We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite expensive but paying for location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Lodge At The Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quite expensive but paying for location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We arrived at Yosemite from San Francisco and were greeted with the most amazing scenery. Check in was smooth with bear information to read and sign. We stayed in the lodges across from main reception. Pretty basic with no air con therefore the ceiling fan was well used. Two queen size beds. Relatively clean with access to balcony. We ate in the main restaurant one night as it was our anniversary and the food was lovely, especially the wine! Access to wifi in the main reception areas. Hiring bikes is very easy and a good way to get around the valley floor. Pool was clean and inviting, unfortunately no water in August therefore did not get a chance to the falls in full spate! At the end of the day, you wil spend most of your time outside therefore room was fit for purpose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    639
    466
    230
    135
See reviews for
630
728
48
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having not been to Yosemite since i was a kid, i stayed here 2 nights (9-18 and 9-19). I was tremendously disappointed and wished that i had splurged to stay at the Awhahnee Lodge or at Wawona. There is nothing Lodge like about this hotel, but rather it is a sort of barracks. There is a building where you go to register and then there are these 1 and 2 story pods with the guest rooms. There is no large fireplace. There is a formal restaurant (the large picture windows in the professional photo shown) that does not face the park, but rather the meeting area for the 10 busses that drop off tourists to use the bathroom or to buy coffee in the food court (yes, that is its name- Food Court).
The room i had in the Birch pod (4704) was large, had two double beds, a small fridge, large LCD TV, and was very dark and worn. The carpet was worn and dirty, and had not ben vacuumed in a while. There are warnings everywhere about the rodents and the disease/virus that has been found (which i found rather shocking). The bed was very uncomfortably hard. Unlike others, i did not find the front desk staff helpful. Checkin took 15 minutes and there was no one in front of me, plus their instructions on how to find the Birch pod was not clear (but i will admit i was very tired). Parking was impossible to find if you arrive either while the busses are dropping/picking up large tour groups (they blocked me in for 30 minutes) or after dark (if you go to see the sunset at Glacier Point). The good thing is they keep light pollution down but as a result, bring a flashlight if you need to go from a remote parking area to your pod. There is an ice machine that is operated by your metal room key in the pod near the reception building.
If you insist on staying here, do not buy through otel.com - go through DNC (Delaware North Corp) as i would have gotten breakfast included, whereas through otel.com it was not (a nuance i did not see until the night before my trip). This was mildly better than camping.

Room Tip: Stay at the Ahwahnee Lodge instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived late, and there was no issue with check in or getting to our room. Our room was amazing, it had a great little patio and the bathroom was very clean. The room did not have air, but they give you several fans to help battle the heat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Lodge is in a great location in the heart of the park. It has all the facilities that you would need and if it doesn't, you can always hop on the free bus to Yosemite Village.

The room was comfortable with all the facilities that you would expect. The only thing it didn't have was air conditioning, which did make it very hot at night. There was a ceiling fan that provided some relief, but it wasn't ideal. We had a first floor room, which had a balcony with a great view of the surrounding mountains as well as the occasional passing deer.

The lodge itself is not the best. The food hall reminded me of a school cafeteria and is quite unpleasant - I would recommend eating elsewhere. The pool was closed because it was after Labour Day, even though there still seemed to be plenty of people about, which seemed stupid.

It was expensive, but you can easily spend the same amount staying just outside the park and you would then waste time and petrol getting to the park. So, overall, it suited us very well and I think I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed one night in 4122 before transferring to Elderberry building. Some good features, but I don't believe 4122 has been properly thought through by a disabled person, especially on their own. Most users will have mobility issues, so why is bed so high? At 6'3" my feet were well off the ground. Fridge is at my eye level, but closet rail at low level. Washbasin deep and forward from edge, so need to stand to use it. Why no towel rail near washbasin? Has anyone tried to reach the bedside lamp switch from the bed? You need to be a gymnast!!
This is all intended to be helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carrollton, Ky
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We only stayed one night here but it was very clean & comfortable. Near shuttle bus stop, near cafeteria & within walking distance of other attractions. We've stayed at the beautiful Ahwanhee before but weren't sure about lodging with the terrible fire in Yosemite. As it was, the fire did not affect the valley but we had already made this reservation. It was just fine, thank you. Really liked the little patio area outside the back door. This is called getting back to nature. Saw hummingbirds & other jays while enjoying a glass of wine in the "almost" private area of our patio.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Small. Although not flash it is comfortable. We had family of 5 in one room using 2 beds plus sofa. Good water pressure in shower. Food court pretty mediocre. We went to Curry Village for pizza dinner which was okay. Free shuttle buses good. Squirrels cute and saw some deer not far from our door. Spectacular views out your door. Would come again. Can walk to some nearby trails as well or rent bikes. Great location in the heart of the Valley. Recommend the visitors centre as well for interesting info about the Valley and its inhabitants.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the reception. Might be a small walk but worth it and you can have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Lodge At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lodge At The Falls

Address: P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lodge At The Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday August 27, 2013 With the exception of White Wolf Lodge, all lodging and services are available in Yosemite National Park. Yosemite Valley and Wawona are largely unaffected by the Rim Fire and air quality is good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Yosemite Lodge At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lodge At The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.