We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine lodging for the winter, or any season.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Petaluma, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fine lodging for the winter, or any season.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Comfortable room, excellent dining, in one of the most beautiful places on earth. The lodge has easy access to Yosemite Falls, and to the shuttle that takes one to the other sites in the valley. One can also access the Valley loop trail.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    785
    513
    242
    145
See reviews for
722
894
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The cleanliness of this place is excellence. The service is just satisfy. Food at cafeteria is great and reasonable price. There are free shuttle bus service stop around hotel. They are no elevator service. You might have a little hard time to carry stuff by yourself. They are serious about police for no food in your car because of 'aware bear'.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Bathroom upgrades are wonderful! Accommodations are warm and welcoming! We love staying at the Lodge - close to all activities and within walking distance of the falls. Very welcoming to families. Room was very clean!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came up for a three night stay in order to experience the Bracebridge Dinner. The staff at the hotel and restaurants were all very friendly and helpful (except for the gentleman running the tours/activities desk who seemed unhappy to be there), and the room was clean and warm. The accommodations are fairly basic, but we were comfortable and spent most of our time exploring anyway. The view we had in the Willow building was not fantastic, and there was very little natural light during the day.

The rates are high for what is offered, but there are not many options within the park (especially during winter), and it is much more reasonable than the Ahwahnee.

Overall, I would be very happy to return to the Lodge on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
877 helpful votes 877 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

1. We were at the Lodge November 1-3, 2014 at 3224 Laurel. I had previously stayed at 3221 Laurel, 3515 Maple, 3523 Maple, 3330 Juniper, 3922 Cedar, 3401 Hemlock, and 4229 Elderberry.

2. The Lodge has 15 buildings for guests. Lodge rooms go for $89, $119 or $199 depending on time of year. $20 more on Friday/Sat. Reservations at yosemitepark.com, up to a year in advance, with cancellations 7 days in advance without penalty.

3. We are on the Delaware North Corporation e-mail list, and every May receive an e-mail announcing special winter rates during their 72 hour sale of lodging in Yosemite National Park.

4. These are often Sunday-Thursday bookings only, which is fine with me, as that means few school age kids -the walls built in 1954 have little noise insulation.

5. We made our reservations as early as possible in November , when the rates fall from $219 to $105 per night for a ‘Lodge’ room -$20 more on Fridays and Saturdays.

6. Vehicles are required to carry chains when traveling in the Park in the winter. We go by route 140 rather than 120, through Mariposa, and the lower elevation usually means no chain controls. But we carry tension cables for our Prius just in case.

7. Azalia, Willow, Elderberry, Cottonwood, and Manzanita have the best view of the Falls, but in the winter time all you are going to see are bare granite walls.

8. Manzanita, Willow and Cedar are closest to the pool, with Azalia and Cottonwood nearby, but you will only see an empty below ground level concrete basin in the winter, not open to skateboarders!

9. 2nd floor Aspen, Dogwood, and Tamarack have the largest windows, rising up to the top of the cathedral ceilings, and with the Falls not running, parking should be plentiful, with no daytime visitors.

10. We almost always reserve end units on the second floor at Laurel or Juniper, farthest from the bus loading/unloading area next to Maple and Alder.

11. All buildings. except Cedar, have balconies on the 2nd floor and patios on the 1st floor. Entry door in the front, balcony in the back. Windows in the back. End units desireable with fewer neighbors.

12. Hemlock, Maple, Cedar have interior corridors. Handy when raining, but corridor noise comes under the doors, and they lack the cross ventilation of rooms with external doors

13. Second floor rooms have better views, cathedral ceilings, no footfall noise, are more secure, but difficult to cool in the summer, and require hauling luggage up the stairs.

14. 1st floor units are less secure, wheeled luggage accessible, and cooler in the summer. They are safer for children, with room to play next to the patio. The upstairs balcony overhang, and lower ceiling makes them dark. Squirrels get in easier -no sliding door screens

15. Parking is often right next to the units. The buildings with the farthest walk to the parking lot are Birch, Azalia, Cottonwood and Manzanita.

16. 199 lodge rooms have either a king size bed, or two double beds, and a balcony or patio. 15 smaller standard rooms without the balcony/patio, all in Cedar, cost less. Avoid standard rooms on 1st floor of Cedar, with windows on a busy walkway.

17. 27 bunk rooms, the same size as a lodge room, all in Hemlock, with a bunk bed with a double on the bottom and a single on the top, and an adjacent queen bed.

18. 4 family rooms, on 2nd floor of Cedar, similar to a bunk room but with added fold out sofa bed, and double the size in a suite configuration with dining table.

19. Avoid Cedar and Hemlock, as it will be noisy with 5-7 people next door!

20. Rooms have a 22" fridge, a keyed safe for iphones/tablets, no microwaves, no coffee makers: you get 1 Food Court coffee voucher per adult per day.

