our iphones, refrigerator, and king bed. We had dinner and spent the evening reading by the fire.
However, that night a big storm hit, knocking out power, closing roads, and causing all sorts of problems. When the lights went out at the Ahwahnee, it was totally dark...for about three minutes. Then, with a gentle buzz, the lights came back on. They have diesel generator backup!
The storm lasted for several days, and we were stranded. No one, including our AMTRAK shuttle, could enter or leave the park. The Ahwahnee extended our stay at a reduced rate, and arranged for our passage out of the park to connect with Amtrak as soon as it was feasible. The hotel also had enough diesel, food, and beverages to weather the storm. We found out later that others in the park were stranded at their hotels without heat, light, or hot water. What could have been a cold, stressful ordeal was actually a nice extended vacation. We enjoyed trekking all around the valley during the day and snuggling up by the fire or in our room at night.

Thank you Ahwahnee for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This review is a bit late but here goes...
We stayed at The Ahwahnee and it was amazing. Our stay was last December for Bracebridge.
I have no idea what some people are talking about. The room was beautiful, sheets were crisp and white. Service was friendly, professional and very swift.
We can't wait to return.
Thank you Deleware North for offering us the very best of the best!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011 via mobile

Great food And a outstanding view for what it is I love it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ahwahnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahwahnee

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahwahnee 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 - With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ahwahnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ahwahnee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.