We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thought it was fine.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Columbia MD, US
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“We thought it was fine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2005

When you go to Yosemite, and you don't want to camp, you have a few choices. If you stay inside the park, you can stay at the historic Ahwahnee Hotel for big bucks (with air conditioning) or at the Yosemite Lodge (without AC), or you can stay outside the park at a nice hotel/motel, but with a 30 minute drive on windey mountian roads to get to the Village. This year, we chose the Lodge. We found no musty smells or bugs or other critters, but during the blistering heat wave of July '05, it was HOT in the room! The room was large and had an adequate bathroom, beds were fine, and we had a small balcony. The staff at the front desk could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Although it cooled off at night, when the daytime temps were around 100, there was a lot of cooling off needed to make the room comfortable for sleeping. This was really our only complaint. If we had gone at a cooler time of year, or if the temps had been more normal, we would have been satisfied. The Lodge is actually a collection of individual buildings with several rooms in each. Some are tucked away in the woods and some are near the parking lot. Some have views of Yosemite Falls. We did find that hot water was scarce on Sat. and Sunday mornings. We didn't mind the Food Court. It had a large variety of offerings and plenty of room. And it was cool inside! If you go to a National Park, just remember that you can't expect to stay at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    870
    542
    244
    146
See reviews for
819
985
66
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

Booked for two nights and only stayed for one on 7/21/05. Booking here was a huge mistake and pretty much ruined what should have been a fun time for our family. The temperature was over 100 and the room was hotter inside than outdoors and there was no air conditioning. The room looked old and worn and there were several cobwebs inside our room. Our room looked nothing like the rooms pictured on the site and so there must be some remodeled and we got stuck with a bad room. There were no screens on the doors, so to air out the heat we had to endure pests coming in. The room felt like it was well over 120 degrees inside and we were bitten all over our bodies within minutes of arriving. We have a seven-year-old son and he wanted to go home immediately because we were so uncomfortable and attacked by so many bugs. The room was in desperate need of repair. The shower needed re-grouting and had mold and mildew stains. The carpet was stained and coming up at the seams. The sink faucet looked like it had not been cleaned ever and had extreme moldy buildup. We weren’t even able to use the pool to cool off because it was closed for the day. We were very disappointed and feel ripped off. It is not fair that some rooms are remodeled and others are not. You don’t have a choice in the room they put you in and it’s a crapshoot at what you get. Unfortunately, we were not treated nice and were put in a bug infested, run down, dirty room for close to two hundred a night.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

Pro's:
1. You are at the heart of the park.
2. Very decent and tasteful rooms with good decor.
3. Balconies of some of the rooms are overlooked by the Yosemite Falls - fantastic! We were lucky.

Con's:
1. A little bit towards the expensive side.
2. Finding a parking is very difficult. Visitors, park tourists and guests share the same parking spaces which is a little unfair.
3. Some of the rooms are far away from the parking lot. If you have a lot of luggage, it is extremely painful to carry your luggage to the rooms. We were unlucky.
4. Very crowded. Feels more like a busy city than a park.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2005

We stayed at Yosemite Lodge, the Azalea Building in a room on the 2nd floor. We just returned on the 15th so we were there during the heat wave. Had a great time, no complaints. Did short spectacular hikes, floated down the river, took the 2 hour valley tour and the Starry night program. I am willing to share more details if posted on the forum. My forum name is nature woman. Thank-you to all the people on the forum who shared info before our trip.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2005

13 of my family members just stayed at the Yosemite Lodge. Not one of us had a complaint about anything. The accomodations were fine. The rooms were clean, housekeeping was very efficient, the staff were all friendly, the two restaurants had nice food, the grounds were nicely kept as to give you the feel of being in the surrounding forest, and the price was worth being able to stay in comfort instead of camping like we had in the past. No worries about bears.
Do bring mosquito spray for your skin and in your room. They are all over the park now.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2005

We were booked here for two nights but checked out after the first night. Our room was in the Cottonwood building (Yosemite Lodge is a motel with multiple buildings) and it was infested with mosquitoes and other bugs. Although we spent hours killing off as many mosquitoes etc. as we could find (and we are talking at least 100 bugs) we could hardly sleep because we were being bitten the whole night. Granted there had been flooding in Yosemite and there were lots of mosquitoes outside but the rooms shouldn't be infested. Even sleeping under the covers didn't help because I was being bitten by other bugs that I couldn't see. On top of this our room was very musty-smelling, not very clean and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The desk clerks when we checked in were very rude and indifferent. Clearly the management doesn't spend any money in keeping this place up and just takes advantage of the nice location to charge as much as they can for poor quality rooms. We checked out as soon as we could the next morning. The desk clerk didn't seem very concerned that we were unhappy. Staying here totally ruined our trip and I would never stay here again. The rooms here aren't that cheap (around $179 per night). Look around as I'm sure you can find much cleaner and nicer lodging somewhere else in or near the park.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2005

Like all but one of the hotels in Yosemite valley, the Yosemite Lodge is almost derelict and way overdue for modernisation. The rooms have no air conditioning and are full of mosquitoes - we spent most of the night trying to get rid of them so we didn't get bitten to death. You need to get up early - the Lodge has a 1950's hot water system and if you get up much past 7am, there's no hot water. The room we had had a musty smell to it with peeling wallpaper and rotting wood in the door and around the window frames. The flyscreen looked like it had last seen attention sometime in the 80's.

The food is very average and extremely overpriced. For example a breakfast for two cost us nearly $20. The employees in the cafeteria are not the most polite people you'll come across, and only once out of the four times we ate in there did they get our order right.
They do have a more formal restaurant but you have to queue. The guides tell you that you can make reservations, but you can't.

On the plus side, like other reviewers have said, the location is amazing, right next to the main Yosemite Falls. The Lodge has bicycle rental for $7.50 and hour, or $24 a day which is well worth doing and there's a free shuttle stop outside the reception. They have an Olympic sized swimming pool too which is good for a refreshing dip.

Our room was $128 a night, but in reality the Lodge isn't worth much over $50 a night. Honestly next time we're going to rent an RV and park up somewhere - it will be cheaper and we'll be able to have our own food.

One last note : gas / petrol. There are no gas stations inside the park valley. There's one at Crane Flats, inside the west gate, where gas in the summer of 2005 was $3.90 a gallon. Just outside the park on SR140 is another gas station at $4.50 a gallon. Fill up before you get to the park!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.