21. Maple, Alder, and Hemlock are closest to the Food Court cafeteria. Tamarack, Dogwood, Aspen, and Laurel are farthest away -about a 4 minute walk. Other chow spots: Mountain Lounge (sports bar) , Mountain Room Restaurant(open 5-8pm).

22. Maple and Alder are closest to the daytime tour bus loading/unloading area, and the free shuttle bus stop, going to the Mist Trail, Mirror Lake, the Ahwahnee, and Yosemite Village. Noisy and congested.

23. Laurel and Juniper have the closest most available parking -balconies face the meadows, with midday sun. They are farthest from the Falls, where the day visitors park.

24. Rooms are often not ready until the 5pm check in time. Every parking spot will be taken on Saturday afternoons in the Spring and Summer, but not in the winter!

25. Laurel and Juniper have the closest most available parking -balconies face the meadows, with midday sun. Our room 3224 was 2 rooms down from the very end, with sunshine on the balcony from 10am to 230pm in the winter, and equipped with 2 double beds in a 14’x 21’ room.

26. The main disadvantage of staying in Laurel, is that you are right next to the bus parking area, where some drivers idle their noisy, smelly buses despite signs telling them not to do so.

27. It could be far worse. Birch has no view of the Falls, the longest walk to the parking lot, among the closest to the North Side Drive and road noises, viewing the dumpsters and delivery area behind the Restaurant. There are worse rooms.

28. The worst rooms are 3901-3902 Cedar, ground floor standard rooms, under an overhang, windows on a busy walkway, noise from talking and ice machine, viewing the supply sheds. Standard rooms 3905 and 3906 Cedar next to the stairs aren't much better.

29. Bike rentals $31, some with toddler trailers.

30. 3 years of renovations complete for all 245 rooms with new bathrooms, new mattresses, new lime yellow paint, new carpets, and 36" flat screen TVs.

31. Same lack of noise insulation, poor cell phone access, and very slow WiFi. You are out of luck if next door has a crying baby or loud snorer!

32. Your car with coffee inside will be remodeled when the bears arrive overnight!

33. Winter means the Glacier Point road is closed, Mirror lake is a dry sand pit, Tioga Road is closed, and the upper Mist trail to Vernal Falls is closed due to icy stairs.

34. Valley alternatives: Ahwahnee Hotel, Curry Village, Housekeeping Camp, Camp 4.

Room Tip: Manzanita, Willow and Cedar are closest to the closed pool open in the summer. Azalia, Willow, Eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel has a great location with a view of Yosemite Falls. The rooms have all been re-decorated, are clean and a decent size. It's easy to get around Yosemite with the free shuttle stop located right at the hotel. The only negative is that the paths around the property are not lit at night making it very hard to find your room at night. We stayed n the Cottonwood building and the was the furthest in the back of the property and the furthest from the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a building close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just completed 3 nights at Yosemite Lodge for at least my fourth visit.This year the rooms have been "remodeled", but I would more call them "redecorated". We were in the Azelea building, which is a "deluxe" room, by Lodge standards, but not by most hotel definitions.

The bathroom had new toilets, new shower siding and new shower heads/spouts and handles, and probably new flooring inside the BR door. Outside the door is a new countertop with new spouts and handles. There is hanging space, shelves, iron & ironing board, and extra heaters, and a new curtain to cover the closet. A new small refrigerator sits below the counter, that has can holders. There is now a small coffee maker.
The bedroom had two comfortable double beds with new headboards, with fitted sheets which seemed too big. A bedside table sits between the beds. The bedspreads have been replaced. There is now a new flat screen TV over a new dresser, and a small round table with 2 chairs.
The decor is appropriately "woodsy". I am not sure if the carpet was replaced. The wall heater doesn't seem very responsive, but the room wasn't cold like it used to be. There is a sliding glass door out onto a small patio, and a beautiful view of trees and cliffs.
The walls are thin, but it didn't disturb us late at night.
The free internet was VERY SLOW, in fact almost useless. I don't remember having this trouble before. You have to log in again each day around 5 PM.
The front desk people have always been very friendly and helpful. On request, housekeeping brought us extra blankets and extension cord. The room was clean when we arrived, but they did not appear to vacuum in between days.
This is an old facility and not like newly built chain hotels. It is comparable to most of the other National Park hotel rooms, and I have stayed in many. If you want a fancier place, stay outside the park in El Portal. If you want to be in the Park, which I always do (even tho' we live only an hour away) and not camp and not spend $500 at the Ahwahnee, the Lodge works just fine for me. We do go to the different dining rooms throughout the park to eat.

Room Tip: We like Azalea because it is close to the restaurant, lobby, and cafeteria, and bus stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.