We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
long island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2005

We stayed at Yosemite Lodge, the Azalea Building in a room on the 2nd floor. We just returned on the 15th so we were there during the heat wave. Had a great time, no complaints. Did short spectacular hikes, floated down the river, took the 2 hour valley tour and the Starry night program. I am willing to share more details if posted on the forum. My forum name is nature woman. Thank-you to all the people on the forum who shared info before our trip.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    780
    513
    241
    145
See reviews for
720
891
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2005

13 of my family members just stayed at the Yosemite Lodge. Not one of us had a complaint about anything. The accomodations were fine. The rooms were clean, housekeeping was very efficient, the staff were all friendly, the two restaurants had nice food, the grounds were nicely kept as to give you the feel of being in the surrounding forest, and the price was worth being able to stay in comfort instead of camping like we had in the past. No worries about bears.
Do bring mosquito spray for your skin and in your room. They are all over the park now.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2005

We were booked here for two nights but checked out after the first night. Our room was in the Cottonwood building (Yosemite Lodge is a motel with multiple buildings) and it was infested with mosquitoes and other bugs. Although we spent hours killing off as many mosquitoes etc. as we could find (and we are talking at least 100 bugs) we could hardly sleep because we were being bitten the whole night. Granted there had been flooding in Yosemite and there were lots of mosquitoes outside but the rooms shouldn't be infested. Even sleeping under the covers didn't help because I was being bitten by other bugs that I couldn't see. On top of this our room was very musty-smelling, not very clean and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The desk clerks when we checked in were very rude and indifferent. Clearly the management doesn't spend any money in keeping this place up and just takes advantage of the nice location to charge as much as they can for poor quality rooms. We checked out as soon as we could the next morning. The desk clerk didn't seem very concerned that we were unhappy. Staying here totally ruined our trip and I would never stay here again. The rooms here aren't that cheap (around $179 per night). Look around as I'm sure you can find much cleaner and nicer lodging somewhere else in or near the park.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2005

Like all but one of the hotels in Yosemite valley, the Yosemite Lodge is almost derelict and way overdue for modernisation. The rooms have no air conditioning and are full of mosquitoes - we spent most of the night trying to get rid of them so we didn't get bitten to death. You need to get up early - the Lodge has a 1950's hot water system and if you get up much past 7am, there's no hot water. The room we had had a musty smell to it with peeling wallpaper and rotting wood in the door and around the window frames. The flyscreen looked like it had last seen attention sometime in the 80's.

The food is very average and extremely overpriced. For example a breakfast for two cost us nearly $20. The employees in the cafeteria are not the most polite people you'll come across, and only once out of the four times we ate in there did they get our order right.
They do have a more formal restaurant but you have to queue. The guides tell you that you can make reservations, but you can't.

On the plus side, like other reviewers have said, the location is amazing, right next to the main Yosemite Falls. The Lodge has bicycle rental for $7.50 and hour, or $24 a day which is well worth doing and there's a free shuttle stop outside the reception. They have an Olympic sized swimming pool too which is good for a refreshing dip.

Our room was $128 a night, but in reality the Lodge isn't worth much over $50 a night. Honestly next time we're going to rent an RV and park up somewhere - it will be cheaper and we'll be able to have our own food.

One last note : gas / petrol. There are no gas stations inside the park valley. There's one at Crane Flats, inside the west gate, where gas in the summer of 2005 was $3.90 a gallon. Just outside the park on SR140 is another gas station at $4.50 a gallon. Fill up before you get to the park!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2005

Firstly let me agree with other writers that this Lodge is all about location, location, location. However, when the management of this establishment are obviously exploiting its clientele because of this fact then they deserve to get all the bad reviews, if only in the hope that they improve the situation. Where do I start. This is not a Lodge - it is a motel and a poor one at that. There is no central building with a beautiful Great room and fireplace as at other National Parks. Just a lobby/reception area. The rooms are in motel style buildings dotted around the lobby. Our first problem was that there was no parking! When we went back to reception to inform them of this we were told to park in the restricted area, but to move the car by 8am so the buses could use it. We were told the reason parking space was so limited was because a camp site near by used the parking lots; they were unable to move these cars because they did not know which cars belonged to the hotel guests and which to the campers. Hotel guests did not always use their parking pass so they could not tow away unauthorised cars. What pass we asked? "The one we gave you with your other papers", we were told. However they had not bothered to tell us the significance of this pass and to put it onto our windscreen which would allow us to park in the relevant parking areas. Probably they failed to tell other guests too. So whose fault is it that they are unable to tow away the cars which are not supposed to be in the car parks? They obviously don't care anyway - let the guests drive around and around looking for parking.
We were in the Maple building. The room was of a reasonable size, but had the aroma of damp. The carpet was dingy, sticky and lumpy in places. Some of the rooms have been renovated I understand but not this one. The furniture and drapes were cheap, there was inadequate drawer space and only 6 hangers between two of us. We were staying for 5 days. The bathroom itself was was spacious with just the bath/shower and toilet in it. It was old with a shower curtain just developing mold spots on it. The sink was outside. It has one small shelf above it with no undersink cupboard or anywhere else to put things. One electric socket. The wall mounted hairdryer was on the floor - no-one had bothered to attach it to the wall, so it would dangle in the sink when we plugged it in. Toiletries? "In order to limit the amount of waste in land fills" - as the sign on the wall said - dispensers of soap, shampoo etc had been provided. One of them did not work as the trigger was broken and was never repaired. The water was hot though at all times and the towels adequate. Our patio consisted of 2 metal chairs on a few rows of tiles that looked as though they had not been swept in months. The windows were dirty too, but since there was only long, unkept grass and weeds to see maybe this did not matter too much. Staff are unhelpful and unfriendly. We decided to leave one night earlier so I went to reception at approx 9pm to book out ready for an early start. There were 3 receptionists , none of which looked up to acknowledge me. After about 30 seconds one attended to me. The next morning when I dropped off the keys, the line was going out of the door with people trying to book out and there was 1 receptionist. This typifies the standard of service and the professionalism of this establishment. On final good point, we did enjoy the food in the Mountain room even if it was pricey. Yes location is everything, but it still bugs me to pay $170+ a night for a cheap motel room

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2005

We passed here one nght during our honeymoon trip to the States.
When we opened the door a horrible smell was coming our way. Whatever we tried, the smell stayed in the room.
The bathroom wasn't clean at all and was very aged.
Like other reviewers we were obliged to have our meals in the food court; my worst dinner-experience in our three-week-stay.
Of course I understand this is "only" a lodge, but taken in account the price You have to pay for a room the room could at least be clean.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2005

We checked in last minute at Yosemite in one of the log cabins, even though they were supposed to be closed for the winter. Upon inspection of our room we found numerous fresh mice droppings all around the room - even on the bedside cabinets. We told the receptionist about this and his response was 'we can give you some traps.' I refused the kind offer and insisted we were moved to another part of the park and we were checked into the lodge. They also had mice problems but they had at least cleaned up the mice droppings that day. It was a very very basic room. If you are at all fussy about your room then I strongly recommend you don't stay in Yosemite Park (except for the main Ahwanee hotel). It is generally overpriced, unclean and impersonal. The bars and restaurants (limited as it is a park after all) were probably worse than those at a regional airport.

I recommend you enjoy the park, then drive to a nearby town/city and stay there.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.